Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton, 0

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
39 reviews
Incredibly Amazing Experience

We not only had fun with the 10k run we participated but had a heavenly and restful experience in... See full review

  • Bonnie Lou M.
  • Jan 23, 2016
Birthday Celebration

My stay at the resort was amazing!!!!!! My expectations were completely exceeded... The front desk... See full review

  • TMoney
  • Sep 10, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort in Hamilton, Bermuda, overlooks the beautiful blue water of Bailey's Bay. With its own private beach, pool with swim-up bar, hot tub, on-site underground caverns and lush gardens, the resort appeals to families, honeymooners and business travelers alike. Guest rooms are dressed in pastel colors and white roofs of traditional Bermudian cottages. Grotto Bay is the only all-inclusive resort in Bermuda and is a recipient of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence.

Highlights

From its waterfront location, Grotto Bay is the perfect mix of relaxation and casual elegance. Enjoy drinks and conversation at the Rum House Bar, or a delicious dinner in the Hibiscus or Palm Court Dining Rooms. The terraces surrounding the Great House make a nice place to relax and take in Bermuda's gentle sea breezes. Grotto Bay's spa offers a variety of massage techniques and aromatherapy, as well as body treatments, facials and nail care. Public transportation is available at the resort's front gate for guests, and is convenient for a day of sightseeing, shopping, snorkeling, golfing or other adventures. Along with the historic sites of St. George's and the nautical attractions at the Royal Naval Dockyard, Grotto Bay is within close proximity to some of Bermuda's most beautiful pink sand beaches, including John Smith's Bay, Elbow Beach and Tobacco Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB2012
Single
Boston, MA
Mar 24, 2012

Clean, inviting, and great grounds!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The beach onsite is clean and well maintained. The room view was wonderful, although the room itself needs some updating, but clean and spacious. The pool bar & grill was closed while I was there, and the climb up the stairs to the main house is definitely a work out! But, for me I enjoyed the extra exercise. the cave on site is great, & much better than the Crystal caves down the st. Location is close to airport, good for short trips, but I needed to take many long bus rides to get to the beautiful beaches on the west end, and 1/2 hr bus ride to hamilton. It is a little far away from everything. The prices for food and drink are very steep, so either opt for all-inclusive, or go to hamilton supermarket and buy snacks & sandwiches. Although it was tasty. Don't bother w internet, is pricey and dosen't work in the room. All in all, will probably return if visiting Bermuda for short time and want to be close to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fridge in room, so stock up on food and bottled water to cut costs, the hamilton supermarket is great place for that.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonnie Lou M.
Couples
N/A
Jan 23, 2016

Incredibly Amazing Experience

We not only had fun with the 10k run we participated but had a heavenly and restful experience in the Nature Spa cave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TMoney
Single
West Chester
Sep 10, 2015

Birthday Celebration

My stay at the resort was amazing!!!!!! My expectations were completely exceeded... The front desk was very courteous . Very helpful with suggestion on things to do in area. The view was amazing!!! The amenities were fantastic!! I had the opportunity to swim in the cave, feed the fish, and receive the most amazing massage ever in the Natura Spa !!! The most important thing the beach was clean, the water was crystal clear... For August the weather was perfect !!! I plan to come back next year!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas R.
Couples
Watertown
Aug 25, 2015

They made us feel very welcomed

The staff was excellent very helpful and friendly. Bartenders made awesome drinks and were very entertaining. Any question we had was answered very quickly. The food was very good and they had a great variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLS1
Couples
N/A
Mar 15, 2015

Beatiful view

We arrived and wanted a king size bed and front office staff were able to do this for us. We were on the first floor and had a view of the bay and a very old bridge crossing the causeway to airport. No noise from airport which was a 5 minutes taxi drive away. The pool was heated and there is hot tub, exercise room and tennis courts. The bus is about 100 feet from entrance of resort. Buses come every 15 minutes until 6PM then every 30 minutes until 11PM. Swizzle Inn is a 5 minute walk up the road and the Jamaican Grill carry out is a 20 minute walk. Great food at both places. Bermuda has many small coves that are fun to explore. The water is turquoise and you can see it from almost anywhere on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia T.
Couples
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great location

Really enjoyed the location and the beautiful views from the hotel.The only downside to this vacation was the mixed weather. Staff was polite and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Start out with a bus pass for multiple days/trips

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocco338
Couples
Lumberton, NC, USA
Apr 25, 2014

Wonderful xperience

This was our first time visiting bermuda.. Everything was what i xpecteded and moree. The staff was wonderful and so helpful ....grounds were beautiful... Mr richard was awesome. We will b back again. I would highly recommend grotto bay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tar077
Couples
Toronto
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect Getaway Place

A beautiful hotel/resort for a quick getaway from the cold. Location from the airport is very close (5 mins) and a $10 cab ride. The staff is very friendly and the service is excellent. The hotel and beach are nice and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the gas station or the conveniece store to the right and left of the hotel to stock up on water and other snacks

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tar077
Couples
Toronto
Feb 24, 2014

Great Staff

The location was as close to the airport as could be. Did not hear any planes. The staff from the bell men, Front Desk, Cleaning staff and the wait staff were great (they were all very friendly, helpful and made it very comfortable). The food was good & comparable to most of Bermuda. I would definitely go back plus the price was great. It was about a 20 min bus ride to Hamilton & the bus travel was extremely easy to navigate. Took a 40min bus ride to Horseshoe Bay which I would recommend for a look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The gas station to the right or the Convenience store to the left is not a bad place to load up on water & a few chips. If you are in Hamilton, there is a food market on Church street that serves hot food (definitely a yummy choice for a reasonable price - Bermudian standard)

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agat
Friends
Ontario Canada
Jul 3, 2013

AN ISLAND DREAM COME TRUE

Our short 4 day , 3 night trip to Bermuda and our stay at the Grotto Bay Beach Resort was infamous. The fact that the Hotel was close to the airport , hence no long taxi ride, that the Hotel was similar to a huge condominium complex of pastel shades and pretty structural form, that the room was extremely comfortable including a small fridge and balcony on the ocean, that the main facility lodged a handsome dining room with 3 choices of breakfast, lunch and dinner menus for the sophisticated as well as the casual palate,that the grounds offered an island beach with turquoise waters, a large barside pool, an outdoor jacuzzi , a grotto cool swimming area with dim lights and natural stone decor was only the beginning. Three pm tea included a choice of teas and scrumptious deserts , on the house ! Staff members were jovial, funny and extremely helpful . WELCOME TO THE ISLAND and the GROTTO BAY BEACH RESORT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very casual dining with local rum drinks and a ran:ge of casual dinner offerings as well as, on some nights, live entertainment ; Swizel restaurant

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lindaosuna
Couples
New York
Feb 19, 2013

Nice weekend

Hotel was nice and staff was very friendly. E Michael Jones was "On The Money" on advice. Weather was cold and windy but the visit to Bermuda was great. We will go back in the fall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzles was really good. Just a short walk.

Back to menu Return to top