Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
414 reviews
Great Hotel! Nice Staff!

would recommend to go again for sure! one of best! See full review

  • Jay Chow
  • Sep 11, 2014
A Wonderful Surprise

We were extremely happy with this hotel. The view was incredible (primarily because we were lucky... See full review

  • LuckBeAQB
  • Sep 1, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (414)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
414 out of 414
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
England and Hong Kong
May 22, 2010

unbeatable view & location for the price

Overall good, but room too hot and there was no proper shower, just a stupid heart shaped bath with hand held shower head. Nowhere to hang towels in the bath room or toilet area. The housekeeping forgot to put coffee mate in the room. Reception good and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josy the Great
Bronx, New York City
May 14, 2010

Perfect location, near all attractions

I wanted to see Niagara Falls for a very long time. I finally booked the trip and went on my own. I truly enjoyed my stay at the Oakes Hotel, the staff was friendly. The pool was a bit small so if you want to make a big splash, this is not the pool for it. They offered no continental breakfast which I think would have been great. This was my first trip to Canada and I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to see Niagara Falls for themselves. This experience is even better when shared with a special someone or your family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the perfect place, you can walk and get on a train rail that takes you down for a very small fee. Once your down there, you can do some sightseeing on your own,shop at the many shops available or purchase one of many great discount packagesavailable to see a few "must see sights" on your trip.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
May 10, 2010

Potential if problems are fixed

Traveling with family for Mother's Day we were excited about the view from our room. We were quickly dissapointed when one window was cracked and completely fogged over - NO VIEW there. Tried to watch TV but the remote was broken. Went to go swimming and the pool heater was not on and water was freezing. That was fixed by the next morning. Rooms have NO CLOSETS, so no where to hang coats, dresses or suits. Certainly not what I expect for the almost $200/night cost; not even breakfast or newspaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Johnstown, PA
May 8, 2010

Fantastic View

The hotel was very nice. It was clean, the staff was friendly, our room was ready, and there were no problems. Parking was $15 a day extra. We had a fallsview room and the view was incredible! It was located near the incline to the tourist bussing system and the new casino. It would have been nice if it would have had more evening shuttles to the other end of town. Since it was April, the bus system closed at 5:00 and the hotel only had one shuttle that went to their affiliated hotel/restaurant and it ended around 8:00 (much to early).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the tourist package that allows you to use the bus system for two days unlimited.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winona Minnesota
May 6, 2010

Great room with the best view of Falls

We had paid a little extra to have a room on the 12th floor with queen beds. The view was fantastic. We were able to watch the entire evening both the Canadian and American falls as they displayed their lights show. So beautiful. The hotel was located right next to the train to the Canadian falls and the view was probably better than any other place. The room was clean, temperature controls great, bed comfort great, quiet and big rooms with a large TV. One of the nicer rooms I've stayed in. The only thing that was a little unusual was there was no closet in our room. Also, typical of many hotels, the pool and fitness center didn't open until 9:00 and I would have preferred my workout prior to my shower and breakfast in the morning. I would highly recommend the hotel. A good experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at the attached Applebees was not the best experience. However, the shuttle bus took us to Remingtons from the hotel and I would say that is the best meal I've ever experienced. Perkins, about a block away, had the best breakfast in the area with the best value. Also, the big casino is right next door with a variety of food options available including a good buffet and a food court. I also highly recommend Elements on the Falls at Table Rock. Best view of the falls while dining at Elements.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Youngstown, Ohio
May 5, 2010

Oakes Hotel

Check-in was no problem and everything went smoothly. The front desk attendants were prompt and kind. If you arrive by car, be aware they will charge you an additional $15 per day to park your car in their lot. Courtyard rooms do not have a mini-fridge so if you plan on keeping drinks in you room, bring a cooler if you also want to use the sink at the same time. The hotel itself is a five minute walk to the casino and a five minute drive to the LCBO. Opposite the casino is The Keg, a fantastic steakhouse. The horseshoe falls is about a twelve minute walk, and from there it's real close to Clifton Hill. Unless you plan on going somewhere far for dinner, 95% of your traveling will be on foot and the Oakes hotel is a good place to return. The Observation deck on the 14th floor is air conditioned and has really comfortable overstuffed chairs and is a good place to drink and watch the falls lit up at night. (the falls turn off at midnight) The biggest plus I found about this hotel was the lack of bedbugs. I know there is a real big bedbug problem in hotels around this area but especially in New York and this hotel did not show up on the bedbug registry. Upon checking in, I did a thorough inspection of my room and did not find a single bug. These rooms are clean and I did not have to worry about bringing bedbugs back home with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clinton, Maryland
May 1, 2010

great location

Staff was very friendly for the most part. Parking was convenient but costly. We visited the Falls went shopping and spent an enormous amount of time at the nearby Casino. Hotel was very bare with limited amenities. The Hotel needs a refurb. Wallpaper peeling in spots and rust showing in some areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to pay an arm and a leg for food. Sales tax is a whopping 13% for everything. No exclusions.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma Ann
Eugene, OR
Apr 29, 2010

What a view

Hotel upgraded us to a deluxe suite with a balcony and jacuzzi tub. Also had a small patio which we did not use due to cool weather. Location was great with a view of both the Horseshoe and American Falls. Just 1 block away from the incline railway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8hr drive
New England
Apr 23, 2010

Great time despite a few incidentals

CONS: Parking costs $15/day; Wireless $12.99/day; Fitness room is 3 pieces (1 stepper, 2 bikes) Canadian tax totaled 13%; Restaurant chains overpriced! Applebees charges $13.99 for a burger and fries. Add a drink,tax and tip and you'd be lucky to pay under $25. PROS: Great value for a hotel nestled between the Casino and higher priced hotel chains. Room was simple and clean with a view of the horseshoe falls. Higher the floor, better the view. Within walking distance of major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For those on a budget, avoid all the chain restaurants and stick with the Casino's Buffet. It's $20/person, all you can eat and has variety. With a little tenacity we also found a Walmart, and a grocery store where the locals shop. It's about 20 min. away by car towards the QEW (Canadian highway)

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wally G
Business
Cherry Hill New Jersey
Apr 21, 2010

Before Staying Here Please Read

This hotel should seriously consider changing the way they do business at the front desk. The two young ladies that were at the desk during my stay were the most condesending, unprofessional, unscrupulous ladies I have ever met. My collegue and I work with Fortune 500 companies and if asked about where to stay in Niagra Falls...The Oakes Hotel will not be recommended. Point Blank!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top