Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2015 Check-out: Feb 13, 2015

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
437 reviews
Great

It was a great expierence, the view was awesome, friendly staff, close to everything. See full review

  • Rene R.
  • Jan 19, 2015
gr8

nice falls view. close to but do keep in mind if you want to use escaltor service there is charge... See full review

  • nileshkumar p.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview

Niagara's boutique style Fallsview hotel, Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls, next door to the Fallsview Casino and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed, and a 14th floor Fallsview observation lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls. The hotel also provides a range of food and drink options to accommodate for guests. Property features a new lobby with pod style check-in, renovated public spaces and rooms, new LED TVs with HD programming in every room and new bedding.

Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a work desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hairdryer, LED TV and Wi-Fi access.
Features

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a boutique destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are newly renovated, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with two on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara offers steaks and seafood served by Canada's only singing servers! There's also an on-site Applebees Grill & Bar for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remingtons of Niagara restaurant is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.

Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview Room - 2 Queen Beds
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Fallsview Suite - 1 King Bed
This newly renovated room overlooks beautiful Niagara Falls. Located on floors 8 through 12, it has floor to ceiling windows of the most magnificent view of the Falls available! These spacious rooms come equipped with two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Traditional Room - 2 Double Beds
A stylish room located in our courtyard section at an amazing value! Enjoy all of the amenities offered at The Oakes Hotel without the Fallsview. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room comes with two double sized beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees.
Falls Side Room - 2 Queen Beds
A newly renovated room with floor to ceiling windows facing towards the Falls. From floors 4 to 7, this room has a view of the Niagara River. All guests have unlimited free access to our 14th floor observation area. This room includes two queen size beds, a sitting area, desk and chair, LED TV with HD programming, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and designer amenities. All rooms at The Oakes Hotel are Non-Smoking. Room service is also available from our on-site Applebees

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is located in the coveted Fallsview tourist area, directly overlooking the thundering Niagara Falls waterfall. Close to: Niagara Fallsview Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Hornblower Cruises - 1 block away Skylon Tower - 1/2 block away Imax Theatre - 1/2 block away Casino Niagara & Clifton Hill tourist area " 0.5km away Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km away

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Remingtons of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara is Niagara's award winning steak and seafood restaurant. Remingtons provides an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remingtons is the ONLY restaurant in canada that features talented singing servers. Try the house specialty slow roasted Prime Rib.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (437)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grass Lake, Michigan
Jul 14, 2010

Wonderful experience!!!!

We arrived and checked into our room...it was a 9th floor room...ok view of the falls...the room smelled of smoke...I called the front desk and they were VERY apologetic. They immediately moved us to the 21st floor (honeymmon suite)...the room was great...the view was spectacular...loved it. We were treated so wonderfully. We cannot wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is so much near by...

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 12, 2010

A Wonderful place to stay!

My boyfriend and I came to Niagara Falls to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was perfect! It was close to the incline, the casino and within walking distance to everything! The hotel staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The next time we visit Niagara Falls, we will definitely stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON
Jul 12, 2010

Not bad

..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 11, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jul 7, 2010

Unimpressed

The view is great if you enjoy a 1/2 view of the Horseshoe Falls. On one occasion housekeeping simply made he beds and emptied the trash. Whiskers from shaving were still around the sink and a cup was still on the floor. When we called the front desk to complain they sent up A MAINTENANCE MAN who announced he was the only one working. Prepare to travel floor to floor looking for ice as the ice machines stayed emptied. If you want any hope of getting a parking space return to the hotel early. We actually went to the Hilton and Sheraton on the Falls to see their rooms which where way nicer and seriously considered moving for the remainder of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the Skylon Tower which is a popular dining attraction because of the view it offers, don't go for the food. There is a observation deck where you can get the view and skip the awful food. There are tons of places to eat where you can't go wrong

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 6, 2010

the Oakes Review

Romms and hallways seems to show the age of the hotel. broken wall paper, room numbers missing. other numbers painted instead of re glue the fallen numbers or what at least buy new number for te rooms. paid a lot or the room, but could not enjoy the falls view , staff did mention I would be little too low on the view, but I didn't know it was going to be that low, all we could see were trees. probably because of the ammount of guess, the staff was little bit on the deffensive side and tlltie bit too short and rude when taking care of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is close to the main attractios, so in that case it is worth the $$$

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, On. Can.
Jul 3, 2010

Great Location Great Price

We booked this hotel on the busiest holiday w/e at a decent rate. It was close to the falls, the casino, the many attractions and restaurants Niagara falls has to offer. We usually book 4 or 5 star hotels but will gladly return to this 3 star hidden gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pwilk2756
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 29, 2010

Great location for the price.

The Oakes Hotel was in a great location. The Hotel was alittle outdated and the hallways needed some serious updating and air conditioning. The rooms were clean. However my bathroom was extremely small. I think we were in the older part of the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk from the Hotel to the Maid of the Mist attraction was a good distance.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bonita Springs
Jun 27, 2010

Hotel Review

The hotel was located in a very picturesque and convenient place, but from the moment we stepped in the door, we felt they had absolutely no interest in us as customers. Any comfort came with a price tag, the check in staff were curt and actually forgot about us in the check in process. There were other hotels in the same area that we would definitely try next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Jun 26, 2010

Great Quality Price

Very nice hotel, close to the falls and everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Keg restaurant

Back to menu Return to top