Rate based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1005 Guy Street, Montreal, QC H3H 2K4

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
163 reviews
Great choice for English speaking travelers

While most of Montreal seems to be bilingual, nearly every hotel worker at Hôtel Espresso spoke... See full review

  • ZB.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Nice Location

Close to metro, but they do charge $1 to make local calls from the room. See full review

  • Matthew M.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Free in-room computers and Wi-Fi access in downtown Montreal
Fans of the Montreal Canadiens can walk to a hockey game (or world-class concert) at Bell Centre from Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown. Afterward, stroll down Crescent Street, a scene of popular nightclubs, bars and restaurants plus art galleries and upscale boutiques. Near two metro stations for further exploration, the hotel boasts a restaurant, fitness center and an urban spa that specializes in therapeutic massage. Before bed, hop online from the in-room computer equipped with free Wi-Fi, available in every guest room.
Highlights

  • Free authentic Italian espresso at the front desk
  • Guest rooms equipped with a computer and free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Fitness center, massage therapy spa and seasonal outdoor pool
  • 100% smoke-free hotel
  • Located in the downtown business district, close to Bell Centre and Saint Catherine and Crescent Streets

Rooms
In keeping with the theme, guests can rev up the coffee-maker in each of the non-smoking rooms and suites at Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown. Basic but with a dash of modern style, rooms offer comfort on a budget with free daily newspapers and a PC equipped with free wireless Internet access. Attractive laminated flooring, sleek bathroom sinks and room service menu add cosmopolitan flavor. Pet-friendly rooms are available (fees apply).
Features
Simple, sleek and still cost-effective, Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown pleases guests with convenient amenities and a downtown locale near museums and landmarks. Even guests on a short stay appreciate the sauna, Jacuzzi , seasonal swimming pool and smoke-free envrionment. Peruse the spa menu at Club Physique Massage Therapy Center and choose a Swedish, shiatsu, pre-natal, reflexology, hot stone or sports rub-down. Park underground and request a car-wash (fees apply), or take advantage of the on-site car rental desk.
Transportation

  • Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Convenient to Guy-Concordia and Lucien L'allier metro stops

Attractions

  • Bell Centre (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Canadian Centre for Architecture (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Cathedrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Notre-Dame Basillica (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Old Montreal (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Montreal Museum of Archaeology and History (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mount Royal (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Montreal Botanical Garden (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Quebec, Canada (157 mi/252 km)

Business

  • 11 conference rooms for up to 250 people
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room computer
  • Business center with free copy, fax and scanning services

Policies and fees

  • Parking rate is CAN$22 + taxes

  • Extra bed cost is CAN$15 .

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown Rooms

Standard with King Size bed
Standard Room offers King Size bed. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), and free wireless access (WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.
Standard with 2 Queen size beds
Standard Room offers 2 Queen size beds. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), and free wireless access( WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.
Junior Suite with King Size bed & Jetted tub
Junior Suite offers King Size bed and Jetted tub. Room includes a living room area and bathroom with a Jacuzzi. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), & free wireless access (WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4932 -73.5736
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
YUL- Pierre Trudeau International - approximately 8.7 miles.
Area description
Located in Montreal's downtown business district, close to St- Catherine and Cresent streets. Walking distance to the Bell Centre.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.9 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.2 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.9 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.2 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.2 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.4 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.8 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.9 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.1 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.7 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.8 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 5 mi

Dining

La Perle Bleu
La Perle Bleu (On site).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alumina
Business
hamilton
Apr 29, 2013

Not impressive

Was expecting friendlier staff and amenities. The wifi didn't work either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St.Catharines street is the place to be

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MelRob
Business
winnipeg, MB
Apr 29, 2013

Not bad. Had its issues but would stay again.

We arrived late at night, and there were no issues getting a room, or a room key. The room was clean, the beds were SUPER comfortable, the only thing is the floor we were staying on was being renovated. We also had a room directly in front of the elevators, we realized that was awful since everyone chats while waiting for the elevator, no matter what time it is. Since the walls are paper thin we got woken up every few hours, then with our neighbors coming in drunk around 5 am and talking loudly (not even screaming) we were awake until they went to bed. Our AC unit stopped working so we just baked during the night, couldn't stop sweating. they said they would fix it, but never did. a worker came and put towels under it since it was leaking, after that we had no towels. I guess the maid thought we would be using the ones on the floor... All in all, the beds were comfortable at night, staff was friendly and it was in a good location. I would go back again, but would keep my fingers crossed for a working AC, not being infront of an elevator, and not being on a renoed floor. Anyone staying there should recommend these things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kansas Sunflower
Business
Kansas
Mar 18, 2013

weekend trip

Took my boyfriend here to see the UFC 158 fights. 1st time to Montreal and I was a little nervous about choosing a hotel. LOVED this hotel...very nice, affordable and walking distance to every thing. Very comfortable foam mattress (slept so well I forgot where I was). Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Only complaints (though they were EXTREMELY minimal) were that 1.) on the 7th floor the internet was impossible to use but we just went to the lobby to use the internet and 2.) the walls all around us were very sound proof except for the door leading to the hallway . There were lots of people in town for the fights and we heard a few big groups come through the halls, however as soon as they were in their rooms we could no longer hear them...could just hear noise in the hallways. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cresent street (dining/night life) is maybe 5 minutes walking distance and St Catherine Street (shopping) is about the same. Very easy to walk to.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amaccc
Business
Ontario
Feb 24, 2013

Awesome

This hotel was great, perfect location, great staff and nice rooms! I was very impressed and I would go back there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Stretch
Business
Milton , VT
Feb 12, 2013

went for a concert

We enjoyed the room. Hardwood floors and modern furnishing made it feel very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. Andre
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 23, 2013

Good Hotel, Great Location

Good hotel with clean rooms, friendly staff, and great location just blocks away from Saint Catherine & downtown Montreal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoswellAlienDog
Business
Bedford, NH
Jan 15, 2013

Nice!

Great hotel, friendly staff, unbelievably great location; would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carolina bonilla
Business
Toronto,on
Jan 6, 2013

Not so great!

We stayed 2 data at hotel espresso and i was dissapointed on the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms. Everything look old and staff are not that friendly . Room was not clean properly, found someone garbage under the bed! For the money wasn't bad, location was great, very close to metro and busses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonnie-Jean
Business
EU
Jan 3, 2013

large clean room

We go to French Canada every year, this is one of the bigger rooms we have had. The house keeper was very pleasant. The beds were comfortable. It was clean. The person who wrote that the heater made noise was correct as it is tied in with the fan. The toilet was not smooth running, but not annoying enough to ask for a room change. This hotel was actually in walking distance from the Museum of Fine Arts, also Notre Dame which was very impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable, distance in miles was accurate

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YireneY
Business
Central CT
Dec 31, 2012

Xmas Vacation Family Getaway

Our party were parents & two 20 yr old-ish daughters. The rooms were big enough to fit 4 adults comfortably but prices were affordable enough to get separate rooms. Our 7th floor rooms were very clean & beds were comfortable. Rooms were not sound proof but other guests were considerate of each other. Floors were clean & not carpeted therefore not stained as in previous review. I would recommend using towel as floor mat for wet shoes. Water pressure & hot water was fine, no complaints. In my opinion you get more than you pay for. It is reasonable but not plush. Prior reviews were disheartening & gave us fearful expectations. We were pleasantly surprised. We will patronize again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was unbeatable for the price. Two metro's & less than 2 blocks from St Catherine's shopping & underground mall access which was a must with the surprise blizzard that came. Crescent St. for night life, Bell Center for Cirque du Soliel performance & numerous restaurants. One surprisingly good restaurant was Barb B Barn on Guy had delicious ribs & chicken.. Enjoyed Pointe de Calliere (archaeological museum) in Old Port & Old Port area. Fairmount Bagels & Caffe Grazie Mille (corner Rue Fairmount & Rue Clark). Buses & metro are very easy to navigate. Knowing French would be helpful but many speak English. Bus tour a must & look out spots are extraordinary at night.

Back to menu Return to top