Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

3 stars
180 West Georgia St., Vancouver, BC V6B 4P4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
106 reviews
Great place, staff, pool, position

We had an absolutly great stay in this hotel. We got upgraded to a slightly better room (the first... See full review

  • aniahill
  • Nov 27, 2014
Great stay

its so great . The staff are very hospitable. it's good location. See full review

  • roel
  • Apr 28, 2014
Downtown spot near theaters and stadiums with on-site dining, nightlife

Stunning views, dramatic theater, and exciting sports surround this comfortable, well-decorated downtown hotel. Mountain, city, and ocean views grace nearly every suite. Sports fans appreciate that GM Place Arena and BC Place Stadium are within walking distance. Theater buffs can walk to a performance at Queen Elizabeth Theatre or Vancouver Playhouse. Because Moxies Classic Grill, M Bar Lounge and Shark Club Sports Bar & Grill are all on-site, a good meal for breakfast, lunch or dinner is never far off. High-speed Internet access is also available.

Highlights
  • Great location to catch a game or a play
  • Comfort food for every taste at on-site Moxies Classic Grill
  • High speed Internet access available
Rooms

Guest rooms are nicely decorated, often offer stunning views, and include all the amenities a traveler needs to feel at home. The designated corporate tower, with a selection of suites that include kitchenettes, is perfect for business travelers in Vancouver for an extended stay. Guests enjoy complimentary in-room coffee and tea, access to the fitness center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply).

Features

Guests are well taken care of here. Great food, a pool and Jacuzzi, and a fitness center are all on-site. This is a great location to tap into the excitement and natural beauty of Vancouver. Walk to a game at BC Place Stadium. Head up trendy Robson Street for shopping and dining. Go for dinner and a play at Queen Elizabeth Theatre. Capilano Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park, and Grouse Mountain are all great day trips from this central location.

 

Guests are welcome to use the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, or take advantage of the equipment and personal training staff in the fitness center. Meeting and banquet facilities are available for up to 250 people.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (14.6 mi/9.1 mi)
  • Skytrain, Granville Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
Attractions
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (1 block)
  • BC Place Stadium (2 blocks)
  • Robson Street shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (5.8 mi/ 9.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250 people available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre Rooms

Standard Double
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Double Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Corporate King
Corporate Tower, Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Sitting Area, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard Queen
North Tower, Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.
Standard 2 Doubles
North Tower, Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Private Bathroom, Air Conditioning, Heating Unit, Alarm Clock Radio, Coffee Maker, Free Coffee and Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Free High Speed Internet, TV, Telephone, Voice Mail, Work Desk and Chair, Business Centre, Fitness Facility, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Parking Facility, Restaurant.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2792 -123.1131
Area served
Vancouver, Burnaby, Gastown, Granville Island, North Vancouver, Richmond, Kitsilano, Surrey, Whistler
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport YVR
Area description
Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver. Close to shopping, tourist attractions and corporate offices.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An event at Sandman is a one-stop worry-free experience. Whether you're a group of 3 or 200 we can accommodate almost any function from all-day corporate seminars to weddings and group socials. Our experienced meeting planners will guide you through the many options available and personalize a package to suit your needs.

Dining

M-Bar Lounge
Cool & Classic. The perfect place to relax and enjoy the modern ambience over martini's and cocktails. Enjoy our wide screen, flat panel TV's while relaxing on our soft leather chairs. Website: www.moxies.ca
Moxie's Grill & Bar
Classic dining in a contemporary upscale atmosphere, complete with dark wood interior. Enjoy fabulous food in an upbeat, stylish environment. Website: www.moxies.ca
Shark Club Sports Bar Grill
Hottest sports bar in Vancouver. Popular choice for game nights, dinner and drinks, or dancing the night away. Amazing West Coast cuisine, sports entertainment, live DJ's, pool tables, big screen TV's. Website: www.sharkclubs.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristieAnne
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Good hotel but be prepared!

I recently stayed here on a business trip. I read the previous reviews so I was aware that may be some noise issues. I was not right next to the elevators, but was not that far. However, I was there the night of a hockey game - which is cool, because it is right next to the hotel! It is an extremely lively area before hockey games and literally EVERY person at the hotel is there for a game! So, you can imagine it is a little rowdy. I could hear constant conversations on the night of the game, including lots of screaming and cheering fans through the night until about midnight. That being said, I would definitely stay here again! Although the noise did live up to all of the reviews' warnings, the hotel location made up for it. I walked everywhere, including two different SkyTrain stations. The lobby of the hotel was recently redone and looks nice, with crystal chandeliers and a nice seating area. The area is also extremely safe, a concern of mine since I was traveling alone. Also, Moxie's, which is in the lobby, is fun during the hockey games to grab a beer and people watch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown-Stadium SkyTrain station is about a 5 min walk from the hotel. There is an Asian grocery market right when you get off where they have AWESOME sushi to choose from and take to-go! The deserts there are awesome, too. Plus, if you stop by around 8pm, they are marking down the daily items so you can get a good deal!

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BlakesMom
Business
Marysville, WA
Nov 28, 2014

I expected more

The room was very small, the sheets had yellow stains on them, housekeeping came right up and changed them but it made me question the cleanliness of the entire room. The heat/AC did not work in the room. The Wi-Fi was very poor, only 1 bar and it kept disconnecting. Could not use the wifi at all. over all a very disappointing experience, it kind of ruined my trip :-(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gastown definitely for shopping and dining

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aniahill
Business
Bournemouth, UK
Nov 27, 2014

Great place, staff, pool, position

We had an absolutly great stay in this hotel. We got upgraded to a slightly better room (the first one was nice) as we were staying for 2 weeks. The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. We had the pool to ourselves almost every day. The location was great for walking everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lysie
Business
Everett wa
Nov 23, 2014

sandman hotel

We were only there for one night and although overall our experience was good there were a few things i had a problem with. Number 1 issue that i had is the parking... we drove up from washington to stay here by the time we got there all we wanted to do was get out of the car... but on top of having to pay 20 dollars for 1 night of parking it took us over 20 minites to even find a spot in there packed full terribly designed parking area. Number 2 problem though not as frustrating as the first is the upkeep on the rooms... the bathroom trim was cracked and dirty and parts of the wall in the room were peeling. The staff was nice and the location was excellent but i don't think we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BIL A
Business
vancouver Island
Nov 20, 2014

Great concert getaway

Very comfortable clean hotel. Check in could have used more staff. Sharks club has been closed the last 3 times I have stayed there. Whats up with that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elaine lee
Business
Taipei
Nov 15, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

good location, good value, nice price I would stay in the hotel again next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor to Vancouver
Business
Boston MA
Oct 24, 2014

Nice solid hotel

The Sandman Vancouver Center is located downtown only a block from the SkyTrain so is easily accessible from anywhere in the city. Not fancy, but a nice, clean, basic hotel at a reasonable price. The restaurant-bar, Moxie's, is also a good deal with many different types of food at reasonable prices and excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JtotheJ
Business
Columbus
Oct 12, 2014

Good hotel for business

I don't know why people stay in there room while on vacation. If you're one of those people don't stay here. It's small but if your one of those people save your self some money and sit on your patio instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Vancouver's Ramin triangle.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Uncle
Business
Santa Ana, California
Oct 8, 2014

Good Location

I don't think I could stay in a more convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler from KC
Business
Kansas City
Sep 29, 2014

Great location

Close to metro station and public transit. In addition, it is only a few blocks from Gastown where there are many bars and resturants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

See Robson street and Denman street.

Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jimmyneab
Business
Vancouver, BC
Sep 19, 2014

very convenient for the price

Great location, it is a good price for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson Street

Back to menu Return to top