Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
181 reviews
Great Trip

Stayed here in November and had a great experience. Food and drinks were great and the service was... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Jan 19, 2015
Fantastic get away!

My sister and I did a girls get away. This vacation was perfect. The weather was great, I came home... See full review

  • Eilene H.
  • Jan 15, 2015

Over one mile of expansive, private, beautiful, white sand beach.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 rooms with a Caribbean style decor.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, paddle board activity, paint ball activity, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Wedding Package:Includes Civil Judge and all legal expenses*, Wedding cake for 10 persons, Bar for 10 guests, Decoration, Bride bouquet, 10 Pictures and music, Wedding coordinator. Package is additional to the all-inclusive package.*Does not include legalization We will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2015.

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

26.5364 -78.5927
Area served
Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas
Nearby airports
Freeport, Bahamas (FPO), 13 miles.
Area description
On the south side of the Grand Bahama Island, directly on the beach, 4 miles from Port Lucaya Market Place, Casino at Grand Bahamia and International Bazaar (12 miles), Shops, Restaurants, 12 miles from Freeport downtown, 13 miles from Freeport International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Viva La Pizza
Pasta and brick oven pizza a la carte -open for dinner only and reservations are required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 181
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clark R.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Winter getaway for water sportists

We were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful location and beautiful beach. We were especially thrilled at the availability of the kayaks, sailboats, dive shop on site and snorkeling right at the beach. The water was incredibly clear though cool and the weather was very nice, but quite cool at night. The British boathouse manager was super accommodating with the boats. Food in the main restaurant was quite good and had many healthy choices. The chef had surprises every day with fresh conch and mussels prepared fresh. The wine left much to be desired and would recommend bringing wine next time. Liked the mixed drinks because they were not overly sweet. As far as the room, there were times when no toilet paper was left and no new water bottles. Apparently, there is only one bottle allotted per week. The phone never worked, so we had to walk to the desk to request service. The beautiful beach cancels out the other inconveniences. We would return, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring a couple bottles of wine if you are a wine drinker

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg Condike
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Great Trip

Stayed here in November and had a great experience. Food and drinks were great and the service was friendly and prompt. Would recommend this in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Karen M.
Business
rockville
Jan 12, 2015

it was not what we expected

we thought it would be garden front and we got a patch of grass with a tree. The staff other than Ricardo was very unfriendly. If you asked them anything about going out of the resort they wouldn't help us. If we wanted to eat we had to eat hot dogs, pizza, all inclusive only meant between 12-3, so we had take food and put in our hotel. The fridge was nasty. We Lysoled our room, shower, toilet, sinks. Curtain was yellow, nasty. The bed was broken in half so we were sleeping in the middle of the bed. The towels were like sand paper, so if you were lucky to keep your pool towel you could use that. The beach was dirty. The security people did nothing about the harassing people asking for food, selling drugs or trying to sell items. I could go on, but that's enough. Hope to see this on the reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

don't go there.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emmanuel T.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Great place bad food

The resort is beautiful. I was very impressed upon arrival. The front desk staff was very nice and checkin was efficient. The grounds were well kept. The room was beautiful,the view was amazing. The food at the buffet was consistently disappointing,at breakfast they serve pancakes and French toast but didn't have syrup,the eggs were always bad,the chicken was pink in the middle.The staff at the buffet was rude,there were never enough clean tables,or silverware on the tables,I avoided the buffet it was just bad. The food at the Italian restaurant was bad and the service was worse. The food at the other restaurant was very good I think it was called the classic restaurant. The food at the beach bar was great best burgers and fries,chicken nuggets, pizza and you can also get drinks there. I really enjoyed Cheyenne she was awesome. I would recommend this hotel and I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristine K.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Family Friendly

I wouldn't recommend staying there if you are a couple. There are lots of kids running around, screaming, crying, etc. It was very hard to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg Condike
Business
Boston Ma
Dec 3, 2014

Vacation

Overall great experience. My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at the Viva Wyndham Grand Bahama. We were met by a friendly and welcoming staff the moment we arrived. For the price point we found our vacation to be a great deal. The resort was still very much under renovation despite being told the renovation project would be completed by November 1, 2014. Not a big deal at all though. The food I will say is as expected for an all inclusive resort. Nothing special nothing bad though. The Italian and Asian restaurants were above average. One thing to note is the bar serves all drinks alcoholic or not out of cheesy plastic cups. No straws are offered on the resort either. Again, we didn't go in expecting luxury so we had no issue there. The beach is GORGEOUS. Easily the best part of the vacation and the primary purpose for us taking it in the first place. You can SAFELY walk miles along the beach to find little beach bars and fish restaurants like Cleveland's Beach Bar and Banana Bay Restaurants. Both great for local Conch and Mahi Mahi. Night life is a quick 5 minute cab ride from the resort into Port Lucaya. There you can find small little bars and restaurants as well as a Casino. There are Happy Hour specials everywhere you go here. Again, very safe and close proximity to the resort. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an inexpensive getaway. Due to the price we had no problem venturing off-site and spending some money to change up the meal and cocktail selection. I'd give this 4 out of 5 stars only because we were led to believe the construction was complete and it was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Banana Bay. Facing the beach from the resort it's a 30 minute walk down an untouched plot of beach with crystal clear water the entire walk. Clevelands Beach Bar is a 5 minute walk to the right of the resort, facing the water. Fantastic local fish and cheap beers. Cleveland and his wife are super friendly! Port Lucaya is a 5 minute cab ride. Flat rate of $30 round trip but access to bars, nightclubs, shopping, and best of all the Happy Hour drink specials.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bigcitybob1090
Business
freedom wis
Nov 25, 2014

3 night stay

Me and my wife stayed 3 nights and had an ok time. Two things i would change is the bar it needs to be more like a bar not a warehouse that has drinks.Hang some beer signs and make it look and feel like a bar. Take some tips from the cool bar down the beach. the next thing is put in some water bottle stations so we can refill water bottles without bothering the bartenders, same with the ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

sand bar down the beach is a cool place to hang out with the locals.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveluffy
Business
Louisiana
Nov 21, 2014

Great beach and excellent staff

Just returned from Viva Wyndham. The selling point of this resort is the beach. It's beautiful! Food is adequate and the Bamboo restaurant had delicious food. The Italian restaurant was not nearly as good. We had a room that was badly in need of an update. But the staff did a good job of keeping it clean. The staff was outstanding. Don't expect anything fancy and you will probably be happy. Wouldn't recommend this hotel until the rooms were updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping is close if you have a car or you can ride bike. It's an easy bike ride about 5-6 miles.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Kentuckian
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 22, 2014

Nice getaway

I would recommend this hotel to other vistors. We had a wonderful time at this resort. The staff were very professional and helpful. The beach near the resort is pretty quiet and clean. The only issue with this resort is that it is somewhat secluded from the shopping centers in town. However, the resort has lots of options to pass your time (e.g., snorkeling, night time entertainment, dancing at night, and several boating options). A stroll on the beach at night is the perfect way to end the day. The location is great! We even saw a stingray and a dolphin/shark (not sure what it was but we did see a fin in the water very close to the sure right before sunset. Exciting!) The bartenders were awesome and the entertainment crew were amazing!!! The DJ played a great mix of songs and was open to taking song requests. The buffet food is somewhat cafeteria-like, but that's expected when cooking for that many people. I would return to this site if given the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Discusted Traveler
Business
Fort Laderdale, FL
Jun 17, 2014

Camping except you have a room.

The staff at this resort were rude, they didn't seem like they wanted you to bother them. The room with an ocean view that I paid for was on the ground floor behind a huge bush that obscured the view. (They did change the room after complaining) The only place that has A/C is your room. Drinks were not good, plastic (re-useable) glasses that they offer were dirty. The food areas where full of flies, birds and bee's. I did not once see anybody with gloves on. Both staff and guests were all just picking up food with their hands. The building and the grounds need alot of work done. If you are looking for anything other than lying on the beach all day, you need not visit this resort. The entertainment was pretty much null and void, except for an hour a night at there shows. If we had booked anymore than the two nights we had, we would have left the resort. We did find a nice place called Margaritaville Sand Bar a short walk down the beach, and if it wasn't for this bar we would of had the most miserable trip yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk down the beach to Margaritaville Sand Bar.

Back to menu Return to top