Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Belizean Shores Resort

3 stars
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, San Pedro,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
11 reviews
Exceeded Expectations

Great property, well maintained. Staff are excellent. Penny, Dennis, Levi, Jose (grounds keeper),... See full review

  • ADGruber
  • May 8, 2014
girl getaway

Was greeted at the dock with their signature rum punch drink. Everyone was so friendly and helpful!... See full review

  • darahlee
  • Apr 13, 2014
All-suite beachfront resort in Ambergris Caye with pool
Take a trip away from the hustle and bustle of urban life and book a stay at the self-contained accommodations of Belizean Shores Resort, set on the pristine shores of San Pedro in Ambergris Caye in Belize. This cosy holiday haven offers nautical activities including snorkeling, sailing, fishing, guided eco-tours and scuba diving. Guests can swim in the outdoor pool, dip in the Jacuzzi, and play at the basketball, volleyball and tennis courts on site. This beachfront retreat also provides spa services and diving center.
 
Patrons savour Caribbean and Central American dishes with Belizean flavor at The Island Tavern on site. Belizean Shores Resort also has a function room that can host gatherings of up to 100 people. Laundry and childcare services are also available at an extra charge.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Beachfront setting
  • Water sports activities like snorkeling and diving
  • Event venue that can hold 100 people
Belizean Shores Resort Rooms
Each of the bright and spacious suites at Belizean Shores Resort is appointed with bamboo furniture and tropical decor. In-room amenities include cable TV, individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fans, safe deposit box, telephone, Wi-Fi access, balcony, dining area, en suite bathroom and kitchen. Select units have loft safe with sofa sleeper or twin beds.
Things To Do
  • Ambergris Stadium (7.9 km/4.9 mi)
  • Belize Barrier Reef (11.0 km/6.8 mi)
  • Caye Caulker (26 km/16.2 mi)
  • Museum of Belize (58 km/36 mi)
  • The Great Blue Hole (65 km/40.4 mi)
  • Lamanai (67 km/41.6 mi)
  • Caracol (71 km/44.1 mi)

Belizean Shores Resort Rooms

Regular Beach Level
Regular Beach Level offers 1 Queen size bed and a pull out Sofa Bed in living room with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, DVD player, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, full kitchen, laundry service, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, stove / oven, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities.
Regular Upper Level
Regular Upper Level offers 1 queen Size Bed and sofa bed in living room with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, DVD player, en-suite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, iron / ironing board, kettle, full kitchen, laundry service, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, stove / oven, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities.

The Suites are centrally air-conditioned, equipped with private safety deposit box and direct dial phones.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Belizean Shores Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

17.961 -87.9327
Area served
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye.
Nearby airports
International Airport : Philip Goldson International Airport. Domestic Airport : Tropic Air or Maya Island Air.
Area description
Belizean Shores Resort is located on the Island of Ambergris Caye, in Belize, the Beach Front property is located 3 1/ miles north of San Pedro Town, a short boat, bicycle or golf cart ride will take you to an array of restaurant and shops located in the centre of Town.

Dining

The Green Iguana Restaurant
The Green Iguana restaurant is perched atop Belizean Shores Resort and enjoys a full panoramic view of the island. While enjoying an eclectic fusion of Caribbean and Central American foods with traditional North American favorites, you can take in the full beauty of Ambergris Caye.

From the fresh fish caught in the island waters to the locally grown vegetables, Chef Mario Cervoni is committed to bringing you the finest ingredients this diverse region has to offer. Having lived in Europe for 10 years Chef Cervoni has developed a style of food that focuses on creating great foods using local flavors.

Come to the Green Iguana and enjoy the flavors of Ambergris Caye while being surrounded by its beauty. We can't wait to see you there!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Belizean Shores Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun2012
Cleveland, OH, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Great family vacation

Had a wonderful time at Belizean Shores Resort. Very happy with my stay at the resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved San Pedro. Can see myself returning to this area in the near future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ADGruber
Business
Yorktown, VA
May 8, 2014

Exceeded Expectations

Great property, well maintained. Staff are excellent. Penny, Dennis, Levi, Jose (grounds keeper), Racquel (Bartender Extraordinaire) were all personable and ready to help. Onsite Restaurant provided some great meals and they even made triple decker breakfast egg sandwiches for us to take on our early morning fishing trip with little notice (it wasnt on the menu either). Kudos to the ladies in the kitchen. The sister property restaurant was excellent, decor was exceptional - meal was pricey, but worth it. Loved the quieter Belizean Shores property - nice place to get away from the crowds Of course we visited the week after Easter weekend (which I was told was extremely busy and crowded) - note to those that would like a bit of solitude. We stayed in 8A - third unit from the beach. Clean and well maintained. Functional kitchen - all the movie channels on the tube. Note that there is a construction project ongoing right outside this unit. The workers started around 8:00 am and finished around 5:00 pm. We were out of our rooms early each day to participate in Mayan tours, fishing, and site seeing so the construction noise did not affect us. If you are going to stick around your room I suggest getting a unit closer to the water. The burritos sold by the bicycle vendor that rides along the beach am are great and inexpensive ($2.50 for one loaded with eggs, bacon, cheese, and beans). The beach is not very wide, but it is cleaned every morning by a crew. Don't expect expansive sugar crystal sand and the water contains a fair amount of sea grass. The water was very warm though. You can walk into town (3 miles) if you are trying to get exercise. You can bike ($5.00/day rental from property - not a bad way to go - dusty dirt road into town or ride along the hardpacked sand on the beach (narrow trail). Best bet - rent golf cart from property - note that there is a toll bridge for golf carts ($10.00 round trip - you can get a weekly pass as well). There are lots of great restaurants in town (moderately priced - Elvis was great). You can eat cheaper in the local small eateries - try a fry jack or a meat pie ( less than $2.00). I would definitely go back to Belizean Shores!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
darahlee
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 13, 2014

girl getaway

Was greeted at the dock with their signature rum punch drink. Everyone was so friendly and helpful! ! Even other guests. Pool and pool bar were a blast! As single girls we never felt unsafe. Walked the beach at night to sister hotels and to other places to eat. Took evening water taxi to town. Its beautiful location and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bc sunseekers
Business
bc canada
Apr 11, 2014

relaxing getaway

This is our 4th trip to Belize and I have to say we were disappointed over all. The restaurant food was good and staff was great. However there were days we didn't get our room cleaned? Our phone didn't work in the room so had to go to the desk to make any calls. The tour company onsite we tried to book a couple of events with ended up cancelling them.. and didn't notify us we only found out because we had gone down the night before and asked. We ended up booking through a private source. The amount of vendors trying to sell you stuff along the beach made your relax time constantly interrupted. The price of the resort is good value and the amenities were nice if you had kids,which we did not. I think it would be a better family stop then a couples resort. I would recommend to families with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelGirlie
Business
Flagstaff, Arizona
Feb 19, 2014

Near Perfection on the Beach

I was truly astounded by the quality at the Belizean Shores - from the drinks on the dock at arrival to the gorgeous pool and well accommodated rooms. The staff were solicitous and pleasant, and we enjoyed a game of chess and tennis while waiting for our laundry! The amenities were wonderful and the site neatly groomed every morning. Such a value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

don't miss El Fogon's in San Pedro for outstanding local cuisine and friendly service

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy21
Business
Maryland
Aug 3, 2013

Romantic Getaway

From the minute we stepped foot onto the hotel it was great. The GM greeted us with two rum drinks and gave us a tour of the hotel. The staff was great as well. They would stop and smile and greet us. Overall our stay this hotel was great, we loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlemFlam
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 4, 2012

Perfect Getaway

My best girlfriend and I were in need of some major R&R and decided to book this trip. We looked at several hotel options and finalized this one at Belizean Shores because of the room flexibility having an upper level one bedroom. When we arrived we were greeting with Rum Punch off the water taxi and then a tour of the property from one of the managers (Marianne). Once we arrived at our room, immediately we noticed the cleanliness and spacious layout. There is more then enough room if you have more then 2 guests traveling who are okay with sharing a bed and plenty more floor space for a (hypothetical) air mattress in the living room. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our own meal (minus the food of course), however I will make a note that there were small ants that on the counter-tops and in the bathroom around the window. You can expect that given the sand and beach atmosphere though, so just be sure to wipe down counters nightly if you have anything lying around. The pool was great... there was a nice swim up bar and the bar tenders are friendly. You can also rent bikes, golf carts, and do any getaway activities from what's offered there at the resort. This makes it very convenient for guests. I will definitely be back to Belizean Shores for another vacay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you arrive at Belize International Airport, recommend you take the water taxi shuttle boat to San Pedro, as it will run you about $25-30 Roundtrip versus the Jumper flight which will run $160 Roudtrip (from Belize International) or $85 (Belize Municipal). The water taxi is 90 minute ride versus the 15-20 minute flight.

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Josh and Heather
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 2, 2012

Great room but lacks the entertainment

The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very nice, clean, and comfortable. The beds were very soft not like the normal uncomfortable hotel beds. You couldn't swim in the ocean by the beach, however you could take one of the free kayaks out to the reef which is worth the quick trip. The staff was very friendly. The only thing that we disliked about this hotel is there was only one restaurant and for two people we paid $30 to $40 for every meal and that usually did not include alcoholic drinks. The hotel tended to run out of things during the week which is an inconvenience. The sister hotel Cocoa Beach was also very nice and well kept however, food and beverages at that location were more expensive and it doesn't have its own restaurant. The hotels need consistency in costs between the two since the staff work at both hotels and sometimes get "confused" on what the prices are at each hotel, therefore sometimes paying more for some things. There weren't really any theme nights and the bar closed at 8pm. If you stay at this hotel make sure you buy the water taxi pass for the week and go into town for every meal. It will save you a lot of money. Also, for breakfast there is a man that comes by around 8am and sells burritos, which are awesome and only $2.50 US! This hotel was a great escape to relax and get away just wish there was more entertainment or the bar stayed open later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A man sells breakfast burritos in the morning around 8am at the beach for 2.50 US. Buy a water taxi pass for 5 days to go to and from town to eat. Everything in the hotel and around is very expensive.

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Karen
Business
Washington, DC
May 22, 2012

Karen's Birthday Trip

The staff was extremely friendly, accomodating and very attentive. The atmosphere was great. The best time to go is during the month of May, before school lets out and people bring their kids. If you want relaxation, this is definitely the place to go. The only thing I found not so good was the water pressure and little bit hot water for showers; however, the shower was adequate for a quick shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into San Pedro, the cost of meals is cheaper OR better yet just go shopping and pick up some groceries, all rooms have a kitchen with utensils and pots and pans.

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gypsysspirit
Business
Hillsboro, Oregon
May 17, 2012

A little paradise in Ambergris Caye

Belizean Shores Resort is a great little place to stay. We were greeted at the dock with refreshing fruit juices.The walked us directly to our condo and let us get settled before actual check in. The staff was all very nice. They will helpful with places to go and to shop for food. The condo was kept up very well. We had a full kitchen with plenty of cookware, and dishes. They have a well for drinking water. The water in the shower does have a funny smell but that's not the water you drink. Our condo was just steps away from the pool. The pool is open 24 hours which is nice. It has a swim up bar and the bartender was making us wonder full "dirty bananas". The only draw backs was there no fitness center and they only have 1 restaurant which has ok food but seemed a little pricey. You have several neighboring facilities and only some of them have restaurants. Another thing is that you can't really swim at the beach due to sea grass but this seemed to be the same for most of the resorts. I will definitely go back again. I enjoyed myself and all the friendly locals. It was a much better experience dealing with locals here than in Mexico and other poverty stricken countries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you eat in San Pedro stop by Wild Mangos right on the beach. For more authentic local food try El Fogon on Middle street. A 3 course meal will cost you $30 US. I also went to a little local place called Mamas Deli on the 3rd street down, close to the old foot ball fields. It's a little hole in the wall place but Mama served me up some good belizean beans and rice with albondigas (meatballs), fried plantains, and fresh corn tortillas for only $5 US. It was enough for two people.

Review of Belizean Shores Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tabgirl
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 30, 2012

Don't Worry, Be Happy!

I loved my stay at the Shores. I was looking for a small resort that has the calm of a time share rather than the hustle-bustle of larger resort (although those are nearby if you want to add in some nighttime adventure). This hotel is away from town, but you can take a water taxi or reserve the golf cart to venture into San Pedro. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Because of the more intimate atmosphere, guests shared their travel experiences and recommendations with one another as they planned their week, and I was able to gather a small group to book a private snorkeling trip. My accommodations were great with a very comfortable bed and a wonderful balcony-all rooms have a view. The kitchen had everything I needed to prepare meals. My only complaint about the room is that the sofa was very uncomfortable, so I didn't spend time in front of the flat-screen TV. No worries, though, the pool is a wonderful place to spend the day. Even though it looks small, it was never crowded. I attribute this to the fact that Tuff E Nuff Tours has a tour service at the dock in front of the hotel. The convenience of this was my favorite amenity ever... I could talk to the guys on the dock when I was out swimming and then make last minute changes to our itnerary. I booked a full day and two half-day trips because it was so convenient. Since most of the other guests were on snorkeling, diving, fishing, or inland excursions, taking a pool day was almost a private affair. The swim-up bar is a little on the expensive side, but most of the food and drink on the island is costly. The duty free shop at the airport and the market in town can help you save on meals... I didn't manage to eat at the restaurant this trip. The Shores doesn't have the expansive beach you may find at other resorts, but their small beach is well groomed and relaxing... especially when you take a lounger into the water to tan. It is perfect fo rthe size of the property. There is also a deck at the end of the dock where you can sunbathe and swim. So many places to travel and so little time, but if I make it back to Belize, I will be sure to book some time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top