Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
151 reviews
Toronto get-away

All very good. Would stay here again. Parking difficult to access hotel. See full review

  • Go Habs
  • Aug 1, 2014
Central location

Staff very helpful Hotel rooms small but clean and adequate. For such a good position prices very... See full review

  • MVDE
  • Oct 7, 2013
Find home-like comfort in the centre of this thriving cosmopolitan city
The Strathcona Hotel's excellent location puts guests at the heart of downtown Toronto, where guests find fashionable boutiques and department stores, art galleries and museums, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and CN Tower, and so much more. Recently renovated rooms reflect a new, modern design and offer a variety of high-tech amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Excellent downtown location
  • Warm, friendly staff
  • Airport shuttle available

Rooms

Rooms at the Strathcona Hotel come in a variety of sizes, but all are cozy and tastefully decorated in warm colors and furnishings with clean lines. Find European-style wood floors, high-loft pillows, in-room movies and Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) in all rooms. Executive rooms and suites include upgraded amenities, complimentary newspapers and, in some cases, amazing city views.

Features

Walk to St. Lawrence Market or hop on the ferry to Centre Island. Stop into the popular, on-site York Street Cafe for breakfast or lunch seven days a week, or explore nearby restaurants. Guests enjoy discounted passes to the Wellington Fitness Club, next-door to the hotel, with more than 50 group exercise classes and squash lessons each week. The New Age Spa is in the same building, and guests are invited to make an appointment for any of the fantastic treatments offered there. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Public bus stop (in the same block)

Attractions
  • Hockey Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • St. Lawrence Market (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Ontario Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Centre Island (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Casa Loma (3.8 mi/6.1 km)

Business
  • 24 hour business centre
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available (fees apply)

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6459 -79.3827
Area served
Toronto, Canada
Nearby airports
Pearson International
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Toronto's Entertainment, Financial and Sports Districts, just steps to the city's must see attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.6 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rusillini
Business
Urbana, IL
Nov 3, 2010

Nice hotel for business trips

I was traveling to Toronto for business and I needed a quiet and comfortable place to work and rest. Strathcona is a perfect place for that. The king size bed in my room was really comfortable and the room was very clean. The only thing I could see from the window was the wall of a neighboring building, but who cares, it was very quiet room, given that the hotel is right in the heart of Toronto's business district. The desk and chair were very comfortable either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Go Habs
North of Detroit
Aug 1, 2014

Toronto get-away

All very good. Would stay here again. Parking difficult to access hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 13, 2008

great location!

I loved The Stratchona Hotel, great location and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Minutes away from the CN Tower! Shuttle to and from the Pearson airport was across the street.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Western New York
Jun 10, 2010

Strathcona -- A Great Place to Stay!

This is a great boutique style hotel in a great location. My sister and I stayed there when we went to see the Eagles concert and couldn't have been happier. LOVE the wood floors in the rooms -- much cleaner than carpet! Room was spotless and front desk staff were great. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at 11 am of our room was ready. Rooms are cozy but the fact that they are spotless and non-smoking far make up for this -- not to mention that the room rate could be considered a steal! Would stay here again and have also told others about our great experience. Thank you Strathcona for a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Little Anthony's Italian Restaurant 121 Richmond Street West (416) 368-2223. Delicious food and great service at a reasonable price. We had a fabulous dinner here!

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MVDE
London
Oct 7, 2013

Central location

Staff very helpful Hotel rooms small but clean and adequate. For such a good position prices very reasonable. Shame about roadworks outside but hats not hotel fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casey's restaurant great food & staff.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester
Jun 29, 2008

nice and cheap! go here!

The Strathcona Hotel was clean and had nice modern decor. The ONLY downside to the hotel is that the rooms are very small. Great location, close to the happening spots and to the subway. I've already gone back to the hotel. I'll probably go here every time I visit toronto. Can't beat the price and its nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

air canada centre and the bauhaus are a short walk. coffee shops and restaurants nearby too. also be sure to check out the hockey hall of fame. Great shopping on queens quay. All within a short walking distance!

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 27, 2008

Convenient location

Within walking distance of train station and convention centre; good value for money if you are attending a meeting in Toronto, Canada.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernsie
Chicago, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Loved my stay

The Strathcona treated me very well. It is located in Toronto's Financial District. Ronald at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. I had booked a 2 single beds room due to it being the lowest price, but they upgraded me to a room with a queen-sized bed and I wasn't charged extra. The room was smaller than other hotel rooms I've stayed at - this didn't bother me, but it may bother other people. The room was immaculate - no dust anywhere. I didn't need to order room service or eat in the hotel eateries (York St. Cafe and The Pub) because the hotel was close to neighborhoods with good restaurants. Because of budget, I walked everywhere and chose places to eat that cost less than $10 per meal. I went to restaurants on Adelaide St W, King St W, Queen St W, Dundas St W and Front St. There are also many upscale restaurants in the area. I highly recommend purchasing internet because that's how I found places to eat. The internet cost was very inexpensive for my entire stay of 4 nights. A TTC subway station was located very close to the hotel on University Ave and King St W. My trip couldn't have gone any better, and that was largely due to the location of the Strathcona Hotel and the pleasant stay I had there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many inexpensive restaurant/eating options within walking distance of the hotel (walking distance for me is a mile or so). Alternatively, you can take the TTC subway because it's located 1-2 blocks from the hotel.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Gibbs
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2012

Small rooms, but very clean, great location!

The Strathcona is is light on amenities (no parking, for example), and the few it does have are expensive, but I'd definitely stay there again. My room was a bit small and had no view, and the bed wasn't very comfortable, but everything was recently renovated and extremely clean. Considering the price, the location is unbeatable! You can walk to the lake and the subway is only a block away. The staff is really helpful. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 15, 2007

Excellent Location

Strathcona is a quaint hotel with a great location. Plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance including the Harbourfront, Rogers Centre, CN Tower, and the Eaton Centre. St. Andrew's subway station is very close to explore other parts of Toronto. The room itself was a small, but clean, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top