Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
170 reviews
Vacation

Overall great experience. My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at the Viva Wyndham Grand Bahama. We... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Dec 3, 2014
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.5364 -78.5927
Area served
Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas
Nearby airports
Freeport, Bahamas (FPO), 13 miles.
Area description
On the south side of the Grand Bahama Island, directly on the beach, 4 miles from Port Lucaya Market Place, Casino at Grand Bahamia and International Bazaar (12 miles), Shops, Restaurants, 12 miles from Freeport downtown, 13 miles from Freeport International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fat elvis
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 28, 2012

price and entertainment staff push it above average

I felt the food and drinks are about what you can expect from a A/I but what pushed it to above average was the price and the entertainment staff they put forth an effort to keep us entertained especially when it rained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

count Basie square is a short drive away and had live entertainment and cheap drinks

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Brazilians
Business
Nashua, New Hampshire
Jul 15, 2012

Family vacation

I book this hotel back in February 2012 and when we check in on July 4th they didn't have the reservation still. We have to go back to front the desk 3 times until the problem was solved. The entertainers were very good. They kipped everybody happy and moving. The food was much better since the last time we were there (2010). The new Chef is doing an outstanding job. We had to ask for towels every day. We enjoy the kayaking, snorkeling, windsurfing and relax on the beach while drinking a bahama mama.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They do an outstanding job to keep everybody laughing and busy a whole day. The Monkey boy, Coco, Laura and the others are a really good professionals. Thumbs up for everybody.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fat elvis
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 13, 2012

its in the running

the food and drink are about what you can expect from a all inclusive the animation pushed it into high gear when it rained and for that i applaud them there is a small reef just off shore or you can go on a snorkel trip with the dive shop I would consider going here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

port Lucaya has entertainment at night 4 miles/$15 cab ride away

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bahama Poppa
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2012

Perfect for Relaxation

The setting is perfect & the staff is great! The views are awesome & the property is cozy due to the rooms being located on only two floors. The buffet food was exceptional & the options were aplenty throughout the day & late night. Would definately stay here again & look forward to doing so. The people of the island are so polite & courteous it makes the experience even greater!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Lucaya has great shopping & dining options when you leave the resort.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer Samos
Business
Cleveland ohio
Jun 28, 2012

my vacation getaway

the Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive was a great time for me and my husband the staff was wonderful. the bed was not however. we did not spend that much time in are room anyway . the food was average. it was better to eat at the buffet instead of the other 2 resturents food was was not good at all at the itialian one. all and all it was a good time and i will be back in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

port Lacya was was wonderful other than that one real reason to leave the resort

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SCUBA AUNT
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 25, 2012

Fourth Time Even Better

This was my fourth time here, bringing my family. We all love it. We have ages 16-61 and we all had a ball. Food is good, especially the Italian Cafe. Staff very friendly and quickly responsive to requests. Diving is good, with lots of friendly sharks. Wish we could have stayed another week to do it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the Oriental and Italian restaurants for 6:00-6:30. If you have picky eaters or teenagers, they can still hit the buffet afterwards if they did not get enough.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cammie Mckenzie
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Jun 22, 2012

Anything But Special...

Upon arrival we were asked to email a copy of our itinerary to Tonisha who is in charge of reservations, of which we did (this was 10AM). At 3pm we were allowed to check-in, at which point we were assigned a garden view room when we paid for an ocean view. I was then told that there were no ocean view rooms available, however after threatening the hotel with a one-star review they managed to find one to stick us in. All in all it was an hour-long headache that never should have happened. The hotel itself is old and outdated, and the rooms were ordinary or perhaps a little less... The grounds need better maintenance, the beach was a mess (other carribean countries clean their beaches daily), and the staff was not very friendly or helpful, even though Bahamians outside the property were the most friendly I had ever met. The food was ok, but lacked enough of an offering to where we would even consider eating every day at this hotel. This was my 4th time this year at an all-inclusive and this was by far the worst... I have no complaints of the other 3 I have been to, but this one I would never stay at again. If you're considering Grand Bahama then go to Grand Lucayan or one of the other hotels in Port Lucaya... Don't waste your money staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the FLYING FISH restaurant in Lucaya! It has the most amazing food on the island!

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AC loves to vacation
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 30, 2012

On line pictures are very deceptive

This is a very old property and needs a lot of work. It definately is not like any Wyndham I have ever stayed at in the past. The pictures make it look like this nice resort but the rooms are old, musky smelling and outdated. Our room flooded when it rained, along with the shower and sink. One day they didn't even clean it and we had to call for towels. The gym - no air conditioning, old rusty machines....just nasty. The beach is full of glass so walking on it requires shoes and even when going into ocean. We changed hotels which was a blessing. The locals call this hotel a "dump" and I would agree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LMC1
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Do it yourself Vacation

Room average for star rating. Property needs alot of TLC. Can be very nice place if they upgraded premises and hired alert customer friendly staff. Staff has no customer etiquette. Don't bother asking for anything because they either don't know or you need to wait for them to take their sweet time. Food is better at Denny's for all meals of the day. Beach is nice, some rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Port Lucaya and eat at Mermaids Grill. Awsome ethnic food made with love. Went back two days in a row since food was so good.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lisa12354
Business
Salem, Indiana
Mar 6, 2012

We had a great time!

We had a great time! The staff was friendly and took care of any request we had quickly. We had some confussion about the number of rooms we had booked but I pulled my paper work and they had us in our rooms in 10 minutes. NO Hassel! THe only issue we really had were the SPRING BREAKERS! So watch what that you don't go during that time unless you want to deal with the KIDS! The staff tried to keep them cornered off best they could from the regual guests. But college kids go to party!! My husband and I do plan to return in November when they are all back in school. The resorts Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Pier One is great!! The sea food is out of this world and seeing the sharks is really cool.

Back to menu Return to top