Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 17, 2016

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
14 reviews
thanksgiving trip

Great location/ close to shopping stores & restaurants See full review

  • N C.
  • Oct 17, 2015
Great Location

The Strathcona Hotel is perfectly located in Downtown Toronto. We were able to walk to several... See full review

  • Familia Lopez
  • Jan 8, 2013
The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto's ethnically diverse, multilingual, friendly, and professional no-attitude staff welcomes you to stay at a place you can comfortably call home. The Strathcona Hotel is 100% smoke free facility perfectly situated in the heart of downtown Toronto. Steps from the fashionable shopping district, entertainment district, and financial district. Located across the street from the Union Station and within two blocks off the Air Canada Centre, the Rogers Centre, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and the Harbour front. For a more unique experience travelers are also within walking distance to Toronto's famous St. Lawrence Market, the Island, the Gay Village, as well as specialty bars and restaurants. Conveniently accessible from the Pearson international Airport and Porter Airlines Island Airport- both airport shuttle drop/pick up in front of the hotel. Our intimate and charming hotel boasts 194 newly renovated, elegantly appointed, modern guestrooms. All rooms offer the latest in comfort, fantastic bedding package and the cleanliness of wooden floors. The entire hotel has Wi-Fi connection and a 24hours business center. Signature breakfast and lunch is available from the hotel's popular York Street Cafe. Also on site, a full-featured British style Pub with flat panel TVs where you can enjoy dinner or relax while watching your favorite game. As part of our green initiative, the entire lighting has been replaced with low energy bulbs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6459 -79.3827
Area served
Toronto, Canada
Nearby airports
Pearson International
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Toronto's Entertainment, Financial and Sports Districts, just steps to the city's must see attractions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sharif
Business
cairo, egypt
Jul 28, 2012

nice location

Location is so nice that you can get any where on foot in downtown, 2 minutes walk to union station subway, train and bus, 5 minutes walk to convention center, fairmont york and the intercontinental are across the street, people are friendly and the hotel overall is cosy and calm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Niagra maid of the mist is an experience of a lifetime

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Familia Lopez
Family
Montreal, Qc.
Jan 8, 2013

Great Location

The Strathcona Hotel is perfectly located in Downtown Toronto. We were able to walk to several places and the room comfort and cleanliness are great. I will recommend it and will come back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki T
Family
New York City
Aug 13, 2012

Great Hotel

The Strathcona Hotel is conveniently located downtown Toronto near the Financial district and Union Station. Union Station on the Yonge subway line was a transfer point for other trains. It was within walking distance of the CN Tower, Harborfront, St. Lawrence Marketplace, Hockey Hall of Fame, Rodgers Stadium, and RBC Tower with a food court located on the lower level of Front Street. The room was a bit small, but just right for me. The staff was courteous and friendly. I would return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It's advisable to purchase Citipass on line. which gives access to 5 attractions such as the CN Tower, Casa Loma, ROM etc. No waiting on line - easy access to enter these locations.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 17, 2010

Great location and service

The location is great and convinent to the highways. The staffs are very helpful and curtise. There is no parking for the hotel, I wish we can be informed beforehand. Parking in the area is expensive and hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time traveler to Toronto
Friends
South Jersey
Jul 1, 2009

Small rooms but upgrade gracious

The original standard double room that I booked looked nothing like what is on the website. The room was tiny with two twin beds. Not suitable for two adults. However, after argueing with the front desk clerk I was able to upgrade my room to a double with queen beds. Much nicer room with more space. This is the room thats shown on the website. So although I was disappointed with the original room the upgrade was very nice and worth it. The hotel is located 3 blocks from Rogers stadium but has no parking so be prepared to pay for parking(at least $18 a day). All in all the location is good and the queen double room is very nice. Just don't get fooled by the pics on the website and make sure when booking that you get the room from the pic on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I had a lot of trouble trying to find a liquor store. On the last day I found one in Union Station located down the block and across the street from the hotel. You have to go down into the shops to locate but well worth it if you want to grab some wine, beer, etc.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
downtown Toronto
Oct 24, 2010

Affordable moderate hotel

Comfortable Rooms Lot of extras - like internet not included Downtown location is the biggest advantage Reasonable pricing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown location is positive

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N C.
Couples
Chicago
Oct 17, 2015

thanksgiving trip

Great location/ close to shopping stores & restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Bronx, NY
Aug 4, 2009

The Strathcona Hotel

I enjoyed my room. Even though the room was small, it was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The places that I visited were within a mile of the hotel.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chellez
Couples
Markham
May 2, 2010

its ALRIGHT.......

What i was looking for was privacy which was moderate. We had a twin bedroom at first and it was really small beds so we upgraded to a queen size bed with no extra charge and it was great!! WARNING! the rooms are REALLY small but not for the price. that was the first thing we noticed. Second the hotel had NO ICE!!!!! we had drinks and dip so we had to improvise. Third its a great place JUST to sleep, however you can hear the trucks on the street at night which is really LOUD! When bringing friends over there is little privacy. we got in trouble at 9:00 PM because people were sleeping which sucked. There was little privacy, you can hear people open and close their doors which is very loud. If someone dropped something on the above floor it really loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valentines weekend
Couples
london
Feb 16, 2011

valentine get a away

went to a concert went to dinner at 360 rest. missing proper soap in the shower very small room hard to adjust tempt. in room due to its location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

tim hortons across the street,ACC minutes away

Back to menu Return to top