Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
360 reviews
Great place to stay

The view was amazing both day and night. You can see the Falls lit up at night from your bed. The... See full review

  • 52 and beginning to trave
  • Mar 25, 2014
A room with a VIEW.

I just got back from a 3 nights stay at Oakes Hotel Overlooking tha Falls. It was an excellent... See full review

  • Yanni Alex
  • Nov 2, 2013
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
360 out of 360
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
Aug 16, 2009

Not as nice as we had hoped and expected

We were surprised to find out the hotel charged for parking, $15/day. The fitness center was closed for upgrades but I don't think they should have completely shut it down. At least they compensated us for half the parking charges when we complained about the gym being closed during our stay. The pool area was unbearably hot, small and not too clean. The rooms were pretty clean however, but small. We had upgraded to a fallside room but our view of the falls was completely blocked by trees so there was no point to the upgrade. I would recommend staying in a different hotel for anyone considering. Of course if all one needs is a place to sleep and shower, then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
vacaioner
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Aug 9, 2009

Great view

The hotel had a great view of the Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
Lovin
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2009

spectular view from 11th floor

the view was perfect and the rooms were clean. The staff was very unfriendly. I asked for completmentary toothpaste and they did not have any to provide. I asked for extra pillows and I was told housekeeping was closed and so they could not get any. I ask where was the closest ice cream place and they told me there was one 3 blocks down but we found one right next to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Casino

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Berkeley Springs, WV
Aug 1, 2009

You do see the falls from all the rooms

We were on the 9th floor and had an unobstructed view of the Canadian horseshoe fall, as in the picture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
MI
Jul 28, 2009

The biggest disappointement

We booked the room based on the star rating of this hotel. On checking in, we were given rooms in a separate 2 stry block which was worse than a cheap dirty motel. When we complained they blamed Oritz. However we could change only one room by paying extra. Orbit people should inspect the hotels before reservations. With visitors from the U.K. it was one of the worst niagra vists for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jul 27, 2009

Not like the pictures - Dirty - messy

The hotel is in a greate location,huge rooms and a lot of very afoordable restaurants. I have to say the hotel is very dirty , messy ,horrible wall paper. I was expecting more for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the hotel offer breakfast buffet b/w 7 and 10 dolars. All you can eat.Applebees can be expensive.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Jul 27, 2009

Oakes @ Niagara Falls CAN

They charged .80 for local calls & $15.00 + tax daily for parking. Also a week after I booked my non-refundable room with 2 doubles & no view, rooms with 2 queens & a view were available for $10 a day more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast buffet @ country chalet was great @ $6.99, but beware of high drink prices.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
pennsylvania
Jul 25, 2009

Niagra Falls place to stay

no free wi-fi poor choice of tv channels room not cleaned until 4:00PM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

do not purchase the attraction package, most not useful

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Laramie, WY
Jul 22, 2009

It's Not a boutique!

Had a great view of the mist from our second story window and it was a long trek to the 14th floor lookout. Hotel was ok, but nothing to brag about. I was surprised that they let my sister check in for all of us since I had booked the rooms with my credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do Not go to the 3-D movie - it is a rip-off and a total disgrace to the good name of Niagara Falls. I had just seen an IMAX movie in Zion Nat'l Park that was excellent so I decided to try the 3-D one - big mistake. The Canadian side of the Falls is a huge carnival and cheapens the spectacular beauty of the natural wonder. Canada is EXPENSIVE - I think I paid for their health care system.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Indianapolis
Jul 21, 2009

Located very convenient

The Oakes was a nice hotel, but nothing special for the money when the $15/night parking was added to the invoice. Staying "falls side", but only on the 3rd Floor meant I had a a very limited view of the falls. The Hotel was convenient to the inclined railway which takes travelers to the Visitor Center and the rim of the falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The inclined railway is a $2 "short-cut" to the rim of the falls. The Journey Behind the falls is worth every penny.

Back to menu Return to top