Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
381 reviews
Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally... See full review

  • Alex IT Guru
  • Sep 11, 2014
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical d├ęcor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (381)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB2012
Boston, MA
Mar 24, 2012

Clean, inviting, and great grounds!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The beach onsite is clean and well maintained. The room view was wonderful, although the room itself needs some updating, but clean and spacious. The pool bar & grill was closed while I was there, and the climb up the stairs to the main house is definitely a work out! But, for me I enjoyed the extra exercise. the cave on site is great, & much better than the Crystal caves down the st. Location is close to airport, good for short trips, but I needed to take many long bus rides to get to the beautiful beaches on the west end, and 1/2 hr bus ride to hamilton. It is a little far away from everything. The prices for food and drink are very steep, so either opt for all-inclusive, or go to hamilton supermarket and buy snacks & sandwiches. Although it was tasty. Don't bother w internet, is pricey and dosen't work in the room. All in all, will probably return if visiting Bermuda for short time and want to be close to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fridge in room, so stock up on food and bottled water to cut costs, the hamilton supermarket is great place for that.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidJjj
New Hampshire
Sep 29, 2014

Great all around place

A very nice place at a reasonable price. Beach, pool, bar, spa, etc. Very close to bus stop. Second time there and we would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is a 5 minute walk and a must visit.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let's go Nets
NJ
Sep 24, 2014

I'd stay there again

close to the airport, and the bus stop is right outside the resort. nicely maintained resort with very friendly staff. the only dissatisfaction is that the bathroom is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Mogayzel
Cumberland, RI
Sep 19, 2014

Anniversary

This was my third visit to this hotel and our Anniversary. We requested the same room category as the past two visits and were very disappointed with the room we were given. The room was the furthest away, a soda and ice machine was located outside our door and our rug was frayed. We requested a room change, twice. We put in an request to have the rug repaired so we would not trip, twice. Our requests were not granted. After such a lovely visit the first time I decided to go back. The second visit was just as pleasant. We do plan to visit Bermuda for our next Anniversary but we are not sure we will stay at the Grotto for a fourth visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Coopers Nature Preserve is a must see!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex IT Guru
New York, New York
Sep 11, 2014

Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally clean and the view from our balcony was heavenly! Can I upload a picture? Definitely going again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter so you can zip around and enjoy the island. Beaches are free but the best ones are alittle far so rent a scooter and you will not be disappointed.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malene
New Jersey
Sep 1, 2014

great for young families and grandparents!

The check in process only took only ten minutes, then after confirmation the bell captain whisk our bags away to our room; when we opened the door to our room my husband and I were both taken back by the view, our private balcony, and welcome package of one bottle of cold water and pretty cellophane wrapped giant chocolate chip cookies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the surf and turf night was nice but not worth $80! We ate as much lobster we could, delicious. it rained hard for about 10 minutes where the manager and staffed rushed to get towels for the floor while musicians kept playing. The music stopped at exactly 9:29 pm just while people were starting to dance; guests started to trickle out after music stopped.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hart county
georgia
Aug 16, 2014

just all around great experience

really enjoyed the comfortable lobby for evenings with a book or wifi and a beverage of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy the bus/ferry pass for multiple day use

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gibberly
Edmond, OK
Aug 12, 2014

Great beach getaway

The resort is located on a wonderful beach. The sand is clean and the water is calm since it is on a bay. There are no waves here. A couple of small shipwrecks (maybe pontoon boats?) are located just off the beach. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. Food at the hotel restaurants is outstanding, with the fish and steaks being some of the best we've had on the island. Rooms are relatively spartan, but clean. They have nice, well kept tennis courts staffed by the very friendly resident pro who also plays on the Davis Cup team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Hole park is located about a 1/4 mile away. It is a forest/jungle that boasts many trails to explore, secluded inland lagoons with cliffs for swimming and jumping, and caves that you can explore and swim in. We've been here in June and August. August can be rainy since it is the beginning of wet season.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Bee 1198
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This is a great place for children because the bay/ocean was extremely calm. We didn't have to worry about a wave washing them away. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Most rooms have an ocean view. This hotel is also great for couples. There were many couples staying as well as families. We did the all inclusive plan which is a good value. I would definitely recommend the Grotto Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Enchanted Honeymooners
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Honeymoon

The staff was very attentive and the amenities were perfect. The pool area was very clean and the beach was picture perfect. The water was a beautiful, clear turquoise and we heartedly recommend the couples massage in the resort's grotto. The location can't be beat. The resort is minutes away from the airport. Don't forget to take a walk down the road to the Swizzle Inn and enjoy one of their signature drinks. We can't wait to return to celebrate our one year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a 3 day bus pass and go to St. George. The perfumes are a good value.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate1031
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 24, 2014

Relaxing Getaway

Had a very relaxing stay at Grotto Bay. Great environment and pleasant staff. Would definitely stay here on my next visit to Bermuda!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Swizzle Inn!!

Back to menu Return to top