Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
597 reviews
Amazing

Just perfect !! Can't get any better , excellent view , clean. Very helpfully staff , everything in... See full review

  • Bellamia
  • Jul 24, 2014
great hotel, fabulous view

Friendly staff, nice room, great view. We stayed on the 9th floor. We loved it. See full review

  • funworldtraveler
  • Jun 27, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (597)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
597 out of 597
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canada Traveler
Kingsport, TN
Jul 26, 2010

College Frat Party

The location of the hotel is fantastic, and the view from the upper floors is superb. However we received a room on the second floor in the older section of the hotel. We were surrounded by groups of college students, and the hall and rooms looked like they hadn't been remodeled since the mid-90's. Walpaper was peeling off the walls, ceiling tiles leaked and there were stains on the carpet. The rooms seemed clean, but we were somewhat creeped out by sleeping under blankets that looked like they were 10+ years old. The staff was not overly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Niagara on the Lake was a beautiful little town! If we go back we will stay there for sure.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canada Traveler
Kingsport, TN
Jul 26, 2010

College Frat Party

The location of the hotel is fantastic, and the view from the upper floors is superb. However we received a room on the second floor in the older section of the hotel. We were surrounded by groups of college students, and the hall and rooms looked like they hadn't been remodeled since the mid-90's. Walpaper was peeling off the walls, ceiling tiles leaked and there were stains on the carpet. The rooms seemed clean, but we were somewhat creeped out by sleeping under blankets that looked like they were 10+ years old. The staff was not overly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Niagara on the Lake was a beautiful little town! If we go back we will stay there for sure.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Halifax, NS Canada
Jul 25, 2010

Great view of both falls

Great view of both falls to 11th floor fallsview room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Halifax, NS Canada
Jul 25, 2010

Great view of both falls

Great view of both falls to 11th floor fallsview room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown Pennsylvania
Jul 20, 2010

dirty hallways!

The location of the hotel is what got me fooled, and the look of the building itself, how ever, little did I know what was expecting me when I got there, went there with my parents and two siblings, and nephew,we had two rooms next to each other that were situated on the second floor I guess at some point this must have been a motel or an inn with no ratings and than they added the tall glass like building that looks very well from the outside, our rooms were located I would say in a maze because you had to make various turns to get to the location after you exited the elevator.The carpet in the hallways were filthy you dont even know what color they are. Hallways are dark and and walls coming apart. for the seven days that I was there I never saw anyone cleaing the hallways, I would not walk the hallways by myself,rooms were done on daily basis, but on one of those days one of the beds in the room was done and the other one was never touched! by the cleaning person, we had to laugh about it I have never seen anything like it! the pool is way too small and the hot tub too! with a very strong smell of clorine, they also look like they are falling appart. The hallway is always hot and humid no airconditioner in hallways,and in the observation deck either. Exercise room is tiny and equipment realy outdated! I would not recomend this hotel to any one, I dont know why it is rated a three star this hotel should have no stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown Pennsylvania
Jul 20, 2010

dirty hallways!

The location of the hotel is what got me fooled, and the look of the building itself, how ever, little did I know what was expecting me when I got there, went there with my parents and two siblings, and nephew,we had two rooms next to each other that were situated on the second floor I guess at some point this must have been a motel or an inn with no ratings and than they added the tall glass like building that looks very well from the outside, our rooms were located I would say in a maze because you had to make various turns to get to the location after you exited the elevator.The carpet in the hallways were filthy you dont even know what color they are. Hallways are dark and and walls coming apart. for the seven days that I was there I never saw anyone cleaing the hallways, I would not walk the hallways by myself,rooms were done on daily basis, but on one of those days one of the beds in the room was done and the other one was never touched! by the cleaning person, we had to laugh about it I have never seen anything like it! the pool is way too small and the hot tub too! with a very strong smell of clorine, they also look like they are falling appart. The hallway is always hot and humid no airconditioner in hallways,and in the observation deck either. Exercise room is tiny and equipment realy outdated! I would not recomend this hotel to any one, I dont know why it is rated a three star this hotel should have no stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bensalem, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Excellant views, great value

I paid for the Fallsview King Jacuzzi Suite and it was well worth it. We were on the 20th. floor. The view of the falls was breathe taking. We were able to watch the fireworks right out our window. The rooms do not have a refrigerator so I suggest bringing along a small cooler to keep drinks in. One with wheels like I have would be helpful because ice machines are only on the even number floors up to the 12th. floor. (That's a lot of trips up and down the elevator with the ice bucket!) Room service is expensive but the prices are on par with all the local restaurants. After a long car ride, we decided to have dinner at Applebes which is right outside the hotel. We had two beers, one appetizer, and two entrees. The bill was $90. We found this to be the average price for most of the restaurants in the Fallsview area. The more upscale restaurants like Remingtons can be double that. Even though the prices were high, the food was very good everywhere we went. If you like spicy, you may be disappointed. We found some things to be bland for our tastes. Overall, we had a great experience at the Oakes and would highly recommend for other couples. If you are a family or are budget minded, I would suggest finding a hotel with a kitchenette or at least a refrigerator. Being able to make a few quick meals will keep you from blowing your budget on food and allow you to afford more attractions. Do Not visit Niagra Falls without going on the Maid of the Mist! There are alot of attractions but I would go back for that alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Prices may vary from place to place on the same souvenirs. The best prices are in the small shops on the side streets at the top of Clifton Hill.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bensalem, PA
Jul 18, 2010

Excellant views, great value

I paid for the Fallsview King Jacuzzi Suite and it was well worth it. We were on the 20th. floor. The view of the falls was breathe taking. We were able to watch the fireworks right out our window. The rooms do not have a refrigerator so I suggest bringing along a small cooler to keep drinks in. One with wheels like I have would be helpful because ice machines are only on the even number floors up to the 12th. floor. (That's a lot of trips up and down the elevator with the ice bucket!) Room service is expensive but the prices are on par with all the local restaurants. After a long car ride, we decided to have dinner at Applebes which is right outside the hotel. We had two beers, one appetizer, and two entrees. The bill was $90. We found this to be the average price for most of the restaurants in the Fallsview area. The more upscale restaurants like Remingtons can be double that. Even though the prices were high, the food was very good everywhere we went. If you like spicy, you may be disappointed. We found some things to be bland for our tastes. Overall, we had a great experience at the Oakes and would highly recommend for other couples. If you are a family or are budget minded, I would suggest finding a hotel with a kitchenette or at least a refrigerator. Being able to make a few quick meals will keep you from blowing your budget on food and allow you to afford more attractions. Do Not visit Niagra Falls without going on the Maid of the Mist! There are alot of attractions but I would go back for that alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Prices may vary from place to place on the same souvenirs. The best prices are in the small shops on the side streets at the top of Clifton Hill.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grass Lake, Michigan
Jul 14, 2010

Wonderful experience!!!!

We arrived and checked into our room...it was a 9th floor room...ok view of the falls...the room smelled of smoke...I called the front desk and they were VERY apologetic. They immediately moved us to the 21st floor (honeymmon suite)...the room was great...the view was spectacular...loved it. We were treated so wonderfully. We cannot wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is so much near by...

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grass Lake, Michigan
Jul 14, 2010

Wonderful experience!!!!

We arrived and checked into our room...it was a 9th floor room...ok view of the falls...the room smelled of smoke...I called the front desk and they were VERY apologetic. They immediately moved us to the 21st floor (honeymmon suite)...the room was great...the view was spectacular...loved it. We were treated so wonderfully. We cannot wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is so much near by...

Back to menu Return to top