Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

4 stars
View map of 1005 Guy Street, Montreal, QC H3H 2K4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amaccc
Business
Ontario
Feb 24, 2013

Awesome

This hotel was great, perfect location, great staff and nice rooms! I was very impressed and I would go back there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Stretch
Business
Milton , VT
Feb 12, 2013

went for a concert

We enjoyed the room. Hardwood floors and modern furnishing made it feel very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. Andre
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 23, 2013

Good Hotel, Great Location

Good hotel with clean rooms, friendly staff, and great location just blocks away from Saint Catherine & downtown Montreal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoswellAlienDog
Business
Bedford, NH
Jan 15, 2013

Nice!

Great hotel, friendly staff, unbelievably great location; would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carolina bonilla
Business
Toronto,on
Jan 6, 2013

Not so great!

We stayed 2 data at hotel espresso and i was dissapointed on the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms. Everything look old and staff are not that friendly . Room was not clean properly, found someone garbage under the bed! For the money wasn't bad, location was great, very close to metro and busses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bonnie-Jean
Business
EU
Jan 3, 2013

large clean room

We go to French Canada every year, this is one of the bigger rooms we have had. The house keeper was very pleasant. The beds were comfortable. It was clean. The person who wrote that the heater made noise was correct as it is tied in with the fan. The toilet was not smooth running, but not annoying enough to ask for a room change. This hotel was actually in walking distance from the Museum of Fine Arts, also Notre Dame which was very impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable, distance in miles was accurate

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YireneY
Business
Central CT
Dec 31, 2012

Xmas Vacation Family Getaway

Our party were parents & two 20 yr old-ish daughters. The rooms were big enough to fit 4 adults comfortably but prices were affordable enough to get separate rooms. Our 7th floor rooms were very clean & beds were comfortable. Rooms were not sound proof but other guests were considerate of each other. Floors were clean & not carpeted therefore not stained as in previous review. I would recommend using towel as floor mat for wet shoes. Water pressure & hot water was fine, no complaints. In my opinion you get more than you pay for. It is reasonable but not plush. Prior reviews were disheartening & gave us fearful expectations. We were pleasantly surprised. We will patronize again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was unbeatable for the price. Two metro's & less than 2 blocks from St Catherine's shopping & underground mall access which was a must with the surprise blizzard that came. Crescent St. for night life, Bell Center for Cirque du Soliel performance & numerous restaurants. One surprisingly good restaurant was Barb B Barn on Guy had delicious ribs & chicken.. Enjoyed Pointe de Calliere (archaeological museum) in Old Port & Old Port area. Fairmount Bagels & Caffe Grazie Mille (corner Rue Fairmount & Rue Clark). Buses & metro are very easy to navigate. Knowing French would be helpful but many speak English. Bus tour a must & look out spots are extraordinary at night.

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bstroked
Business
Houston, Texas
Dec 10, 2012

It was a good stay

The location was a little ify but it wasnt to far from the metro. The outside didnt look the best but inside the room made up for that. Especially at the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayteeD
Business
Edmonton
Nov 20, 2012

Modern Magic

I didn't expect much from the cheap hotel I got through this site but I have to admit that I am never disappointed with any purchases from this site and this certainly was no exception! The room was big, beautiful and modern with a very cozy bed, beautiful furniture and hardwood floors. The bathroom was a bit smaller than I prefer but nice and bright and had one of those nice heavy shower curtains that doesn't get all up in your business while you shower. I would not only return but probably look at a jacuzzi suite next time for a romantic getaway with my hubby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

FANTASTIC! The tortellini rosé was absolutely perfect!

Review of Hotel Espresso - Montreal Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EliVee
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 15, 2012

Practical and Good Location

My reservation had been received but not entered into their system but luckily this was not a problem and the very nice guy at the front desk put me in a room on the top floor that he said had just been remodeled. He offered me an espresso from the fancy machine they have at the desk, available at any time. The express bus from the airport stops right down the block from the hotel and it is easy to walk to many parts of the city from it. My only complaint is that I went to the hotel's restaurant, tired and hungry from my long flight, just to grab a light dinner before going to bed. There were only a few other people in the restaurant and it was very quiet. I was seated quickly but then sat for at least 20 minutes until suddenly the waitress comes running back over saying "I'm sorry I forgot all about you!" Thanks, glad I'm so memorable. I ordered the French onion soup and waited at least another half hour. Finally, starving and with nothing to show for nearly an hour in the restaurant, I walked out. Luckily the hotel also has a convenience store where I bought tuna and crackers! Also I was only there for a few days and I keep things clean so did not want anyone entering my room; but on the last day, they actually removed the Do Not Disturb sign and did some cleaning in the room, leaving a spray bottle on the sink. That annoyed me. For the value and location, I recommend this as a practical and comfortable place to stay. Nothing amazing, but it's just for sleeping after all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top