Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Tryp San Jose Sabana

4 stars
3rd Ave, 38th and 40th Street, San Jose,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
28 reviews
beautiful costa rica

great hotel,great breakfast and excellent location. See full review

  • Op. boricua
  • Jan 7, 2015
Had a major issue, feel like Management could of "fixed" the issue

Was locked out of our room one night and no one could get the door to open. We were placed in... See full review

  • Savo
  • Aug 21, 2014
Minimalist comforts in a convenient San Jose location
Tryp San Jose Sabana features spacious and cozy accommodations suitable for business and leisure travelers visiting the vibrant Costa Rica capital. This San Jose hotel places holidaymakers close to must-visit local attractions like Museum of Costa Rican Art, Spirogyra Butterfly Garden, Sabana Park and Estadio Nacional. Vacationers work out at the fitness center with cardiovascular equipment weights and yoga ball. Visitors sample authentic local cuisines like Mediterranean tapas while having a sip of signature drinks at Gastro Bar. The hotel also offers an executive room and five flexible meeting spaces with up-to-date audio-visual equipment. Accessible facilities, parking, gift shop, airport shuttle (fees apply), laundry service as well as Wi-Fi access throughout the property are also available for added convenience.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Property-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Gastro Bar serving Mediterranean tapas at 
  • Six meeting rooms
Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms
Tryp San Jose Sabana offers 104 spacious rooms and suites equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Wi-Fi access, alarm clock, IPod docking station, digital safe, radio, coffee machine, hairdryer and en suite bathroom. Some units have a treadmill and beautiful views of the city or Central Valley.
Things to Do
  • Museum of Costa Rican Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Sabana Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Estadio Nacional (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Costa Rica National Stadium (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • La Salle Natural Science Museum (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Mercado Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Children's Museum (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • San Jose Parque Central (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Central Park (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • San Jose Cathedral (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Gold Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Tryp San Jose Sabana Rooms

Tryp Queen
Tryp Queen offers One Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Tryp King
Tryp King offers One King Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Tryp Double
Tryp Double offers Two Queen Bed along with air conditioning, bathroom amenities, disabled facilities, ensuite / private , bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, laundry service, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, room service, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. Other amenities include bath with shower, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen TV, digital safe, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, alarm clock with Ipod dock, hair dryer, free local and international calls, and high speed wireless internet. Some rooms include sofa bed and small seating area.
Premium King
One king size bed, one sofa bed, panoramic view of the city and the mountains of the Central Valley, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 50" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet.
Premium Double
Two Full size beds, one sofa bed, breakfast area with two seats, microwave oven, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, and cutlery, bath with shower, air conditioning, desk, cable television with 37" LCD screen, digital safe, iPod dock, coffee maker with complimentary Costa Rican coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, free of charge local and international calls and high speed wireless internet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tryp San Jose Sabana also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

9.9368 -84.0966
Area served
Paseo Colon.
Nearby airports
Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO).
Area description
Tryp Hotel San Jose Sabana has an estrategic location, only 20 minutes from the San Jose International Airport, 10 minutes from downtown and 10 minutes from the San Jose Tobias Bolaos domestic airport. With immediate access to major highways, shopping and business areas, and renowned site seeing destinations, San Jose - Paseo Colon is in a safe, well-appointed neighborhood just 3 blocks west from the National Stadium, La Sabana Park and the Costa Rican Art Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Museo de Arte Costarricense: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de los Ninos: 1.2 mi
  • Central Park (Parque Central): 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de la Cultura: 1.4 mi
  • National Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Precolumbian Gold Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Espana: 1.6 mi
  • El Pueblo: 1.6 mi
  • Jade Museum (Museo Nacional del Jade): 1.6 mi
  • Parque Zoologico Nacional Simon Bolivar: 1.6 mi
  • Spirogyra Butterfly Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art and Design: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum (Museo Nacional): 1.8 mi
  • Correos de Costa Rica: 2.5 mi
  • Pueblo Antiguo (Parque Nacional de Diversiones): 3 mi
  • Orosi River Valley ( El Valle del Rio Orosi ): 16.2 mi
  • Parque Nacional Braulio Carrillo: 18.4 mi
  • Chirripo National Park: 51.8 mi

Dining

Gastro Bar & Restaurant
The refine use of glass, wood and color gives the Gastro Bar at 38th Street the perfect ambiance for a chic lobby bar and restaurant. The menu features Costa Rican regional dishes with a touch of flavour, exotic ingredients plus a menu of spectacular signature drinks and "tapas", all creating the perfect balance of the clasic and exotic. Our eclectic list of select wines perfectly compliments an impressive variety of dishes from hot entrees to cold seafood, meats, desserts, local tropical fruits, all creating a culinary journey.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Tryp San Jose Sabana

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biju
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

good palce to stay, value for the money

Overall stay was ok; rooms are clean and average size with 2 queen beds; we had a great city view from the room. Breakfast was crowded 1 day, when there were lot of tourists were in the hotel (Friday). Although, the deal said free international calls, i was not able to make a single call to US or any other countries during my 6 nights stay there. They said it is some software issue, but was never corrected. I didn't have time to be on cal lwith them every day to track this, so found other ways to make calls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Op. boricua
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

beautiful costa rica

great hotel,great breakfast and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cynthia G.
Business
Honolulu
Dec 29, 2014

Everything disappointing but the staff

This hotel had no amenities. It is located under two miles from downtown, but the walk is littered with bad areas, and I wouldn't recommend it at night at all. When I checked in to this hotel I was initially placed very near the elevator. As a very light sleeper, I asked to be moved, and was moved to an even nosier location. Traffic sounds ensued all night and the second night an event downstairs blasted into my room. The room was not stocked with extra towels and didn't have bathmats or wash cloths. No refrigerators, vending, or ice machines. The one positive piece is that the staff was very friendly and helpful and most spoke excellent English. However, did not make up for the poor experience I had here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trish8
Business
Los Gatos
Dec 19, 2014

Good hotel....

In a good location. Large clean rooms and helpful English speaking staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savo
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Aug 21, 2014

Had a major issue, feel like Management could of "fixed" the issue

Was locked out of our room one night and no one could get the door to open. We were placed in another room for the night (without any of our bags, clothes toothbrushes etc) It wasn't until we reached out to the hotel that they decided to refund our money. I feel like that should have been a first resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne T.
Business
Lehigh, Florida
Aug 14, 2014

Walk to everything

I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff are the greatest, wonderful people, felt like home. One complaint, even on 8th floor traffic noise could be a bit much at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chario
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2014

Excellent experience

We stayed nine days in this hotel. It has an excellent location. We enjoyed free international calls. One of the most remarkable moments was when the chef gave us his personalize attention in a couple of occasions. It was a pleasure to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

free international calls

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Savo
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jul 13, 2014

Worst Hotel Ever

Nice clean room. After dinner we tried coming back to the room and it was locked. The entire hotel and security could not figure out how to open our room. They made us spend the night in an entirely different room without any of our items. We could not brush our teeth or even change our clothes as they were locked in another room. The manager would not even get us a tooth brush. The management was absolutely horrible. Worst experience I have ever had at a hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alohasandy
Business
Malibu, CA
Jun 7, 2014

Overnight stay

Tryp was a great hotel. Unfortunately we got there at 630 am, so are rooms were not ready. But the staff was very friendly and hospitable. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Soda tapia had great food and ambiance of a diner.

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biker10
Business
Albuquerque NM
Dec 31, 2013

Clean urban hotel

The location is good if you want a clean place near San Jose stadium, museums and bus ride or walking distance to the San Jose old mercado. There are a couple of American chain restaurants around the corner and a few bars. This has the feel of a modern professional hotel, clean, safe with a good San Jose location about 10 minutes taxi to the airport. The staff is professional, similar to a Hampton Inn in the states but only about 80 rooms and the bar and dining/restaurant are good if you need a break from the San Jose street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Many historical attractions and old San Jose mercado about 3 mile circumference.

Review of Tryp San Jose Sabana

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sdf26
Business
Gamboa, Panama
Nov 24, 2013

Don't stay during construction

The hotel was really nice, had great views, and the breakfast buffet was a huge plus but there was construction one floor below our room that started at 6:45 AM! Staying in a hotel in the city is nice to enjoy night life but if you're out until 2AM you don't want to be woken up by drills and hammers hours before a normal work day would start. We called reception twice to complain, then at 7:30AM went to the front desk in person. Management had no idea what was going on, the maid was the one that filled them in on the construction. It took 45 minutes after our first complaint before anything was done about the noise. Because we got a discount I would recommend the hotel, but I would not have paid full price to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top