Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

4 stars
1005 Guy Street, Montreal, QC H3H 2K4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
150 reviews
A great stay, in a great city

The hotel was quite nice, we decided to upgrade to a suite upon arrival, which had been newly... See full review

  • Jlsthegr8
  • Jul 28, 2014
It was exactly what I paid for!

Cheap tickets recommended this hotel in a package with my flight. Because I did not have a big... See full review

  • Nice Traveler
  • Jun 5, 2014
Free in-room computers and Wi-Fi access in downtown Montreal
Fans of the Montreal Canadiens can walk to a hockey game (or world-class concert) at Bell Centre from Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown. Afterward, stroll down Crescent Street, a scene of popular nightclubs, bars and restaurants plus art galleries and upscale boutiques. Near two metro stations for further exploration, the hotel boasts a restaurant, fitness center and an urban spa that specializes in therapeutic massage. Before bed, hop online from the in-room computer equipped with free Wi-Fi, available in every guest room.
Highlights

  • Free authentic Italian espresso at the front desk
  • Guest rooms equipped with a computer and free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Fitness center, massage therapy spa and seasonal outdoor pool
  • 100% smoke-free hotel
  • Located in the downtown business district, close to Bell Centre and Saint Catherine and Crescent Streets

Rooms
In keeping with the theme, guests can rev up the coffee-maker in each of the non-smoking rooms and suites at Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown. Basic but with a dash of modern style, rooms offer comfort on a budget with free daily newspapers and a PC equipped with free wireless Internet access. Attractive laminated flooring, sleek bathroom sinks and room service menu add cosmopolitan flavor. Pet-friendly rooms are available (fees apply).
Features
Simple, sleek and still cost-effective, Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown pleases guests with convenient amenities and a downtown locale near museums and landmarks. Even guests on a short stay appreciate the sauna, Jacuzzi , seasonal swimming pool and smoke-free envrionment. Peruse the spa menu at Club Physique Massage Therapy Center and choose a Swedish, shiatsu, pre-natal, reflexology, hot stone or sports rub-down. Park underground and request a car-wash (fees apply), or take advantage of the on-site car rental desk.
Transportation

  • Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Convenient to Guy-Concordia and Lucien L'allier metro stops

Attractions

  • Bell Centre (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Canadian Centre for Architecture (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Cathedrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Notre-Dame Basillica (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Old Montreal (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Montreal Museum of Archaeology and History (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mount Royal (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Montreal Botanical Garden (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Quebec, Canada (157 mi/252 km)

Business

  • 11 conference rooms for up to 250 people
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room computer
  • Business center with free copy, fax and scanning services

Policies and fees

  • Parking rate is CAN$22 + taxes

  • Extra bed cost is CAN$15 .

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown Rooms

Standard with King Size bed
Standard Room offers King Size bed. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), and free wireless access (WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.
Standard with 2 Queen size beds
Standard Room offers 2 Queen size beds. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), and free wireless access( WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.
Junior Suite with King Size bed & Jetted tub
Junior Suite offers King Size bed and Jetted tub. Room includes a living room area and bathroom with a Jacuzzi. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), & free wireless access (WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4932 -73.5736
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
YUL- Pierre Trudeau International - approximately 8.7 miles.
Area description
Located in Montreal's downtown business district, close to St- Catherine and Cresent streets. Walking distance to the Bell Centre.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.9 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.2 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.9 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.2 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.2 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.4 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.8 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.9 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.1 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.7 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.8 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 5 mi

Dining

La Perle Bleu
La Perle Bleu (On site).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 150
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron the sportsman
whitby ontario
Aug 16, 2014

great location downtown

It was a positive experience and near all down town places of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
This guy g
Vermont
Jul 19, 2014

great value

First time staying here. Spacious room and bath. Quiet and in central location for easy walk to St Catherine's and Crescent St. Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie5
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Jun 16, 2014

Would Recommend

Great Location, close to downtown, clean, friendly staff, bed were so comfortable, large rooms. Would stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
charles the great
spartanburg, sc
Mar 31, 2014

served my purposes very well but nothing over the top, good value

experience good, staff best part, facilities average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
julia fuego
st etienne de bolton , quebec
Mar 28, 2014

5 star for the price

Very calm ....no noise at night ....sleep great ...great mattress

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average Baltimorian
Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 18, 2014

Great location, not cozy enough

Staff are really pleasant, Hotel needs a facelift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dratman
elizabeth city
Oct 23, 2013

a good getaway

the stay at this hotel was very good. will go stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

look for a good stay

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dglo
Hamburg NY
Jul 23, 2013

My recent stay at Hotel Expresso

This hotel has all the ambience of a boiler room. Gray and dingy. The halls dark and the room although fairly large, lacked any sense of comfort. Very basic .Perhaps carpeting would have enhanced the overall feel of the room. It did have a functional computer with internet access as advertised. The location was ok, close to a metro stop and a short walk to the bars and restaurants on Crescent St. The immediate surrounding area run down and sort of depressing. Friendly front desk staff. Overall I would rate this hotel (2) Stars at best. There are better options when staying in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayteeD
Edmonton
Nov 20, 2012

Modern Magic

I didn't expect much from the cheap hotel I got through this site but I have to admit that I am never disappointed with any purchases from this site and this certainly was no exception! The room was big, beautiful and modern with a very cozy bed, beautiful furniture and hardwood floors. The bathroom was a bit smaller than I prefer but nice and bright and had one of those nice heavy shower curtains that doesn't get all up in your business while you shower. I would not only return but probably look at a jacuzzi suite next time for a romantic getaway with my hubby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

FANTASTIC! The tortellini rosé was absolutely perfect!

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EliVee
Los Angeles, California
Nov 15, 2012

Practical and Good Location

My reservation had been received but not entered into their system but luckily this was not a problem and the very nice guy at the front desk put me in a room on the top floor that he said had just been remodeled. He offered me an espresso from the fancy machine they have at the desk, available at any time. The express bus from the airport stops right down the block from the hotel and it is easy to walk to many parts of the city from it. My only complaint is that I went to the hotel's restaurant, tired and hungry from my long flight, just to grab a light dinner before going to bed. There were only a few other people in the restaurant and it was very quiet. I was seated quickly but then sat for at least 20 minutes until suddenly the waitress comes running back over saying "I'm sorry I forgot all about you!" Thanks, glad I'm so memorable. I ordered the French onion soup and waited at least another half hour. Finally, starving and with nothing to show for nearly an hour in the restaurant, I walked out. Luckily the hotel also has a convenience store where I bought tuna and crackers! Also I was only there for a few days and I keep things clean so did not want anyone entering my room; but on the last day, they actually removed the Do Not Disturb sign and did some cleaning in the room, leaving a spray bottle on the sink. That annoyed me. For the value and location, I recommend this as a practical and comfortable place to stay. Nothing amazing, but it's just for sleeping after all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top