Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

The Strathcona Hotel

3 stars
View map of 60 York Street, Toronto, ON M5J 1S8

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
160 reviews
Awesome Weekend

I stayed here for a few nights while visiting Toronto. The hotel was clean, bright, and situated... See full review

  • Sean C.
  • Feb 17, 2015
Charming downtown hotel

We enjoyed our stay here over the summer. Small room but very clean and beds very comfortable.... See full review

  • jeanne d.
  • Feb 9, 2015
The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto's ethnically diverse, multilingual, friendly, and professional no-attitude staff welcomes you to stay at a place you can comfortably call home. The Strathcona Hotel is 100% smoke free facility perfectly situated in the heart of downtown Toronto. Steps from the fashionable shopping district, entertainment district, and financial district. Located across the street from the Union Station and within two blocks off the Air Canada Centre, the Rogers Centre, the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and the Harbour front. For a more unique experience travelers are also within walking distance to Toronto's famous St. Lawrence Market, the Island, the Gay Village, as well as specialty bars and restaurants. Conveniently accessible from the Pearson international Airport and Porter Airlines Island Airport- both airport shuttle drop/pick up in front of the hotel. Our intimate and charming hotel boasts 194 newly renovated, elegantly appointed, modern guestrooms. All rooms offer the latest in comfort, fantastic bedding package and the cleanliness of wooden floors. The entire hotel has Wi-Fi connection and a 24hours business center. Signature breakfast and lunch is available from the hotel's popular York Street Cafe. Also on site, a full-featured British style Pub with flat panel TVs where you can enjoy dinner or relax while watching your favorite game. As part of our green initiative, the entire lighting has been replaced with low energy bulbs.

The Strathcona Hotel Rooms

Executive King Bed
Executive room with one king bed, hair dryer, coffee maker, radio alarm clock, iron and ironing board, cable TV with remote and in-room movies. The room also offers high-speed wireless internet, desk with data port, phone with voice mail and individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Smart Two Single Beds
Smart room with two twin beds, radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Windows open and the room has individual climate control. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.
Executive Two Double Beds
Executive room with two double beds. Room is equipped with a radio alarm clock, cable TV with pay-per-view and phone with voice mail. The room windows open. The room also includes individual climate control and a hair dryer. Non-smoking room. One rollaway allowed in this room type.
Smart One Queen Bed
Smart room with one queen bed, radio alarm clock and cable TV with pay-per-view. Room windows open. Room also has individual climate control, phone with voicemail and hair dryer. Non-smoking room. No rollaways allowed in this room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Strathcona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6459 -79.3827
Area served
Toronto, Canada
Nearby airports
Pearson International
Area description
The hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Toronto's Entertainment, Financial and Sports Districts, just steps to the city's must see attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.2 mi
  • Maple Leaf Square: 0.2 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.6 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 0.6 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 0.6 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 0.7 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.7 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 1.1 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.2 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.3 mi
  • University of Toronto: 1.4 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 1.6 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.8 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.8 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2.6 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.9 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 3.8 mi
  • High Park: 4.2 mi
  • The Beaches: 4.6 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.2 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8.5 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.3 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.4 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
The Pub - Open 11am-11pm, casual, pub food,York Street Cafe - Open 6:30am-2pm, casual, breakfast and lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for The Strathcona Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sharif
Business
cairo, egypt
Jul 28, 2012

nice location

Location is so nice that you can get any where on foot in downtown, 2 minutes walk to union station subway, train and bus, 5 minutes walk to convention center, fairmont york and the intercontinental are across the street, people are friendly and the hotel overall is cosy and calm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Niagra maid of the mist is an experience of a lifetime

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Gibbs
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2012

Small rooms, but very clean, great location!

The Strathcona is is light on amenities (no parking, for example), and the few it does have are expensive, but I'd definitely stay there again. My room was a bit small and had no view, and the bed wasn't very comfortable, but everything was recently renovated and extremely clean. Considering the price, the location is unbeatable! You can walk to the lake and the subway is only a block away. The staff is really helpful. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Familia Lopez
Business
Montreal, Qc.
Jan 8, 2013

Great Location

The Strathcona Hotel is perfectly located in Downtown Toronto. We were able to walk to several places and the room comfort and cleanliness are great. I will recommend it and will come back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MVDE
Business
London
Oct 7, 2013

Central location

Staff very helpful Hotel rooms small but clean and adequate. For such a good position prices very reasonable. Shame about roadworks outside but hats not hotel fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casey's restaurant great food & staff.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western New York
Jun 10, 2010

Strathcona -- A Great Place to Stay!

This is a great boutique style hotel in a great location. My sister and I stayed there when we went to see the Eagles concert and couldn't have been happier. LOVE the wood floors in the rooms -- much cleaner than carpet! Room was spotless and front desk staff were great. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at 11 am of our room was ready. Rooms are cozy but the fact that they are spotless and non-smoking far make up for this -- not to mention that the room rate could be considered a steal! Would stay here again and have also told others about our great experience. Thank you Strathcona for a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Little Anthony's Italian Restaurant 121 Richmond Street West (416) 368-2223. Delicious food and great service at a reasonable price. We had a fabulous dinner here!

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 6, 2009

GREAT location and service

I appreciate the consideration from the housekeepers. She considered my comments/requests right away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sudbury
Mar 12, 2011

The Great Escape!

Excellent location, very clean & new!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernsie
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Loved my stay

The Strathcona treated me very well. It is located in Toronto's Financial District. Ronald at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. I had booked a 2 single beds room due to it being the lowest price, but they upgraded me to a room with a queen-sized bed and I wasn't charged extra. The room was smaller than other hotel rooms I've stayed at - this didn't bother me, but it may bother other people. The room was immaculate - no dust anywhere. I didn't need to order room service or eat in the hotel eateries (York St. Cafe and The Pub) because the hotel was close to neighborhoods with good restaurants. Because of budget, I walked everywhere and chose places to eat that cost less than $10 per meal. I went to restaurants on Adelaide St W, King St W, Queen St W, Dundas St W and Front St. There are also many upscale restaurants in the area. I highly recommend purchasing internet because that's how I found places to eat. The internet cost was very inexpensive for my entire stay of 4 nights. A TTC subway station was located very close to the hotel on University Ave and King St W. My trip couldn't have gone any better, and that was largely due to the location of the Strathcona Hotel and the pleasant stay I had there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many inexpensive restaurant/eating options within walking distance of the hotel (walking distance for me is a mile or so). Alternatively, you can take the TTC subway because it's located 1-2 blocks from the hotel.

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rusillini
Business
Urbana, IL
Nov 3, 2010

Nice hotel for business trips

I was traveling to Toronto for business and I needed a quiet and comfortable place to work and rest. Strathcona is a perfect place for that. The king size bed in my room was really comfortable and the room was very clean. The only thing I could see from the window was the wall of a neighboring building, but who cares, it was very quiet room, given that the hotel is right in the heart of Toronto's business district. The desk and chair were very comfortable either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 15, 2007

Excellent Location

Strathcona is a quaint hotel with a great location. Plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance including the Harbourfront, Rogers Centre, CN Tower, and the Eaton Centre. St. Andrew's subway station is very close to explore other parts of Toronto. The room itself was a small, but clean, and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top