Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

4 stars
1005 Guy Street, Montreal, QC H3H 2K4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
183 reviews
It was exactly what I paid for!

Cheap tickets recommended this hotel in a package with my flight. Because I did not have a big... See full review

  • Nice Traveler
  • Jun 5, 2014
5 star for the price

Very calm ....no noise at night ....sleep great ...great mattress See full review

  • julia fuego
  • Mar 28, 2014
Free in-room computers and Wi-Fi access in downtown Montreal
Fans of the Montreal Canadiens can walk to a hockey game (or world-class concert) at Bell Centre from Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown. Afterward, stroll down Crescent Street, a scene of popular nightclubs, bars and restaurants plus art galleries and upscale boutiques. Near two metro stations for further exploration, the hotel boasts a restaurant, fitness center and an urban spa that specializes in therapeutic massage. Before bed, hop online from the in-room computer equipped with free Wi-Fi, available in every guest room.
Highlights

  • Free authentic Italian espresso at the front desk
  • Guest rooms equipped with a computer and free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Fitness center, massage therapy spa and seasonal outdoor pool
  • 100% smoke-free hotel
  • Located in the downtown business district, close to Bell Centre and Saint Catherine and Crescent Streets

Rooms
In keeping with the theme, guests can rev up the coffee-maker in each of the non-smoking rooms and suites at Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown. Basic but with a dash of modern style, rooms offer comfort on a budget with free daily newspapers and a PC equipped with free wireless Internet access. Attractive laminated flooring, sleek bathroom sinks and room service menu add cosmopolitan flavor. Pet-friendly rooms are available (fees apply).
Features
Simple, sleek and still cost-effective, Hotel Espresso -- Montreal Downtown pleases guests with convenient amenities and a downtown locale near museums and landmarks. Even guests on a short stay appreciate the sauna, Jacuzzi , seasonal swimming pool and smoke-free envrionment. Peruse the spa menu at Club Physique Massage Therapy Center and choose a Swedish, shiatsu, pre-natal, reflexology, hot stone or sports rub-down. Park underground and request a car-wash (fees apply), or take advantage of the on-site car rental desk.
Transportation

  • Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11.5 mi/18.5 km)
  • Convenient to Guy-Concordia and Lucien L'allier metro stops

Attractions

  • Bell Centre (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Canadian Centre for Architecture (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Cathedrale Marie-Reine-du-Monde (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Notre-Dame Basillica (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Old Montreal (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Montreal Museum of Archaeology and History (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Mount Royal (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Montreal Botanical Garden (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Quebec, Canada (157 mi/252 km)

Business

  • 11 conference rooms for up to 250 people
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room computer
  • Business center with free copy, fax and scanning services

Policies and fees

  • Parking rate is CAN$22 + taxes

  • Extra bed cost is CAN$15 .

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown Rooms

Standard with King Size bed
Standard Room offers King Size bed. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), and free wireless access (WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.
Standard with 2 Queen size beds
Standard Room offers 2 Queen size beds. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), and free wireless access( WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.
Junior Suite with King Size bed & Jetted tub
Junior Suite offers King Size bed and Jetted tub. Room includes a living room area and bathroom with a Jacuzzi. Room equipped with a coffee maker, hairdryer, Iron and board, an individual heat and or A/C Unit, A computer (with free access), & free wireless access (WIFI). Other amenities in the room are Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Telephone and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4932 -73.5736
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
YUL- Pierre Trudeau International - approximately 8.7 miles.
Area description
Located in Montreal's downtown business district, close to St- Catherine and Cresent streets. Walking distance to the Bell Centre.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.9 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.2 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.5 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.9 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1 mi
  • Place des Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 1.2 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 1.2 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1.4 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.4 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.5 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.8 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.9 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.1 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.5 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.7 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.5 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.8 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 5 mi

Dining

La Perle Bleu
La Perle Bleu (On site).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaraO
Toronto
Aug 20, 2012

Awesome staff!!

Our first night there, the our air conditioner had an issue but the staff fixed it quickly and we didn't have another issue at all. They were wonderful and patient with us as well as some other very rude customers. As far as I'm concerned, I would stay there again and again. Also, my friends who were staying in a different hotel attested that ours was much more comfortable, spacious and upgraded than theirs, and ours was a third of the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
haggisthecat
Columbia County, NY
Aug 18, 2012

Luxury for Less

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel, it's location, and it's affordability. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmyqqqq
halifax
Aug 17, 2012

excellent location and great price!

free internet, east access to park, excellent location and best deal you can find in downtown! Will defenitely come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A hotel worth remembering
Ontario
Aug 12, 2012

Great value for your money

My family and I spent 2 nights at the hotel and the I was satisfied with the level of service that we got. My kids really enjoyed the outdoor pool. The hotel is centrally located we could walk to just about anywhere we wanted to go. The room was clean and the beds were very comfy. There was only one draw back, the internet access was unreliable, and the desktop computer that the hotel provided sounded like a jet plane (very noisy). We brought our laptop but had no internet access. Overall it was a great 2 nights. I would definitely go back again.Please please provide fast internet service and updated desktops computers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Star Wars exhibition at the Montreal Science Centre

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sawajee
Connecticut
Aug 11, 2012

Clean & Great Location

The hotel looks shabby outside but it was very clean and quiet! Nice location near the subway and in downtown. Parking was $20 per day but it was worth since the parking lot is inside and safe to leave cars. Great value in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TDoggie
Toronto, ON
Aug 7, 2012

Economy Hotel

Simple clean room in convenient area. Hotel did have an odd smell and did not seem to enforce non-smoking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KiwiKid24
Providence, RI
Aug 7, 2012

Good stay for a good price

This hotel definitely was a good deal. Clean and comfortable in a decent area, right near a Metro stop. For someone looking for an affordable hotel that they aren't going to spend a ton of time in, this is a great spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kkk1234
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 1, 2012

Nice stay..

It's a nice place to stay for short trip, especially for business trip. It feels like home. It's not too fancy. it's clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanJob
Moncton, New-Brunswick
Jul 30, 2012

Perfect for concert goers!

We rented this hotel to attend the Coldplay concert at the Bell Center. The location is fantastic! We avoided the dreaded concert parking and traffic. The room was clean and it was pretty spacious. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool or anything like that. However, it was so beautiful out that we didn't really want to spend time inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sainte-Catherine shopping, doesn't get any better!

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RockyJoe
New Jersey
Jul 27, 2012

Nice but housekeeping is sloppy

Very good price and good location (downtown near Crescent St. and near a Bixi station) and staff was pleasant. The only thing that ruined it was that the housekeeping staff looked like they tried but must have had dirty rags. Evey time we returned to the room after it had been cleaned there was hair all over the bathroom (vanity, sink, toilet and bathtub). Luckily we carry paper towels and disinfentants with us so we cleaned the bathroom again each day. The TV remote didn't work so apparently they don't test it each day when they clean the room. Also the PC in the room seemed to turn on by itself every day (or maybe housekeeping did it when we were out). I had to turn it off. Finally, although the wireless Internet signal was good I couldn't make any wi-fi calls through it (which I normally can do in hotels) so their routers may have been configured to prevent this type of traffic. All in all not bad but I wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When in Montreal, if you are physically able to, use the Bixi bike sharing system. There are stations all over town and it's much cheaper than taxi or Metro rides. It's also fun and helps you keep in shape during your vacation.

Back to menu Return to top