Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

Super 8 Downtown Toronto

2 stars
222 Spadina Ave., Toronto, ON M5T 3B3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
39 reviews
Couldn't fault it

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It seems odd at first: situated in a mall in Chinatown, but... See full review

  • emmylou
  • Oct 7, 2014
Great stay

Booking was easy via O r b i t z. The hotel is clean, adjacent to the Chinatown shopping center and... See full review

  • ThisIsNoValue
  • Jul 5, 2013
Comfort and affordability, surrounded by vibrant culture in Chinatown
Part of a chain known worldwide for its affordable rates, this Super 8 at the heart of one of Toronto's most vibrant neighborhoods is no exception. Chinatown offers shops, restaurants and cultural centers in every direction. Time your trip just right, and catch a performance at the nearby Chinatown Festival. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning and stay connected while you travel with free high-speed Internet access. There is always plenty of parking (fees apply), so leave the car behind and see the city by foot, bike, bus or subway.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Super Start breakfast
  • Kids under 17 stay free with parent or guardian
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Rooms

Choose from delightfully decorated non-smoking rooms or suites at the Super 8 Downtown Toronto, where comfortable bedding, free high-speed Internet access and an in-room microwave are the standard. If you need a little more space, ask about the Junior suites, and if pampering is in order, try the Jacuzzi suites.

Features

There is so much to do, see, and taste in this vibrant neighborhood, there will be little time left for rest. But when that time comes, find comfortable rooms and affordable rates at the convenient Super 8 Downtown Toronto. Visit the nearby Chinatown Festival, where there is always a great meal or deal to be found, as well as performances by martial arts troupes, the Cantonese Opera and Chinese traditional musical ensembles. Take a short walk to the Kensington Market to browse the eclectic shops or have an unforgettable lunch. Visit the city's most popular destination, CN Tower, or the Royal Ontario Museum, Eaton's Centre, and Air Canada Centre, all within walking distance. Head out a little further to the Toronto Islands, the Beach or High Park for a little taste of nature in the city.

Transportation
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (16.3 mi/26.3 km)
  • Bus stop (in the same block)

Attractions
  • Kensington Market (0.2 mi/0.5 km)
  • CN Tower (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Air Canada Centre (1.9 mi/3.2 km)
  • The Toronto Islands (4.5 mi/7.2 km)

Business
  • Business hot spot
  • Meeting rooms available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Downtown Toronto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.651 -79.3974
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.6 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 1 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 1 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 1 mi
  • The AGO, Art gallery of Ontario: 0.3 mi
  • Princess of Wales Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toronto Symphony Orchestra: 0.6 mi
  • Massey Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Rogers Centre: 0.8 mi
  • CN Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Eaton Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Fort York: 0.9 mi
  • University of Toronto: 0.9 mi
  • The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Pantages Theatre: 1 mi
  • Toronto Music Garden: 1 mi
  • Mackenzie House: 1 mi
  • The Air Canada Centre: 1 mi
  • Hockey Hall of Fame: 1.1 mi
  • Air Canada Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Bata Shoe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Harbourfront Centre: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Conservatory of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Ontario Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Ballet of Canada: 1.3 mi
  • St Lawrence Market: 1.3 mi
  • Allan Gardens Conservatory: 1.4 mi
  • Yorkville: 1.4 mi
  • Centre Island: 1.5 mi
  • Toronto Public Library: 1.5 mi
  • Distillery District: 1.9 mi
  • Spandina Historic House: 2 mi
  • Toronto Island Park: 2.2 mi
  • Casa Loma: 2.3 mi
  • High Park: 3.4 mi
  • Ashbridge's Bay Park: 4.5 mi
  • The Beaches: 5.2 mi
  • Ontario Science Centre: 5.4 mi
  • Edwards Gardens: 6.1 mi
  • Toronto Centre for the Arts: 8 mi
  • Scarborough Bluffs: 9.7 mi
  • Toronto Zoo: 15.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 39
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pete in Montana
Business
Livingston, MT
Mar 31, 2014

Good value

The room quality and location were great. Service was mediocre. Extremely slow elevator and no stair access to third floor lobby. Ice machine was broken. Also, the elevator was accessible to the general public and some derelict had urinated in it sometime during my last night. It was a gross departure gift to discover that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fsergio
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 10, 2013

Value for your money but in noisy location

the hotel is good and offers a comfortable environment. Hotel is located inside a chinese shopping center where oriental entertainment takes place resulting in a noisy environment for most of the day. Rooms face the shopping center and there is no way to avoid the noise during the day. At night the rooms provide a wide, cozy and silent environment to the guest. Overall the hotel provides good value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is located in Toronto┬┤s chinatown which is part of the downbtown area with fast communitng to most greater downtown attarctions.

Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
casual student traveler
Business
san jose, california
May 4, 2012

Excellent stay in super 8 toronto

I stayed for a total of 3 nights. The hotel was a little hard to find because it's on the top floor of a shopping plaza, but that's probably my only complaint. I arrived early in the morning and was told my room was not ready for check in yet, but they would do the best they can to clean it up first. So i went out for a walk, and when i got back the room was ready! The first room i went in smelled a little funny and the internet didn't work, so i went back to the front desk. They immediately switched rooms for me and even upgraded my room to include a jacuzzi tub in the room! The room smelled great and i enjoyed it very much! The location is great, plenty of restaurants within walking distance! I had a great stay and would choose them again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nyc2toronto
Business
new york, ny
Mar 14, 2012

value

Excellent location, courteous staff and great value for your money. For those used to four seasons might have some issues but be tolerant and you would wonder why one would waste money at those places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSP
Business
Alberta
Jan 24, 2010

Great location, safe + clean!

The staff were very accommodating and helpful, offering excellent service and also good advice about where to eat etc. The rooms and lobby were spotless, the bed really comfortable, and overall I had a great stay. My biggest complaint was noisy neighbors- the rooms are not very soundproof so bring some earplugs. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheap economist
Business
New York, NY
Aug 30, 2009

Great positive surprise!

At first, the hotel was a little hard to find since its sign was on top of a multiple story building, with a Chinese shopping mall on the ground floor. The outside of the building wasn't very impressive, but once I got in, the very modern, bright and clean look of the lobby won me over immediately. The room was also nice, clean, and comfortable. It certainly beat my expectations. Next time in Toronto, this hotel will certainly be on my short list!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 12, 2009

Dusty and smelly

This hotel is in the Chinatown District. That part is great, lot's of places for dining. The parking garage is bad. We were unable to enter garage the bars to let cars in was damaged. There was a backup and reversing out of the garage and up the ramp was a hassle. There were no attendants. We had to park in the garage and carry all our luggages up. The lobby was decent. The hallway on the 5th floor was disgusting! Once the elevator doors open a severe scent was in the air. The room looked tidy, but the sheets were dirty. There were hair in the pillows, when you sat on the bed the dust kicked up around you. I had an asthma attack that night. The bathroom had hair dried up on the mirror and side of the shower walls. We checked out immediately the following morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of restaurants in the area.Parking is charged per day, it is cheaper to pay for parking at the hotel as opposed to when you leave since the parking garage is not affiliated to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top