Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

4 stars
2289 Queens Highway, East End, Colliers, Grand Cayman, KY1-1106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
35 reviews
Serene Oceanfront with value

We had a blast in Morrits. It was our first time in Cayman Islands. We stayed in an ocean front one... See full review

  • Sporty Mom with teenagers
  • May 26, 2013
Cayman Dive getaway

Enjoyed our stay. Room was dated but served the purpose of our diving trip. See full review

  • Scuba Stephen
  • Jul 12, 2014
East End Tranquility and Comfort in spacious Grand Cayman condos

The Morritt's Tortuga Club and Resort, located on the quiet East End of Grand Cayman, leases studio, one-bedroom, townhouse, and penthouse condos with a private terrace or balcony. An enormous free-form swimming pool, adorned with its own palm-treed island, serves as the centerpiece of this beachfront resort, providing the backdrop for a relaxing lunch or some of the hottest nighttime Caribbean entertainment. Morritt's Tortuga welcomes guests who prefer the area's exceptional scuba diving, snorkeling, and windsurfing.

Highlights
  • Good watersports facility for scuba diving
  • Spacious condo suites
  • Kids Camp         
Rooms

Guests select from studio, one- and two-bedroom condos with distinct living, dining, and sleeping areas, and each with a patio or balcony. The spacious accommodations include a king or two double beds, a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, stove, silverware, and dishes, cable television, air conditioning, and ceiling fans. Condos are arranged in a series of three-story beachfront villas overlooking the ocean.

Features

Morritt's offers some of the island's best diving, within close proximity to Grand Cayman's renowned "West Wall." Tortuga Divers operates on-premise and focuses on diving and windsurfing excursions, including dive trips to Stingray City. Other watersports include kayaking, sailing, renting a waverunner, snorkeling trips, and sunset catamaran sails.

 

More leisurely pursuits include a game of shuffleboard, horseshoes, beach volleyball, or rum relays at the pool. Burn off extra calories with the popular water aerobics, tennis on the court, or a session in the gym. Kids from 4 to 12 can become a "pirate for a day" at the Kids Camp.

 

Dining choices at the property include Mimi's Dockside Bar and Grill and David's Restaurant, offering local seafood specialties. The Grand, Premier, and Dockside Bars offer tropical cocktails at the pool or beach.

Transportation
  • Owen Roberts International Airport (20.6 mi/33.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  •  George Town (19.4 mi/31.3 km)

Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort Rooms

2 bedroom poolside suite
This non-smoking luxurious poolside 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite comes with 1 queen bed in the master bedroom and 2 twin beds in the guest bedroom. Each suite has a living room, dining room, and a fully equipped kitchen including stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, blender, dishes and cookware.
2 bedroom ocean front suite
This non-smoking luxurious ocean front 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite comes with 1 king bed in the master bedroom and 2 twin beds in the guest bedroom. Each suite has a living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen including stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, blender, dishes and cookware.
1 bedroom poolside suite
This non-smoking poolside 1 bedroom, 1 bath suite features 1 queen size bed plus a queen size sofa sleeper with a living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen including stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, blender, dishes and cookware.
Studio poolside
This non-smoking studio poolside unit features 1 queen bed and a fully equipped kitchen.
1 bedroom ocean front suite
This non-smoking ocean front 1 bedroom, 1 bath suite features 1 queen size bed plus a queen size sofa sleeper with a fully equipped kitchen including stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, blender, dishes and cookware. A living room and dining area are also included.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.3524 -81.1088
Area served
Grand Cayman
Nearby airports
GCM
Area description
The East End is the most undeveloped part of Grand Cayman. For tourists wishing a more authentic feel, this is the place to be. A host of restaurants on the island serve traditional Caymanian fare.

Nearby points of interest

  • Farmers market: 17.8 mi
  • Cayman Islands National Museum: 18.5 mi
  • Turtle Farm: 20 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy d
Los Angeles,CA
Jul 13, 2014

LAME

We reserved a room and had to pay an extra $10 a night for room, AND even more ridiculous we had to pay for AIR CONDITIONING..... Never go to this resort again. Far from all attractions,40 minutes from airport, no elevators, n the beach facing this property hella dirty...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Stay on westside

Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba Stephen
Marion N.C.
Jul 12, 2014

Cayman Dive getaway

Enjoyed our stay. Room was dated but served the purpose of our diving trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
defennclan
Manassas Va
May 1, 2014

Cayman Spring Break

Had a great time at Morritts. Location is excellent - at East End away from all the crowds - you will need a rental car to get around to other sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit the Rum Point and take a trip to 7 Mile Beach.

Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jyuf111
Maryland
Dec 17, 2013

Stay away...

Just came back from a weeks stay at Morritts Tortuga club and resort. When we arrived last Saturday, the front desk staff could not have been any less helpful or friendly. Between them and our "host" we felt so unwelcome - a feeling that never went away. Our room, which when I called, I was told was on the ocean, was actually on the main street. It was a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom, however the master bathroom, was all moldy with broken tiles. We asked numerous times to change, and each day was told the same thing "come back tomorrow". The first day, I was told there was an over $100 charge daily for the change. Interval got involved and by Wed, we were told we could move...to a 1 bedroom (not exactly comparable to our 2 bedroom 3 bathroom)! The beach had debris on it everyday, a trashcan near the "quiet" pool was overturned our first day with trash all over..and still there on it's side, same trash on day 7 of our trip. We were only told of the $50 bus into Georgetown, however found out on our own that there is a $5 public bus (only difference in the two busses is that the public bus picks up locals on the way). Never told of anything to do outside the resort and we had to go Next door for my sister to find an excursion for snorkling (at a much lower price than Morritt's price). This place was so unwelcoming, and I would never go back nor recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to vivienne's - local Caribbean cuisine and delicious and very inexpensive.. Tukka's will pick you up at resort and bring you home, food was great but a bit pricey.

Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MN adventurer
Woodbury, MN
Dec 1, 2013

Average Morritt's stay

The experience as a whole was fun, beyond their control was two bad days of weather, but overall it was a solid average trip at the resort. Can't say anything bad about the resort, but can't say anything stellar as well. The beds were not comfy and the staffed seemed to lack any real personality when we even tried to engage them, but the location and the east side was definitely more appreciated from the hustle and bustle of the west side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian Kitchen, great restaurant within feet of the hotel, not open Monday's!

Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaptainPiedmont
Rock Hill SC
Jun 2, 2013

Perfect location and great room -

The room was quite large , spotlessly clean with new towels each day , cleaned AND tidied up including my stuff scattered all about . The location is quiet - it is a 30 to 45 minute drive to Georgetown . The beach is gorgeous . There is EXTENSIVE building going on but I never heard a sound . And it did not affect me in anyway . The Spa was 30 feet from my unit (3119) and a 1 hour massage was reasonable and exacytly what I pay in S.C. This was a GREAT deal - I will be back soon .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Shopping is in Georgetown by the post office where the locls shop ,NOT up by the harbor where the cruise ships disembark . There ARE DEALS in these small back of town shops and the Cayman people could not be more friendly and helpful - EXCEPT in their carswhere they honk nearly continuosly in town or even dring toward it from 5+- miles away . Parking lots are the worst - and there is no apparent reason . They honk at each other as much as at rental cars - ?!

Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sporty Mom with teenagers
New Jersey
May 26, 2013

Serene Oceanfront with value

We had a blast in Morrits. It was our first time in Cayman Islands. We stayed in an ocean front one bedroom suite. The beach and the dock was breath taking. The room came with a full size kitchen with pots and all utensils. We enjoyed the ocean, proximity to rum point and the local down to earth restaurants. There were three pools and we loved the infinity pool. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed the evening activiities at the hotel too. It was 40min drive from Georgetown and we were fine with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pubjumper
Louisville, Ky
Apr 5, 2013

Showing its age but still worth it

Many newer facilities nearby but where we stayed is showing its age but still nice. Great pools. wonderful location - except for how far away it is from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Buy groceries - lots of terrific restaurants but very expensive.

Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
To relax
Saratoga, CA
Feb 19, 2013

To relax

Entire visit was average. Nothing remarkable to report.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Morritts Tortuga Club and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quiet sun loving couple
Cedar Rapids, IA
Feb 5, 2013

Love the Morritts

Have stayed here before and will again. Love the more quiet atmosphere, yet plenty to do if you want to. Nice to have a car while here so you can explore this end of the island. If you want R & R, this is the place! David's is an excellent place to eat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Worth a drive to Vivine's for lunch and Karls' Corner toward the Rum Point end just to the left at the stop sign.

Back to menu Return to top