Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 3, 2014

The Reefs

4 stars
56 South Shore Rd, Southampton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
33 reviews
Wonderful time at The Reefs

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach is perfect. The views are incredible. The... See full review

  • Kam1333
  • Jul 14, 2013
PARADISE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We had the time of our lives at the reefs. The staff is wonderful. The room was perfect ! Every... See full review

  • Jeanne Marie The Blessed
  • Jun 29, 2013
Cliffside resort in an unparalleled Bermuda setting

The Reefs, welcoming guests since 1947, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality in a setting of unparalleled beauty. The pink-and-white buildings of the cliffside resort, set amid a palm tree-dotted slope brightened by hibiscus, oleander, and bougainvillea, overlooks a pink-sand beach. The resort boasts an infinity pool and an award-winning spa.

Highlights

  • Gorgeous cliff-to-beach setting
  • Modern amenities in a resort with an old-world feel
  • Restaurant and award-winning spa

Rooms

All rooms have a balcony or terrace and an ocean view. Other features include one king or two twin beds with alarm clock, bathrobe, cable television, air conditioning and ceiling fan, hair dryer, high-speed Internet access, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, safe, and coffee maker. One- to four-bedroom cottages, some with hot tubs, are also available.

Features

The cliff-top Ocean Echo restaurant serves breakfast through dinner eatery year-round. Dark wood and candlelight give a more elegant feel to Royston's, where guests enjoy steaks and seafood cooked in an open kitchen. Coconuts beach restaurant offers lunch and dinner with the ocean at diners' feet.

 

La Serena spa specializes in Thai massage and offers a full menu of luxury services ranging from reflexology to facials. Pedicures, manicures, and other treatments use herbal products from Gehwol.

 

Other on-site amenities include a gift shop, gym, plunge pool, safe deposit box, pool, and tennis court.

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (13.5 mi/21.8 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda 
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Scooter and bicycle rentals are also popular

Nearby attractions

  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Crystal Caves (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

Business

  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 25
  • Dedicated event specialists

Policies and fees

  • The evening dress code at The Reefs Hotel & Club is smart casual for all ages (collared shirts and slacks). 
  • Inappropriate attire includes blue jeans, t-shirts, baseball caps, sneakers and flip flops.
  • The children's policy requests that families with children 6 years and younger and children who may find it difficult to sit through an evening meal dine before 7 p.m. 
  • From May through August, the pool will be closed from 5 to 7 p.m. to children 12 and younger.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Reefs Rooms

Poolside
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.
Superior
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.
Deluxe
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reefs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.249 -64.8393
Area served
Southampton.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport.
Area description
Southampton.

Dining

Ocean Echo
Ocean Echo has a distinctly Bermudian feel and offers 180¢ª sweeping ocean views and terrace dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily from a menu highlighting items that have become famous in Bermuda.
Royston
Royston's has the feel of casual elegance with a large fireplace and a display kitchen. Royston¡¯s features a wine room enriched with Mahogany décor that may be booked exclusively for private parties. The ambiance stays true to the traditions of Bermudian hospitality. Dinner is served nightly with attentive and warm service to enhance the experience. Coconuts, by the beach and overlooking the ocean, is cited as the ¡°best place to fall in love in Bermuda.¡± Featuring Caribbean dishes with Bermudian accents, Coconuts is open for lunch from April to November and dinner from May to November. Couples also can opt for dinner on The Reefs private pink sand beach, the island¡¯s most romantic dining experience beneath the stars, complete with tiki torches and the rhythm of the waves.
Coconuts
Open seasonally for an al fresco lunch or dinner - and make sure the breathtaking views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for The Reefs

Overall score

4.2 / 5
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
Susie Grandma
Massapequa Park, NY
Sep 20, 2012

Quiet Time

Fantastic - beautiful beaches and inviting ocean with snorkling & swimming. Very peaceful & restful! Wonderful service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Henry VIII

Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
kranknhank
new york
Aug 31, 2012

Bermuda at is best

My wife and I had a cliffside room with kingbed. We took pictures of the room because it was so nice. The hotel is first class and their staff treated you like such.The hotel and rooms situated on a cliff provided great views without alot of sea noise. The breakfast was always hot and good with a large selection buffet. We ate at two of the three restaurants,Coconuts and Ocean Echo,Delicious with waterfront dining. If you want to feel first class go here! Dont forget Tea time bet.4 and 5.My wife thought the set of showers near the beach were available to use after you checked out was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Oleanders moped rental is right across the street just for The Reefs,Do Bermuda on a moped or two to get the full bermuda experience!

Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
kranknhank
new york
Aug 31, 2012

classy hotel for couples and families.

This hotel is the Bermuda experience. Colorful buildings,excellent smiling staff,a view you never tire of and quality abounds. I have been to Bermuda many times and will be back to the reefs. I had a satisfying feeling every day from breakfast to snorkeling to the bed turned down at nite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a moped its the only way to do Bermuda

Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
Emily K
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 27, 2012

Romantic Bermuda Getaway

Overall we were very happy with our stay at the Reefs! It was our first time in Bermuda and we were quite impressed. Pros: Fantastic views from our poolside room and patio; friendly and helpful staff; convenient and beautiful beach steps from our room; great breakfast; convenient location Cons: Bathroom was outdated; cleaning staff only did an "ok" job and often our room wasn't cleaned until very late in the afternoon; Food was only "so-so"- better at Coconuts than Roystons We would definitely recommend dinner at least some of the nights off site at some of the other restaurants in the area. Overall, we had a wonderful time-- would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
In Bermuda for Wedding
Virginia
Aug 14, 2012

The Reefs were Great!

This was our first trip to Bermuda, and we found this hotel to be excellent. The staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Keep in mind that many shops on the island are closed on Sunday. Make sure you review your 'must-dos' and know that the stores are open during that time.

Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
Jeff ATL
Atlanta
Aug 7, 2012

Anniversary getaway

Great stay for a long weekend. Room AC could not get a cool as we Americans like. No AC in bathroom was not good. Meals were excellent, but expensive. Hard to spend less than $200 for dinner for 2, $60 for lunch. Beach is spectacular. Great snorkeling on reefs just off shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the water taxi just for the ride. $4 per person and a great ride.

Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
Tlitt
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2012

Best hotel for it's value in Bermuda

Great service, quiet setting, remote beautiful beach and the cliff views are one of a kind! Renovated bathrooms are perfect and the views are unforgettable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to eat at Coconuts and Roystons, skip Ocean's Echo

Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
Whild
Toronto, ON, Canada
Apr 14, 2012

Great getaway

Low key relaxed atmosphere. Great food. Staff are amazing and remember you name and your drink after the first day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
pevvy
Massachusetts, USA
Mar 26, 2012

fun in paradise

We felt totally welcomed and comfortable at this hotel. There was really no reason to leave the compound as everything was provided right here. Snorkeling was perfect, food was awesome and surroundings unbelievably beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

definitely use the mopeds...challenging on the left hand side of the road, but you can't beat the experience. And, keeps you from waiting for a bus. Though the bus system works well.

Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
Bermuda Blissed
Oakton, VA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

The Reefs was incredible!

The view from our room was truly spectacular. We were transported into heavenly paradise from the moment we arrived at the Reefs. We were graciously welcomed by the staff, immediately treated to a Swizzle (famous fruity Bermudan rum drink) and given a tour of the beautiful facility. Our room was tastefully decorated- modern and comfortable- but the room size was small. Fine for two adults on a short excursion, but would have been tight if we had brought more luggage. Breakfast (included in our package) was deliciously prepared and it was nice to start the day with a hearty meal that kept us going until dinner. The private beach, pool and whirlpool were wonderful (see photos- need I say more?). Relaxing on our private lanai with a novel, overlooking the ocean, was also delightful. The spa within the Reefs easily accommodated my husband and I, around our plans, for a couples massage that was blissful. I would highly recommend asking the concierge for help booking a jet ski tour of the western end of the island: tons of fun and gorgeous views from the water. The Reefs is right on the southern bus route, so it was easy to hop a ride to wherever we needed to go (daily unlimited bus pass is just $12). This made travel economical and safe- I was leery of the local drivers with clueless tourists on motor scooters. Dinner on Friday night at the Reefs was lovely. Besides the heavenly views from the dining room, we were treated to scrumptious seafood meals. It was a prix fixe menu for $64 per person plus drinks, including a salad course, appetizer course and dessert. Not cheap, but it was a fine meal and the service was fantastic. This was a lovely couples get away, but I'm not sure the Reefs would be ideal for young children or families, unless there are some suites or larger rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Barnes Corner bus to the Waterlot for a jet ski tour of the western side of Bermuda. You can easily catch this bus in front of the Reefs to go here. Tours go out several times each day. Besides the thrill of the jet ski, you get great views of Bermuda and a chance to feed fish near a half submerged ship wreck. Awesome adventure!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search

Hotel Map