Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1005 Guy Street, Montreal, QC H3H 2K4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler from Space City
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 21, 2013

Not Reflective of Typical 4 Star Hotel

This Hotel in my humble opinion should not be greater than a 3 Star Hotel. I have stayed at Courtyard Marriot and Hyatt Place Suites, which are in much better condition than this Hotel. The hallway leading up to the rooms stink. The carpet definitely needs to be changed. The rooms also have a stale odor. The quality of the room furnishings do not reflect a typical 4 star hotel. The walls of the hotel are pretty thin. I practically heard every people's conversations while walking in the hallway. A rail line also passes close to this hotel and can be pretty loud. Better sticking with a brand name hotel that is 3 star rated rather than taking a chance with this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar-B Barn Restaurant is a short walk from this Hotel. Great Food at an extremely reasonable price. It's worth checking out if you have an appetite for great tasting food served in great portions.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alice62
Business
London
Jun 14, 2013

Not Bad

The rooms were clean, comfortable, however looked very different from the website. In the standard rooms there are no PC's. The walls are very thin so we had a lot of people in the corridors shouting and making a lot of noise which when we complained, not much was done about this as it happened 3 nights in a row. It is in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex Bendecido
Business
Puerto Rico
May 27, 2013

Great place for business stay

Close to public transportation and attractions. Could have better amenities and the location recquires you take the train to the convention center; but other than that, no complaints from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orbiter
Business
Arlington, VA, USA
May 26, 2013

good but needs better info for its guests

The Hotel Espresso is redecorating and trying hard to improve its image and overall appearance. I found the staff helpful and responsive and it offers comfortable rooms and service. It is more for family vacationers than business travelers. Its amenities includes a pool and gym, good service such as reliable wake up calls, instructions, maps, etc. It is reasonably close to both the Green and Orange lines or buses that can get you anywhere including the airport on one simple fare card. The one complaint is that there is not enough information on simple things like a guide to the TV channels on the cable system and especially instructions about how to turn on the television set and PC computer and WIFI access code. Just these two things could help the visitor a good deal. Overall I gave it a 4 out 5 rating. But it is really about a 3.5 except the great rate made it a good value buy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask at the front desk for the WiFi access code and information about how to turn on TV and computer to check e-mail.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Grande
Business
Toronto
May 7, 2013

one of my once a year weekend trip

great location . loved the free espresso at the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frozen Gator
Business
Fargo, ND
May 6, 2013

Great location

You get what you pay for. The hotel is cheap, the rooms are below average, and there were no computers in the two rooms my friends and I had on the third floor - however my friends on the fifth floor said they had computers that wouldn't even turn on. Overall it is worth staying here simply because the location is perfect. Just don't book this place if you are the type of traveler that likes to hang out at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Crescent, St Catherine, etc. are all right near this hotel.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new york female visitor
Business
ny, ny
May 6, 2013

good location, comfy rooms

good location, good air quality and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alumina
Business
hamilton
Apr 29, 2013

Not impressive

Was expecting friendlier staff and amenities. The wifi didn't work either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St.Catharines street is the place to be

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MelRob
Business
winnipeg, MB
Apr 29, 2013

Not bad. Had its issues but would stay again.

We arrived late at night, and there were no issues getting a room, or a room key. The room was clean, the beds were SUPER comfortable, the only thing is the floor we were staying on was being renovated. We also had a room directly in front of the elevators, we realized that was awful since everyone chats while waiting for the elevator, no matter what time it is. Since the walls are paper thin we got woken up every few hours, then with our neighbors coming in drunk around 5 am and talking loudly (not even screaming) we were awake until they went to bed. Our AC unit stopped working so we just baked during the night, couldn't stop sweating. they said they would fix it, but never did. a worker came and put towels under it since it was leaking, after that we had no towels. I guess the maid thought we would be using the ones on the floor... All in all, the beds were comfortable at night, staff was friendly and it was in a good location. I would go back again, but would keep my fingers crossed for a working AC, not being infront of an elevator, and not being on a renoed floor. Anyone staying there should recommend these things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kansas Sunflower
Business
Kansas
Mar 18, 2013

weekend trip

Took my boyfriend here to see the UFC 158 fights. 1st time to Montreal and I was a little nervous about choosing a hotel. LOVED this hotel...very nice, affordable and walking distance to every thing. Very comfortable foam mattress (slept so well I forgot where I was). Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Only complaints (though they were EXTREMELY minimal) were that 1.) on the 7th floor the internet was impossible to use but we just went to the lobby to use the internet and 2.) the walls all around us were very sound proof except for the door leading to the hallway . There were lots of people in town for the fights and we heard a few big groups come through the halls, however as soon as they were in their rooms we could no longer hear them...could just hear noise in the hallways. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cresent street (dining/night life) is maybe 5 minutes walking distance and St Catherine Street (shopping) is about the same. Very easy to walk to.

Back to menu Return to top