Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2016 Check-out: Mar 14, 2016

Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

3 stars
View map of 475 Yonge Street, 475 Yonge Street, Toronto, ON M4Y 1X7

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
16 reviews
I loved this hotel and the staff and the room and the bar!!

Check-in with Terry was fabulous. He was the clerk for the Marriott Rewards network and certainly... See full review

  • Peeps
  • Feb 28, 2012
Perfect place to stay

The stay was short but great the staff and hotel we'll recommended See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 2, 2010
Plan a memorable getaway here at the Courtyard Toronto Downtown. We have the proud distinction of being the largest full-service Courtyard hotel in the world. Our prime location on Yonge Street enables you to visit some of Ontario's most famous attractions - from shopping to cultural landmarks - with ease. Our redesigned hotel lobby offers extra space to meet and work. Stay informed with our GoBoard® technology, delivering touch-screen access to news, local information, and more. Settle into one of our 575 hotel rooms and suites, which are packed with amenities including free high-speed Internet, and flat-screen TVs. Start your day here in Toronto, Canada with breakfast and Starbucks® coffee at The Bistro, or join us later for cocktails and dinner. Swim a lap in our heated indoor pool during your stay, or plan an event or meeting, and make use of our hotel's 13,000 square feet of venue space. Your home away from home in Ontario, Canada awaits at the Courtyard Toronto Downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6622 -79.3835
Area served
Toronto
Nearby airports
Toronto Pearson International Airport, (YYZ), 27.00, KM, SE; Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport, (YTZ), 4.70, KM, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJTraveler
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Excellent Hotel and Location

Hotel is clean and modern with many amenities and main entrance is behind Yonge Street. The best is the hotel's location - its on Yonge Street only one block from subway (College stop); 24 hour McDonald, 24 hour drug/convenience store, in-hotel coffee shop/bar, coffee shop on corner. Hotel is convenient to many tourist sites via subway such as AGO, ROM, Union Station (Air Canada Center). Also the hop-on/hop-off tourist bus stop is a block and half away. Many fast food chains, local restaurants and bars in area. A 5 minute walk to Dundas Square (like NYC's Times Square). For single travelers, you feel welcome and not out of place. For GLBT travelers, its only a block to Church Street (Gay Village) with many bars, cafes and other venues. Only negative is they charge for WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good Thai restaurant on Alexander Street across from hotel. Reasonable and good food.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Broncos Fan
Family
Albany NY
Oct 27, 2014

A reasonable hotel in a great location

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was great. The rooms were clean and pleasant, but not noteworthy in any particular way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Shore Club by the Ritz Carlton is a must.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Shopper
Business
Ontario
Mar 3, 2013

Excellent Conference

I was at this hotel for a conference which was held downstairs. The location was ideal and the staff were helpful and pleasant. My room was large and quite clean. There was an incident of a flood in the bathroom; due to the design of the wheelchair accessible shower (the shower floor was higher than the bathroom floor). The staff were quick to bring towels. I will stay here again but I do not suggest others stay in a wheelchair accessible room unless necessary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Eaton's Centre and Bloor Street

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gay Senior
Palm Springs, CA
Nov 20, 2012

Nice stay

The staff was helpful and friendly and the location was very central to Downtown Toronto. On the down side, they make up in parking fees for the good deals on room rates - $32 per day! And no good alternatives, like on-street or public garages. Room was on the samll side, but the bed and comforter were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fabox
Family
bogota, colombia
Nov 3, 2012

Awsome

Great ubication... Staff is very friendy and help very much to guesst needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Washington, D.C.
Aug 27, 2012

Decent Value

Under normal circumstances this hotel wouldn't cost this much, but it's cheaper than its neighbors in Toronto. Rooms are average, staff is great, and it's very weird that the main entrance is not on Yonge Street, but on the back of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peeps
Business
Mexico
Feb 28, 2012

I loved this hotel and the staff and the room and the bar!!

Check-in with Terry was fabulous. He was the clerk for the Marriott Rewards network and certainly gave us a reward. He gave us a lovely room on 15, very quiet and spacious. All the MODs in the lobby were helpful. The lobby is particularly nicely done. Corey in the bar was a fund of information on places to go and what were the "best" places to go. I just really liked the attitudes at this hotel a great deal. Penelope

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Sugo's for dinner. It is wonderful!! PC

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KYtom
Kentucky, USA
Oct 26, 2011

It's all good! (mostly)

Great location, friendly staff, large room, my only complaint was that the bed was not very comfy. It seemed like it was time to replace the mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Keg Mansion served me the absolute perfect filet mignon! The atmosphere is that of a late 19th century mansion and could appear a bit stuffy, but I felt comfortable in my jeans and polo shirt.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jess O
Friends
New York, NY, USA
Aug 22, 2011

You Get What You Pay For

This hotel is very conveniently located. It's not too in the middle of things so as to be on the noisy side of things but walking distance to the heart of downtown. There are a bunch of sketchy people and stores (a series of head shops, adult shops and countless hobos) so I can't say it's in a neighborhood that you'd want to stroll through with the family. The hotel room was good enough for the deal we got (about 120/night I think) but it definitely has the grimey undertone thee types of hotels tend to have. You wouldn't shower here without sandals or sit on the toilet bowl or anything...they cleaned my room everyday but it still smelled like hobo each time. The staff is pretty friendly and they will accommodate you as much as they are allowed/instructed to. Stay here if it's cheap, think really hard if it's not. JO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of all the amazing eateries they have nearby...Thai, American, West Indian, tons of Halal. We tried each type and they were all really good!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sjoe
Family
Tampa, FL, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Good Enough

All things considered, I'll give a B- rating to this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is it's location and, because of it, the value seemed reasonable. Most of the staff we encountered weren't very welcoming. While the room was clean--but recycled the linens somewhat during our stay; areas were dusty when we arrived--the TV didn't often work properly. Would I stay there again? Probably, but only after looking elsewhere first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you go to Toronto, ON, you'll certainly want to visit Niagra Falls. While the immediate area caters to tourists, the Maid of the Mist tour to the Falls was excellent and well worth the trip!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texman1985
Couples
Vicenza, Italy
Jan 16, 2011

Great Vacation

Nice hotel and a great location on Yonge street in downtown Toronto. The only thing I wish that was disclosed was the fact that it cost $25 CDN per day to actually park your car at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Hard Rock Cafe a few blocks down

Back to menu Return to top