Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
View map of 6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Held Hostage because of my car
Business
Rochester, NY
May 10, 2011

The part they dont tell you

[...]The Oaks Hotel charges $15.00 for me to park my car in their parking lot. Had I known this I would have kept my car parked in a public parking lot that I had previously paid $5.00 for all day. For a hotel to sink to the level of charging extra to park a car is ridiculous. We had to share our beautiful view of the falls with a huge spider weaving a web outside our 14th floor window. Im not that afraid of spiders but it did take away from the moment knowing it was there. The coffee pot dribbled coffee all over when we poured coffee into the cups. Youd think that the money they charge to park cars, they could buy a decent coffee pot. It was a piece of junk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ComfortCreature12
Business
Kitchener-Waterloo, ON - Canada
May 2, 2011

Great Location, Great View of Falls!

We arrived in Niagara Falls for a one-night weekend stay to attend a conference and visit with friends within the area. The 'Fallsview' rooms booked (located between floors 9 and 12) had excellent views of both Canadian & American Falls, with 2 queen-sized beds in each non-smoking room, coffee-maker, TV w/pay-per-view movies, iron/board, other usual amenities (hairdryer, complimentary shampoo, etc.) Comfortable & clean rooms but could use some upgrading in furniture, wallpaper and carpeting as well as fan ventilation in bathroom for moisture control (?). However, the staff is excellent: friendly, courteous, efficient and helpful. Overall, I thought a very good room rate for the unbeatable view of one of the world's 7 natural wonders(especially when lit up at night and if you catch the sunrise over the falls)...magnificent pictures as a result! Area tours/attractions materials and planning/booking agent on location in hotel lobby along with bell service. Registered guest on-site parking is additional, payable on checkout (11 am - check-in time is 3 pm or earlier IF room is ready). Ice machines located on even-numbered floors; available pool, whirlpool, exercise area in hotel. Restaurants very near or adjacent to hotel with reasonable prices for this fashionable district. A short drive to Clifton Hill where many attractions (Ripley's, Haunted House, Was Museum, dance club 'Rumours', etc.) are located and only 1 mile to Marineland from hotel. The only thing missing for me was more time to relax, have some fun at attractions in the area... but I/other family members plan on returning for a longer vacation instead of just an overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Applebee's Restaurant adjacent/right next to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls. TGIFriday's directly across street from hotel. A great 'Grand Buffet' (Brunch or Lunch/Dinner) in Fallsview Casino, about 10 min. walk from Oakes hotel with excellent prices for this fashionable area!

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Apr 21, 2011

canada niagara best hotel

outstanding service very good overall. staff friendly and courteous. thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
larry13767
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Mar 20, 2011

so so stay

-hotel has a small lobby, not many amenities there -pool is nice but placed next to lobby which is odd -beautiful view of the falls from that side but you pay a premium for it -staff was pretty distant and not that helpful -lots of complaints from guests in the lobby - much better restaurants in the vicinity, don't bother eating there. - we stayed one night and in the morning there was no hot water and the water was ice cold. staff suggested that we wait for it and it would warm up. Not offers of discounts because my family was not able to take shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fallsview casino is very close

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto. Canada
Mar 18, 2011

Oaks not so great view at all

Hotel was run down and not very clean, hallways did not smell great and roof was leaking on what they call the "courtyard" side.. looked more like an alley. Staff at the front counter was great. Have stayed in much cheaper places with a lot better comforts. Oaks has nothing on super 8 or even motel 6 even they have a fridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington,PA
Mar 14, 2011

Great location and room

Quiet was able to relax and enjoy the view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

like good food

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
linĂ³leo
Business
Sioux City , IA
Mar 9, 2011

The best view of the falls

The view from the room is awesome. In the pictures in internet looks better than it is. It is smoller than the pictures, and it is old. Reception staff not very friendly, seem tired of many tourists. No breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The falls are very close. You too can go to the Casino and many restaurants in the area.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Mar 6, 2011

AVOID - Overpriced, Under Delivers

I stay in lots of hotels as I travel up to 40% of the year. The Oaks Overlooking the Falls is an independently owned hotel in a prime location. Is very close to being the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in... On arrival you are hit-up an extra $15 for parking (not mentioned in advert and not even undercover). There were scuff marks, scratches, broken fittings along the corridors; at least this distracts from the thread bare carpets, low ceilings, and having to carry bags up-stairs. The room was more than dated - decor looked like it came from my grandmothers house when she upgraded 20 years ago. Advertisement stated rooms were fully renovated 5 years ago - more like had some maintenance about 5 years ago but nothing recent. Bathroom fan sounded like a jack-hammer, you can hear your neighbour using the bathroom (even if they don't flush). Technologically speaking the room was dismal. There was no internet (false advertising), and the picture on the TV was fuzzy. Movies on demand are $16 - no thanks. Don't bother complaining - the people working here have heard it all before and will deal with you in an off hand way. Read the rest of the reviews for this place, some seem to have had a good experience - but with the benefit of hindsight the Oaks Overlooking the Falls has more than its fair share of bad press.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Mar 5, 2011

AVOID - Overpriced, Under Delivers

Looks great from the outside. You are welcomed with $15 fee for parking - this is not mentioned on the marketing page... However the internet access that was mentioned is not available in all rooms. The corridors are like mazes - be prepared to carry your bags up several sets of stairs. The carpet and walls are filthy. When you finally get to your room, don't be surprised if your room number is written on a piece of paper stuck to the door - mine was. This sets the expectation for the picture quality on the TV. Dismal. I have never reviewed a hotel before - but felt compelled to review this. Why? I spend at least 30% of my nights in hotels and this is easily the worst. A very disappointing introduction to Canada :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario Canada
Feb 26, 2011

Gastly

I thought all rooms were the same, just different views. I was put in the 'courtyard', though 'dungeon' is a better word. It is not part of the tower. A 'flea bag' hotel is being kind, though I saw no bugs at least. I paid $79 for the room which was $40 too much. The Comfort Inn across the street looked like a palace in comparison. The walls were paper thin, and a neighbours flushing sounded like a freight train. The furniture was very old, the bed uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top