Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

3 stars
6546 Fallsview Boulevard, Niagara Falls, ON L3G 3W2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
422 reviews
Best View of the Falls

This is the absolute truth and the location could not be better. The hotel staff was friendly and... See full review

  • k white
  • Oct 19, 2014
The Best Hotel Stay

The view was fantastic as advertised and staff cordial and professional. We took advantage of the... See full review

  • Warren and Kathy
  • Oct 3, 2014
Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls in the heart of Fallsview
Luxury meets convenience at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls and a premier Fallsview property. Guest rooms are well appointed with every modern convenience and amenity, and a 14th floor lounge features floor-to-ceiling windows, affording guests incomparable views of the falls, while relaxing in comfortable sofas. The three restaurants at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls provide a range of food and drink options to accommodate any occasion, while ample on-site recreation facilities please both kids and adults.
Highlights
  • Closest hotel to Horseshoe Falls
  • 14th floor lounge offers magnificent views of the falls
  • Indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center with sauna
Rooms
Rooms at the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. Amenities include a sitting area with chairs, a desk, iron/ironing board, clock radio, hair dryer and satellite TV with pay-per-view movies.
 
Features
The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is a luxurious destination hotel with a range of features and amenities. The hotel also is the closest hotel to the Horseshoe Falls. Guest rooms are decorated in luxurious fashion, with many offering breathtaking views of the falls. For fitness and recreation, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna help refresh and rejuvenate, while a fitness center offers cardio and weight stations for maintaining one's regular fitness regimen. An on-site arcade room adds to the fun.

The Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls is associated with three on-site or adjacent restaurants, each offering a distinct flavor and atmosphere, affording guests a range of options to suit any occasion. The award-winning Remington's of Niagara serves steaks and seafood. There’s also Applebee's and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery for casual, family-friendly fare, including breakfast and dessert.

A complimentary shuttle service to and from Remington's of Niagara restaurant (seasonal) is provided by the Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls.
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (29.2 mi/47.1 km)
  • Niagara Falls Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Attractions
  • SkyWheel (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Seneca Niagara Casino (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist Boat Tour (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Niagara Falls State Park (2.5 mi/4 km)

Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls Rooms

Fallsview - 2 Queen Beds
2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and Upper Niagara River.
Fallsview Suite - king bed
One king bed, living room area with a pull out sofa, 2 TV's, jaccuzzi in bath room and floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Canadian Horseshoe Falls, American Falls and the Upper Niagara River.
Courtyard room - 2 double beds
Standard room located in the courtyard section of the hotel with no view of the falls with 2 double beds.
Falls Side - 2 Queen Beds
Two queen beds. Floors 2-8. Floor-to-ceiling windows with a view of the Niagara River. Desk. TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Telephone. Clock radio. Coffeemaker. Hair dryer. Nonsmoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0808 -79.0824
Area served
Toronto, Buffalo, Hamilton, Niagara Falls.
Nearby airports
Pearson Airport (YYZ): Approximate driving time is 1 hour and 30 minutes and distance is 90 km (60 miles).
Area description
Niagara Falls Casino Resort - adjacent right next door to hotel. Maid of the Mist - 1 block Skylon Tower - 1/2 block Imax Theatre - 1/2 block Casino Niagara - 0.5 km (0.25 miles) Greater Niagara General Hospital - 1.5 km (1 mile)

Nearby points of interest

  • Niagara Fallsview Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Skylon Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Queen Victoria Park: 0.5 mi
  • Greg Frewin Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Fallsview Indoor Waterpark: 1 mi
  • Nightmares Fear Factory: 1 mi
  • Bird Kingdom: 1.1 mi
  • Niagara Glen Nature Areas: 3.7 mi
  • Great Wolf Lodge Water Park: 3.9 mi
  • Niagara Parks Botanical Gardens: 4.2 mi
  • Niagara SkyWheel: 107.1 mi

Dining

Applebee's
Located on site. Famous for its friendly and casual atmosphere. Neighbourhood grill and bar is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Perkin's
Located across the street. Perkins offers some of the best breakfast food around at great prices. Perkins is open for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also has an onsite bakery.
Remington's of Niagara
Located 5mins away from the hotel. Remington's of Niagara premier steak and seafood house provides and elegant yet relaxed atmosphere where everyone can dine in comfort. Remington's is the ONLY restaurant that features talented singing servers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (422)

Ratings and reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
422 out of 422
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 9, 2010

Great Location

It was really nice location but extra fee for WiFi, Parking and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aus, TX
Jun 7, 2010

Really Ugly

Don't stay at this hotel.. Bad rooms, smelly, no proper lighting, They also charged for parking... OLD carpet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

NA

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventorous mom
Business
brooklyn, NY
Jun 6, 2010

Great Vacation

The location was great walking distance to the falls,restaurants and all you need. i love the the view from the fallviews 6 floor we saw fireworks and ilumination of the falls at night. room was basic and very clean, tv sucks no too many channels. the food court at the casino next door was very affordable, they told me the casino buffet is great and cheap but you have to be 19 years old; and we were traveling with my daughter thats 5 so we couldnt enjoy. one of my best trip the falls are an amazing creation of God.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

to applebee, tony romas, tgi friday, braza, macarroni, ihop, casino food court and much more.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Jun 2, 2010

Oakes Hotel

The hotel is in a great location, but the building is a little run-down on the exterior and in the corridors and rooms. The lobby is nice and has been updated fairly recently. The staff and reception was just ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is the best aspect of this hotel as it was very close to the falls and the other places we wanted to see.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hartford, ct
Jun 1, 2010

mom

the hotel was not what I expected for the price I payed and the location. the staff was good but the room I did not like. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CHICAGO IL
Jun 1, 2010

Horrible experience. Feeling cheated

We booked FALLSIDE room with extra $60 compared to city view rooms for Sunday Night on Memorial day weekend. When we arrived at Hotel on Sunday Night, staff member provided us room on 2ND Floor saying that's fall side room so that satisfy my booking terms. HOWEVER ON 2ND FLOOR YOU DONT SEE ANYTHING BUT CARS AND TREES. THERE WAS NO FALLS VIEW FROM 2ND FLOOR EVEN THOUGH IT WAS ON FALLSIDE. THIS IS TRICK. THEY WILL TRAP YOU ONLINE SAYING IT IS FALLSIDE BUT WILL GIVE YOU ROOM ON LOWER LEVEL. When I asked to give me same rate of cityview rooms which are less, she refused to co-operate saying I did booking on [...] and not directly with them. THIS IS NOT WE EXPECT When we book our travel plans on leading travel website. COMPLETELY NOT SATISFIED WITH SERVICE WE GOT AT THIS HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

PLEASE CHECK WHAT FLOOR THEY ARE GIVING YOU ROOM EVEN THOUGH YOU BOOK FALLSIDE ROOMS.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
May 28, 2010

Nice location. Not the best room.

The hotel was in a nice location. The rooms were very small. And the hallways and rooms inside the hotel were extremely hot. The room wasn't dirty, but it wasn't spotless. I would have rather paid extra and got a hotel at a hilton or a more well known hotel company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
England and Hong Kong
May 22, 2010

unbeatable view & location for the price

Overall good, but room too hot and there was no proper shower, just a stupid heart shaped bath with hand held shower head. Nowhere to hang towels in the bath room or toilet area. The housekeeping forgot to put coffee mate in the room. Reception good and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josy the Great
Business
Bronx, New York City
May 14, 2010

Perfect location, near all attractions

I wanted to see Niagara Falls for a very long time. I finally booked the trip and went on my own. I truly enjoyed my stay at the Oakes Hotel, the staff was friendly. The pool was a bit small so if you want to make a big splash, this is not the pool for it. They offered no continental breakfast which I think would have been great. This was my first trip to Canada and I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to see Niagara Falls for themselves. This experience is even better when shared with a special someone or your family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the perfect place, you can walk and get on a train rail that takes you down for a very small fee. Once your down there, you can do some sightseeing on your own,shop at the many shops available or purchase one of many great discount packagesavailable to see a few "must see sights" on your trip.

Review of Oakes Hotel Overlooking The Falls

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
May 10, 2010

Potential if problems are fixed

Traveling with family for Mother's Day we were excited about the view from our room. We were quickly dissapointed when one window was cracked and completely fogged over - NO VIEW there. Tried to watch TV but the remote was broken. Went to go swimming and the pool heater was not on and water was freezing. That was fixed by the next morning. Rooms have NO CLOSETS, so no where to hang coats, dresses or suits. Certainly not what I expect for the almost $200/night cost; not even breakfast or newspaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top