Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
416 reviews
Great experience

Bermuda was beautiful. The hotel was so relaxing and clean. Loved the on site caves even aloud to... See full review

  • Spyro K.
  • Apr 26, 2015
Nice hotel across causeway from airport and near bus stop

Good location just across the mile or so causeway from the airport. Sometimes available as very... See full review

  • Kenneth I.
  • Apr 26, 2015
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB2012
Boston, MA
Mar 24, 2012

Clean, inviting, and great grounds!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The beach onsite is clean and well maintained. The room view was wonderful, although the room itself needs some updating, but clean and spacious. The pool bar & grill was closed while I was there, and the climb up the stairs to the main house is definitely a work out! But, for me I enjoyed the extra exercise. the cave on site is great, & much better than the Crystal caves down the st. Location is close to airport, good for short trips, but I needed to take many long bus rides to get to the beautiful beaches on the west end, and 1/2 hr bus ride to hamilton. It is a little far away from everything. The prices for food and drink are very steep, so either opt for all-inclusive, or go to hamilton supermarket and buy snacks & sandwiches. Although it was tasty. Don't bother w internet, is pricey and dosen't work in the room. All in all, will probably return if visiting Bermuda for short time and want to be close to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fridge in room, so stock up on food and bottled water to cut costs, the hamilton supermarket is great place for that.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spyro K.
Business
Flushing
Apr 26, 2015

Great experience

Bermuda was beautiful. The hotel was so relaxing and clean. Loved the on site caves even aloud to swim in them. AWESOME must see beaches at finally opened after many years military base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenneth I.
Business
North Granby
Apr 26, 2015

Nice hotel across causeway from airport and near bus stop

Good location just across the mile or so causeway from the airport. Sometimes available as very good package deals. Convenient access to bus stops (one at end of driveway and the other directly across the street depends whether you are headed towards St. George or Hamilton) tokens and passes available at front desk. Beach on property, an interesting cave, and nice views. Room had comfortable bed, working TV with cable, small fridge, view across causeway to airport but no airport noise problems. Staff friendly. Room kept clean. Walk to blue hole park, and a couple of mini-marts plus a couple of restaurants. Restaurant on premises also although didn't try. Would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spyro K.
Business
Flushing
Apr 25, 2015

Beautiful vacation

The hotel was incredible, the rooms were colorful and comfortable. We loved the fact that the hotel had natural caves on the property and we got to swim in the caves. Must visit military base beaches among the best on the island. BERMUDA was an enjoyment!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Bagg hagan
Business
Falmouth
Apr 10, 2015

Great Getaway

Quick trip from Boston and the hotel was minutes from the airport. We were poolside by noon and had a very enjoyable stay. Everyone was very friendly and courteous. Great location and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vernon B.
Business
Newtown
Apr 9, 2015

Graet vacation!

The hotel was 1st situated close to the airport, thus very convenient. A great family resort, well maintained facility and grounds. The staff was very friendly and the service was superb. We plan to return sometime in the near future. The only draw back is the food menu which was the same every day for 5 days. But this can be compensated for the great restaurants off campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I travel now
Business
Bellerose
Apr 6, 2015

Family Vacation

The heated pool is non-existent. I was there for 7 days and heard everyday that they were fixing it. The hot tub is dated and could use a daily cleaning. Those were the only issues I had with the place. The food was good, my room was clean and the staff was superb. I would definitely go back if they fix the heated pool. I was very disappointed that me and my son could not go swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandon Newport
Business
NEWPORT BEACH
Mar 26, 2015

Excellent Stay All Around

Great value for price. Immensely enjoyed the stay quiet hotel with great amenities. 99 of staff I encountered were patient and knowledgeable and more than willing to assist. Exchanges of money(ie bus tokens) at front desk felt uncomfortable like my money was fake and was trying to cheat them over a couple dollars-just a minor note. Location is outside of Hamilton but it was a convenient 20 mins, and 10 min bus rides to St.Georges. Daily tea time was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Krista D.
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Beautiful Resort

This past week my boyfriend and I stayed at the Grotto Bay Beach Resort for a nice getaway from the horrible Boston weather. Amenities: When we arrived, we were blown away by the beauty of this resort. It is located around the the limestone caves in Blue Hole Hill. There was even a cave attached to the hotel that we could explore for free. The heated pool was refreshing. The jacuzzi was cozy and tucked away behind trees. The beach itself was well maintained even though the water was chilly for this time of year. Room: Our room was splendid and the view was even better. We checked in expecting an ocean view but they upgraded us to an ocean front! It was a wonderful surprise! There was a mini fridge, which we used for snacks and beer. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The room was well worth it! Food: The food was our only complaint. My boyfriend (a chef) and myself have worked in the food industry for the past few years so we are always critical when "eating out". We ate breakfast through the breakfast package for the five days we stayed. Most of the breakfast was not seasoned. I had the scrambled eggs and they were tasteless lacking salt and pepper. My boyfriend felt like the bacon and sausage had no flavor. The best eats at breakfast were the assortments of fruit and the many different flavors of yogurt. Lastly, the take out pizza was not good. We were disappointed with the doughiness of the pizza and the fact it cost $27! My boyfriend is insisting that the pizza here is garbage. The pizza at the Swizzle Inn is a third of the price and was delicious! Service: Everyone that works at the resort is knowledgable and friendly. For us, the stand out employee was Patricia. She was absolutely amazing. During our stay my boyfriend clipped his knee on a rock in a cove so he had to get stitches/go to the hospital twice/crutch around the island. (All in all it was a total fiasco but we made the best of it.) Patricia was there for us throughout the entire situation. The day of the incident, the hospital did not provide crutches and my boyfriend started to bleed on the steps of the hotel. There was blood everywhere. That night we were both very upset with the hospital and the fact that my boyfriend got hurt on vacation. Patricia immediately got on the phone with the hospital and used her connections to contact the Chief of the Emergency Room. This was HUGE. It made the next morning hospital visit much better. Patricia went out of her way to find a cane until we were able to get crutches. She even comforted us and came to our room twice for assistance. She kept making sure that we were ok and to tell us that we were in good hands. She got us a free dinner that night as well. Patricia went above and beyond with her service. Out of all the kindness we encountered on the island, Patricia surpassed them all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLS1
Business
N/A
Mar 15, 2015

Beatiful view

We arrived and wanted a king size bed and front office staff were able to do this for us. We were on the first floor and had a view of the bay and a very old bridge crossing the causeway to airport. No noise from airport which was a 5 minutes taxi drive away. The pool was heated and there is hot tub, exercise room and tennis courts. The bus is about 100 feet from entrance of resort. Buses come every 15 minutes until 6PM then every 30 minutes until 11PM. Swizzle Inn is a 5 minute walk up the road and the Jamaican Grill carry out is a 20 minute walk. Great food at both places. Bermuda has many small coves that are fun to explore. The water is turquoise and you can see it from almost anywhere on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen V.
Business
Columbia
Feb 18, 2015

Nice get Away

Located on the bus route, nice grounds, friendly staff, great food. Wifi unreliable. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top