Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Sunshine Suites Resort

3 stars
1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Grand Cayman, KY1-1201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
227 reviews
Great Vacation Stay!

This hotel is one block from the most beautiful beach in the world. Our room was clean, the staff... See full review

  • Vacationer555
  • Jul 21, 2014
Perfect Cayman Vacation

The hotel was nice. the rooms were basic but it had a complete kitchen.. a great place for families... See full review

  • travelin busy bee
  • Jul 19, 2014
Affordable all-suite boutique resort in Seven Mile Beach area
Opt for a boutique experience on a budget at the friendly, affordable Sunshine Suites Resort, located less than 200 yards from Seven Mile Beach. Brightly decorated in Caribbean hues, this Grand Cayman hotel offers a freshwater swimming pool and sundeck where guests find free beach chairs and towels. All rooms are suites tucked inside sunny yellow plantation-style buildings. Snorkel and dive near the resort then return to dine on casual island cuisine in the open-air Sunshine Bar and Grill. Continental "Grab & Go" breakfast, safe deposit box at front desk and Wi-Fi access are free.
Highlights

  • All-suites rooms come equipped with kitchens
  • Complimentary continental "Grab & Go" breakfast daily and free Wi-Fi Internet access resort-wide
  • Unlimited free use of the nearby World Gym fitness center (2 miles away)
  • Open-air restaurant for casual meals with more dining options within walking distance
  • In the heart of Seven Mile Beach, adjacent to the North Sound Golf Club

Location

In the calm, turquoise waters of the western Caribbean lies the tranquil dependent territory of the United Kingdom, the Cayman Islands. Grand Cayman is the largest of the three Cayman Islands that lie nearly 500 miles south of Miami. Sunshine Suites Resort sits less than 200 yards from the renowned Seven Mile Beach. This stretch of coral sand along the western shore hosts many upscale resorts with restaurants and beach bars spilling onto the beach. 

Rooms
Warm, Caribbean-style accommodations are priced to bring the whole family, making Sunshine Suites Resort one of the best lodging values in Grand Cayman. Studio suites, deluxe suites and one-bedroom suites each feature a full kitchen equipped with a cook-top stove, toaster, microwave, full-size refrigerator, cookware and dishes. After a day playing on the beach, sink into pillow-top mattresses with recently refreshed bedding packages. Send a virtual postcard back home with free wireless Internet access.
Features
Neighbor to the ultra luxurious Ritz Carlton Resort, Sunshine Suites Resort often sends guests next door for a game of tennis or an upscale meal at one of five restaurants, including one by Eric Ripert of Le Bernardin. On the other side of Sunshine Suites, North Sound Golf Club beckons with rolling greens as the only 18-hole championship course on the island. Walk to the supermarket, affordable restaurants or Captain Marvin's Watersports to catch a day trip to snorkel or scuba with the stingrays. On-site, find a coin-operated laundry, dry cleaning facilities, scuba equipment storage and wash tanks. Nearby World Gym offers free access to guests. 
Transportation

  • Owen Roberts International Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Local buses pick up nearby and travel to destinations including George Town and West Bay

Attractions

  • The North Sound Golf Club (across the street)
  • Kittiwake Shipwreck & Artificial Reef (0.6 mi/0.1 km)
  • Turtle Farm (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Dolphin Cove (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Boatswain's Beach (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • George Town, Cayman Islands (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Pedro St. James National Historic Site (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Queen Elizabeth II Botanic Park (20.5 mi/33 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access in guest rooms
  • Business center
  • Executive boardroom seats 12 people

Policies and fees

The age requirement for check in is 21 years and older.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sunshine Suites Resort Rooms

Studio Suite
This suite feature bright tropical decor and luxurious bedding - 1 queen bed with a full kitchen, including large refrigerator, microwave, stove top, all cooking utensils. Additional amenities include - air conditioning and ceiling fan, alarm clock with AM/FM radio, HD Flat Screen TV with 57 premium and HD channels and 5 digital music channels, telephones with private voicemail, iron and ironing board, hair dryer. Max 2 Guests.
Deluxe Suite
This suite features bright tropical decor and luxurious beddin. Two queen beds with a full kitchen, including large refrigerator, microwave, stove top, glassware & cooking utensils. Additional amenities include - air conditioning and ceiling fan, alarm clock with AM/FM radio, HD Flat Screen TV with 57 premium and HD channels and 5 digital music channels, telephones with private voicemail, iron and ironing board, hair dryer. Max of 4 guests.
One Bedroom Suite
This suite features bright tropical decor and luxurious bedding - one king and one sleep sofa with a full kitchen, including large refrigerator, microwave, stove top, all cooking utensils. Additional amenities include - air conditioning and ceiling fan, alarm clock with AM/FM radio, HD Flat Screen TV with 57 premium and HD channels and 5 digital music channels, telephones with private voicemail, iron and ironing board, hair dryer. Max 3 guests.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunshine Suites Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.3385 -81.3783
Area served
Grand Cayman - Seven Mile beach area.
Nearby airports
Owen Roberts International Airport (GCM)
Area description
The Cayman Islands consist of three islands, 480 miles south of Miami Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. The largest, Grand Cayman is only 22 miles long and 8 miles wide at its widest. George Town on Grand Cayman is the capital and is therefore the hub of government, banking and shopping. Total population (all islands) is 55000.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cayman Islands National Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Farmers market: 3.4 mi
  • Turtle Farm: 3.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Small boardroom that seats 10 comfortably around a set boardroom table. Set up is not able to be changed. Meeting room has its own bathroom facilities.

Dining

Sunshine Bar & Grill
The award winning poolside Sunshine Bar & Grill serves up casual Caribbean dishes for lunch and dinner and offers a wide variety at affordable prices. The complimentary continental Grab & Go breakfast is served from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for Sunshine Suites Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SergandBec Birthday Vaca
Chula Vista, California
May 27, 2012

Fantastic Birthday Vacation Get Away

The hotel experience was just perfect. The morning breakfast was just right. My room was small but it had everything I needed! The frig was great. I used it mainly to store my snacks and the kitchen had every convienience of home. There was a stove, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. My wife did not use the electronic items, but it was nice that they were there if we needed them. The eating area was just right for the amount of guests and the swimming pool was very clean. Too bad the weather was not so good. We had rain all week long. We would ask the locals about the weather and they stated it was unusual to have this type of weather for so long. So I am blaming that on Global Warming. Over all we did not let the rain stop us. We rented a car and went all over the Island. I recommend Rum Point alot, it is so beautiful! The beach there is the best, so clear,warm and calm! Oh and Stingray City is a must to see; we had so much fun there with the rays they are shockingly friendly. We took pictures with them and we just will never forget that experience. We are showing those pics to all our family and friends. George Town was also nice and and Saint Pedro Castle was great too. It was interesting to get to know the history of the Cayman Islands and it was great to know that they were discovered on my wifes birthday! She love it! It was great to know that on her birthday May 21 was a holiday in the Cayman Islands, so she will now always remember her birthday vacation. Over all the vacation was great! I recomend eating at the Light House Restaurant the food is pricey but very very good! I will return again with my whole family; had a great time. And next time I will come between Dec and April. The Locals say this time of year is where they have the best weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Light House Restaurant and Rum Point Restaurant

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tired of Snow
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great trip

The staff was great! The room was typical, nothing outstanding, but more than functional. The fully equiped kitchenette proved useful. The free breakfast turned out to be more than we had thought, way more than just a standard continental style. Across the street from the beach, not directly on it, but only 150 yards walk. The bus service was right there, and the entire island was fully accessible from this ideal location. This is not a 4 star hotel, but the people and the value more than made up for any items that may have been lacking. We went to the Caymans to be outside, not to live in a hotel room, so the Sunshine Suites was the ideal place. I will definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Most everything in Georgetown closes early. If you are there too late in the evening, you need to take a taxi back up the beach. One of the best meals we had was a place about a mile walk from the hotel, called Lone Star. Food is expensive, no matter where you go, but the meal at the Lone Star was very good, and less expensive than any of the restaurants downtown, or at the major hotels. BTW, the one evening meal we had at the restaurant at the Sunshine Suites hotel restaurant was also very good, and reasonable.

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigttrack
Oklahoma City
Dec 28, 2009

Another Great Experience

Another great time. Third stay at this hotel and always consistant. Good economy. Nice rooms. Immaculate grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff always. Excellent restaurant. Just a step, literally, from Seven Mile Beach. Highly recommend if you dont need to see the ocean out your window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Turtle Farm is a complete waste. Dinner cruise on the Red Sail catamaran is a must. Captain Marvins is the best value for most water sports.

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Oct 16, 2011

sun and sea

The location was great and the staff very accomodating . The breakfast buffet was good except menu items never changed. Fish Tacos and hamburger best in the Carribean. The complimentary mini ice cream cone was a treat.So good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Seafood at Aqua restaurant

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newaygo, MI
Sep 4, 2008

hurricane gustav

The Sunshine Suites was more then anyone could have offered during a scary trip to the Caymans. We got there just one day before the hurricane hit..The manager made many phone calls directly to our room to inform us that he would take care of us the best they could..He also comfort us about the hotel and its safeness...He asked for anyone that would like to go to the 3rd floor incase of any flooding...The hurricane was not critical on the island but I knew that I could rely on the staff to help us if we needed any assistants..It was a wonderful hotel..More like a resort because of the staff... Perfect location to the ocean yet not caught up with the hoopla of being able to relax in a very quiet surrounding of the hotel..I would go back and plan to tell friends..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus can take you to Georgetown for 2 dollars. But the best part you can walk to the beach, grocery store, resturants, liquour, and many other places.

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Mar 11, 2009

The name says it all - Sunshine

This was a very nice stay. Great hotel, thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
medicaldoc7
NY, NY
Jun 15, 2011

Wonderful stay at Sunshine Suites!

Everyone was so nice. The food is great, drinks are reasonable. Reception is very accommodating! Would definitely come back just to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Camana Bay. It's gorgeous!

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kitten
ft. worth, tx
Aug 4, 2012

we had a very nice stay

Food in the restaurant is outstanding. Front desk staff are courteous & professional, very helpful. The young lady who checked us in is a relatively new employee but an excellent representative of her employer. The bed could have been a little softer but that was really the only issue. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Sunshine Grill is very good and also enjoyed eating at Ali-Ka-Bob's & Papagallo Restaurant. No bad food anywhere on the island.

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big......D
St. Louis, Missouri
Jun 22, 2014

Best Cayman trip ever.

The staff and service 2nd to none, the grounds are beautiful and relaxing. This was are third year at Sunshine Suites Resort and it was a great trip overall. My wife hits the beach it's a very short walk while I go scuba diving. You can't beat the location the friendly staff and all it has to offer. The Resort has a very convenient location for all our needs we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Book your diving for pm dives especially if a lot of Cruise Ships are in port also Sundays are a better pick because almost everything is closed and if you can book in advance it will guarantee you the am/pm dive you are seeking.

Review of Sunshine Suites Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Queens, NY
Feb 13, 2011

Sunshine Suites Resort

The hotel was great, beach chairs and towels were available for us, the beach is about a 5mn walk and the location is great. Restaurants and shopping plazas were near by. Breakfast was great, a lot to choose from and very delicious. I love snorkeling and there is a snorkeling spot near by and free at governor's beach. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a club called element near by and an Italian restaurant called Eduardo's that I really liked

Back to menu Return to top