Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1005 Guy Street, Montreal, QC H3H 2K4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Grande
Business
Toronto
May 7, 2013

one of my once a year weekend trip

great location . loved the free espresso at the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frozen Gator
Business
Fargo, ND
May 6, 2013

Great location

You get what you pay for. The hotel is cheap, the rooms are below average, and there were no computers in the two rooms my friends and I had on the third floor - however my friends on the fifth floor said they had computers that wouldn't even turn on. Overall it is worth staying here simply because the location is perfect. Just don't book this place if you are the type of traveler that likes to hang out at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Crescent, St Catherine, etc. are all right near this hotel.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new york female visitor
Business
ny, ny
May 6, 2013

good location, comfy rooms

good location, good air quality and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alumina
Business
hamilton
Apr 29, 2013

Not impressive

Was expecting friendlier staff and amenities. The wifi didn't work either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St.Catharines street is the place to be

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MelRob
Business
winnipeg, MB
Apr 29, 2013

Not bad. Had its issues but would stay again.

We arrived late at night, and there were no issues getting a room, or a room key. The room was clean, the beds were SUPER comfortable, the only thing is the floor we were staying on was being renovated. We also had a room directly in front of the elevators, we realized that was awful since everyone chats while waiting for the elevator, no matter what time it is. Since the walls are paper thin we got woken up every few hours, then with our neighbors coming in drunk around 5 am and talking loudly (not even screaming) we were awake until they went to bed. Our AC unit stopped working so we just baked during the night, couldn't stop sweating. they said they would fix it, but never did. a worker came and put towels under it since it was leaking, after that we had no towels. I guess the maid thought we would be using the ones on the floor... All in all, the beds were comfortable at night, staff was friendly and it was in a good location. I would go back again, but would keep my fingers crossed for a working AC, not being infront of an elevator, and not being on a renoed floor. Anyone staying there should recommend these things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kansas Sunflower
Business
Kansas
Mar 18, 2013

weekend trip

Took my boyfriend here to see the UFC 158 fights. 1st time to Montreal and I was a little nervous about choosing a hotel. LOVED this hotel...very nice, affordable and walking distance to every thing. Very comfortable foam mattress (slept so well I forgot where I was). Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Only complaints (though they were EXTREMELY minimal) were that 1.) on the 7th floor the internet was impossible to use but we just went to the lobby to use the internet and 2.) the walls all around us were very sound proof except for the door leading to the hallway . There were lots of people in town for the fights and we heard a few big groups come through the halls, however as soon as they were in their rooms we could no longer hear them...could just hear noise in the hallways. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cresent street (dining/night life) is maybe 5 minutes walking distance and St Catherine Street (shopping) is about the same. Very easy to walk to.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amaccc
Business
Ontario
Feb 24, 2013

Awesome

This hotel was great, perfect location, great staff and nice rooms! I was very impressed and I would go back there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Stretch
Business
Milton , VT
Feb 12, 2013

went for a concert

We enjoyed the room. Hardwood floors and modern furnishing made it feel very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. Andre
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 23, 2013

Good Hotel, Great Location

Good hotel with clean rooms, friendly staff, and great location just blocks away from Saint Catherine & downtown Montreal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoswellAlienDog
Business
Bedford, NH
Jan 15, 2013

Nice!

Great hotel, friendly staff, unbelievably great location; would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top