Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
532 reviews
Family Fun

Our visit to the establishment was a great great time See full review

  • Karen Fun Mom
  • Apr 29, 2014
Family Fun

We had a wonderful time, you made our stay wonderful. Thank you See full review

  • Karen Fun Mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical d├ęcor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (532)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
532 out of 532
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB2012
Boston, MA
Mar 24, 2012

Clean, inviting, and great grounds!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The beach onsite is clean and well maintained. The room view was wonderful, although the room itself needs some updating, but clean and spacious. The pool bar & grill was closed while I was there, and the climb up the stairs to the main house is definitely a work out! But, for me I enjoyed the extra exercise. the cave on site is great, & much better than the Crystal caves down the st. Location is close to airport, good for short trips, but I needed to take many long bus rides to get to the beautiful beaches on the west end, and 1/2 hr bus ride to hamilton. It is a little far away from everything. The prices for food and drink are very steep, so either opt for all-inclusive, or go to hamilton supermarket and buy snacks & sandwiches. Although it was tasty. Don't bother w internet, is pricey and dosen't work in the room. All in all, will probably return if visiting Bermuda for short time and want to be close to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fridge in room, so stock up on food and bottled water to cut costs, the hamilton supermarket is great place for that.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanie the Cougar
MA
Jul 16, 2014

Long Weekend Getaway

Room was very clean, staff helpful and friendly, restaurant food excellent...what more could I ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bus was easy and convenient to St. George.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
World Traveler from NYC
New Yawk!
Jul 12, 2014

Great location, depending on what you are looking for.

Great location if you want to be near the east end of Bermuda including St. George's and the Swizzle Inn. Only 25 mins by bus to town for a night out. Also, near airport, Swizzle Inn, Bailey's ice cream, and short bus ride to grocery shopping since there was a fridge in the room (all food is insanely expensive on island). Stood here twice so far. Would have been better if I didn't have a ground floor suite (with the sliding glass facing the lawn and the water). Gorgeous views, but occasionally people would walk across the private lawn, ruining privacy from the ground floor terrace or inside your room (there is no thin privacy veil across that can cover the sliding glass windows from the inside- only the thick blackout curtains.) Room needs some minor upgrades like new carpet, new bathroom door handles, basic handyman stuff. I didn't travel here to stay in the hotel room, but after 8 hours on the beaches and scootering around I wanted some peace and quiet with privacy, and didn't exactly get it here because of the lack of the privacy veil and the paper thin walls. I would definitely stay here again as long as I got a top floor suite that didn't face the pool area. I didn't come to Bermuda to hear furniture moving across the sleight floors (rug only underneath bed area). I mean, put some rubber soles on the bottom of the chairs already. Beds and pillows were probably most comfortable I've been on in any hotel anywhere. A/C was more than adequate in July. Minor improvements could have made this trip amazing. Probably best for families with pool and beach. You will definitely need unlimited bus passes as many buses are right adjacent to property and run frequently (a big bonus!) unless you are getting a scooter (plenty of free parking). Forget about taxis, you'll be broke. Not close to south shore famous beaches, but I went for the secluded beaches that few people visit and snorkeling. Staff needs retraining too. Not much, but definitely some serious discussions. Minor bad attitudes and staff bad mouthing each other, some slow service (which is the norm in Bermuda- after all you are on vacation). Bell staff and Housekeeping staff were amazing. Front desk was pretty good too. Dining area staff and poolside staff needed help. What bothers me about this place more than anything is that its just ok (bordering on good).... when it could be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get an unlimited bus pass (concierge will sell to you) if you are staying more than a day or 2. Bus stop is right outside the hotel and will take you within a short walk of most major things you'll want to do. Unlimited pass also includes all ferries. 4 bus lines stop at Grotto bay and most bus drivers are extremely friendly. Bus service here is not like NY or America. Its clean and polite, so you better say good morning. Also tell the bus driver where you are getting off so they can call it out for you. Its a long ride to Dockyard any way you try to get there so get the ferry schedule too. Take a taxi to and from the airports though. Its less than $10 each way for 2 people. And best of all... US customs/immigration is at the airport in Bermuda :) on the way out.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bermuda Biker Chick
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 10, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

My husband and I have stayed at Grotto Bay several times now and we love it. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the food is excellent. Going all inclusive is well worth it and includes bus passes and rentals from the dive shop next store. Because the hotel is in the bay the water is calm and excellent for swimming, kayaking, and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the Crystal Caves from Grotto Bay. There's a walking path and it only takes about 15 minutes.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chinck
Cold Spring, NY 10516, USA
Jun 18, 2014

Quick stay..airport friendly

Great for it's really close location to airport, so you can start your vacation faster. But for those that have never been to Bermuda, it is a trek to experience how fabulous this island is....this is a very basic hotel. Inside bar not open during the day. So if you wish a beverage, you must walk allllll the way down to the beach bar. And as a side note, there is no wait service for drinks or good by the pool or beach. I have never stayed at a resort in Bermuda that did not have wait service in their pool areas. Food was ok. Rooms were adequate. Aside from the 2 roaches we killed in bath room. Do not even think of asking for an early check in. Won't happen... It's 3 pm and that's it. Afraid I will not stay here again. As a side note, the entire staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve D 913
New York, NY
Jun 16, 2014

nice property! good value!

My stay at Grotto exceeded expectations. The property is fairly expansive and is a bit of a hike up & down the hill from the main building to the beach & pool areas. But everything is clean and well maintained. The pool is heated and decent size. The beach area & water is very clean, although you are on the bay, not the ocean. There is 1 hot tub, but is was a bit busted, there was a hole in the sitting area, in which all the pressure of the jacuzzi was going through. The caves on the property, and also the Crystal & Fantasy caves are a nice attraction. Also just a 5 minute walk to the Swizzle Inn. The room was clean and had a nice terrace over-looking the bay. The walls seemed a bit thin, as we was able to hear conversations from the next room. Luckily they seemed to go to bed about the same time as we did. Most of the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. Food was pretty good, but expensive, as is most of Bermuda. Located only 5 minutes from the airport, but you are 20 minutes away from St. George, and 30 minutes from Hamilton (by bus). But there are several bus lines that stop right in from of the property entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tried all the other names
North Carolina
Jun 13, 2014

Beautiful island, nice facility

This is a nice resort and I would recommend it to others. The food is very expensive, as was all of Bermuda, but not of the greatest quality. For us, we will likely stay in another part of the island that isn't quite as isolated. But, if you just want to go to a nice resort and stay there...this is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Recently Widowed
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This hotel is very accommodating and comfortable. It is a little too far from Hamilton but close to St. George. The only complaint I have is their lack of a breakfast choice. Either you buy the all inclusive which is $22.00 per day for breakfast or you can eat from a small breakfast bar of selected cereals, bagels, muffins, toast and coffee which are each individually priced. Sometimes you feel like having a little more than a muffin but not an entire buffet. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy the bus passes at the Bus Terminal in Hamilton and you will save money.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ww29
Boston, MA
May 29, 2014

Consistent with Expectations

This was our fourth trip to Grotto Bay; as usual, it was consistent with expectations. Somewhat removed on the East side of the island, it offered plenty to do and see with easy access to Hamilton via scooter, taxi or dependable public transport. The proximity to the airport has never been a factor but allows for a quick taxi ride coming and going. Food at the resort, though somewhat expensive, as in all of the island, was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YuriyN
NJ, USA
May 10, 2014

Perfect location

We had 3 days staying here in the beginning of March 2014 with the main purpose to explore islands. This resort was the best option to do that because it has very good location: 5 mins from airport, 15 mins from St George's and 30 mins from Hamilton (bus stop just near the gate). The staff was very helpful in assist in our planning. Resort territory is not very large but cosy with nice views on the ocean. The caves on-site are very cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heatha03109
Manchester NH
May 8, 2014

Grotto Great!

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. We live in the city so we want to stay in peace. This is peaceful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must visit Swizzle Inn just up the street.

Back to menu Return to top