Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
170 reviews
Vacation

Overall great experience. My girlfriend and I stayed 4 nights at the Viva Wyndham Grand Bahama. We... See full review

  • Greg Condike
  • Dec 3, 2014
Relaxing vacation

The staff was friendly and welcoming. There was always something to do, or you could relax by the... See full review

  • Swimmer mom2
  • Jun 29, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 274 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, discotheque, two tennis courts, gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking.

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports available at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.
Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.5364 -78.5927
Area served
Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas
Nearby airports
Freeport, Bahamas (FPO), 13 miles.
Area description
On the south side of the Grand Bahama Island, directly on the beach, 4 miles from Port Lucaya Market Place, Casino at Grand Bahamia and International Bazaar (12 miles), Shops, Restaurants, 12 miles from Freeport downtown, 13 miles from Freeport International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
April 2nd 2013
Business
United States
Apr 8, 2013

Don't Waste Your Money

The beach view from the room was nice and the drinks were good. All Inclusive? Do not expect anything more! The rooms are old, the food was bland in the cafateria. (not a resturant) The resturants to say the least were not good. One is a long closet type room with black lights. If you can get a reservation? When it comes to activities, they are never open and the staff will make every excuse not to do their job. I don't blame them because they double as entertainment at night. Yes, the entertainment is not good and unprofessional. Orbiz should remove this from their site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay Somewhere Else!

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single Mom Of One
Business
Upstate, NY
Apr 6, 2013

Family friendly 2/3 star resort.

I was looking for a family friendly resort on the ocean. The location of this resort is to die for. It is perfect, crystal blue waters, white sand; everything I wanted in a resort location. The resort itself was small which was nice with kids along, very safe. The one pool is by the ocean which is also very nice. The staff was good except for one day (everyone was grumpy on Wednesday- not sure why - thinking maybe they all did something Tuesday night?) They try very hard to get the guests involved in all the activities they offer during the day like bingo, yoga, volleyball, darts, etc. The bars had very basic liquor and drinks. The food was not up to par. The buffet was decent for breakfast but lunch and dinner were pretty much the same thing everyday and none looked too appetizing. I literally ate salad, potatoes and rice every day so I was dying for a real meal when I got home. There are two restaurants on site, an Asian themed and an Italian themed. The Asian themed one was booked the entire time I was there but from what we heard from friends we made at the resort and just talking around it was inedible. The Italian restaurant we went to once and it was decent change of pace. Very small portions. Very selected menu. There was a burger and fry shack on the beach that we went to a few times because we were starving. Out of the 5 days we were there, 4 days we had to call house keeper MULTIPLE times because they forgot something with out room cleaning. Towels and/or toilet paper everytime - became quite annoying. Cabs very expensive but this island is very poor and under developed so there is not much to see. We left the resort twice; once to go to the Lucayan market which I highly recommend. It is a lot of local shops and you can deal with the shop owners. The other day we left we went horseback riding "on the beach" with PineTree Stables. I WOULD NOT recommend it. It was 130$ a person and a huge waste. First they told us to meet at 745am for pick up and when no one came and we called and found out it was 1045am so we wasted our morning waiting around. Then the ride was suppose to be 2 hours with 1 hour on the beach and 1 hour trails. It was 1 hour and 45 minutes trails and 5 minutes beach. Huge disappointment. All in all if you're looking just to relax on the beach with a picture perfect view and can deal with limited food options this is the place. I loved laying on the beach and doing the sports, we paddled boarded and paid to jet ski. Again, the view is to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Only show worth seeing is the Trapeze show. They staff is very talented and they do some amazing things! You can tell how hard they try it was great!

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VacaFinder
Business
Southington, Connecticut
Mar 29, 2013

Spring Break Fun

We went for Spring Break splurged for the ocean view room. We killed about 5 bugs a day in the room since there was a hole under the sink. We had a lizard in our room and when we called the Front Desk for help, they never sent anyone. The bar staff was awesome. You can buy cups in the shops there that are reusable and bigger. You have to reuse your beach towels. There was alot of games and activities so there was never a dull moment. The food was alright. Not really much for picky eaters or plain eaters. It was an alright experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MerBear
Business
Bayville, New Jersey
Mar 16, 2013

If you dont like sleep or hot showers this place is for you!

First off I actually read the reviews before booking my trip and thought maybe people were just in a bad mood when they wrote their reviews... I WAS WRONG! When we got to our room and opened the door it smelt like mold so we told guest services and they had a maid come spray the room with air freshner.. needless to say i had to keep the doors open for a week or the smell came back. The beds are horrible and the pillows are like rocks. There was no hot water at all. I again told guest services and we had warm water 1 day out of our 5 night stay. The food was never hot and it was all very bland. Even at their resturants the food was gross. We actually had to leave the resort to eat decent food and have a good time. I wouldnt reccomend this place to anyone. The only thing was nice was that the employees were very nice and always said hi. Dont be like me and think people were writing bad reviews cause they were in a bad mood. It was not a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Relaxing on the Beach
Business
Chino Hills, CA
Feb 18, 2013

All Inclusive, including poor service

Just four days of relaxing on the beach, not much to ask I thought. I chose this hotel for the location on the beach and since I was travelling alone, not to worry where to eat as a matter of convenience. However I was thoroughly disappointed by the staff's demeanor. Friendliness is not part of the all inclusive program and to my surprise even after I started tipping for drinks and service this did not change one bit. I understand working in an all inclusive resort can be mind numbing, but if you give special attention and appreciation to the personnel and get nothing in return it is very disappointing. Good if you like animation and getting drunk by the pool, for those who look for quality it is not advisable. The beach is still great though and I loved my ocean view room. Lots of potential, just need a little more hospitality training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
winter hating midwesterne
Business
Ohio
Feb 11, 2013

Good enough for a long weekend getaway

The staff friendliness was spotty. Some of the staff was outstanding, others are to be avoided. The food in the buffet is just cafeteria food. I highly recommend making reservations at one of the other restaurants. If you want a quick cheap getaway this is the place, but know that you get what you pay for. This is more of a 2.5 star place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
party time Hooter
Business
NY bordering PA
Feb 2, 2013

My vacation in bahamas january 23-30, 2013

The cab ride to our resort was terrible. A broken down, dirty limo picked us up at the airport, just about got gassed from the fumes, definitely should be banned from the airport and transporting guests. The housekeeping was terrible and they acted like they Didn't care at all. Our first day, no complimentary water, no coffee and no washcloths. Complained to a young man at the service desk who did nothing. Did not get these until the 3rd day, after I bought water, and complained again to a young lady at the front desk. The second time I put these complaints in writing. The pillow cases had not been changed from the previous guest, yuk! Long black hair on front and back, custodial manager took pictures of this, no washcloths or coffee pacs, then had a complete cleaning in our room! Marcus and Richie were great bartenders, great customer service and great work ethics. The food was usually Luke warm on the buffet and leftovers from the day before. Grill cooks, for omelets , burgers or steaks did a great job. The Italian restaurant, food was great, not bad, but not so great at the oriental. The pool was very cold, hardly any users but the sea gulls and pigeons loved it! Loved the beach and beach bar! The peddlers on the beach were terrible, continuously pestering you to buy or get them drinks. Eddie, a security guard, was great, kept them away from us when he was on duty. Entertainers worked their butts off, and put on great shows. Always working, a great team! We went to the market nearby and the prices were good, although a lot of the sales people were very agressive! Met a lot of people there that also felt this way about this resort. Have been to all-inclusive resorts in Dominican Republic and also in Mexico. This was absolutely the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy anything until you go to the market place nearby. Very reasonable prices and will save you money on souvenirs. Ask for Adrian to take you. Great driver, very nice and reasonable rates. Adrian Martin Transportation.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waynetech
Business
trinidad
Jan 14, 2013

great place to get some r&r

very nice place warm and friendly people hotel was clean very relaxing resort food was tolerable but the italian and chinese was actually great. would certainly return .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bahama Drama
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 6, 2013

Stay away!

I have seen that the reviews about this particular resort range across the board. I believe this is due to people's inexperience with all-inclusive resorts. This is the fourth all-inclusive resort that my mom and I have gone to and was by far the worst. The rooms were filthy because the cleaning staff barely did the minimum. They didn't even wipe down tables or clean the shower. On top of it, many rooms that had things which were broken or malfunctioning, including our own. For example: flooding in rooms, tv's which didn't work, and even toilets that were broken! The worst part of the whole experience was the extreme passive aggressiveness exhibited by the staff. People who were there for just a weekend didn't seem to notice, but we were there for eleven days, and in these eleven day we were not only talked down to and ignored, but we were also verbally assaulted by two staff members. We were not the only ones to have these types of interactions. We saw many other people mistreated and many people unhappy by the staff's treatment. It was completely unprofessional. It made us feel like the staff was on vacation and we were bothering them. The staff was drunk most of the day, and there was a complete lack of management. One positive thing that I can say, is that the beach was beautiful (although the weather was so terrible that we could only enjoy it 4 out of the 11 days we were there). BUT there are many beautiful beaches in this world. If you want to have a relaxing all-inclusive vacation I suggest Mexico (Cancun or Cozumel). It's beautiful and the people are extremely nice. If the language is a concern, don't worry! Everyone knows English and is more than happy to use it with you. I hope many of you can learn from our experience and stay far far away from this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orbitz4Me
Business
CA Bay area
Jan 4, 2013

Go only if you are stuck with Wyndham timeshare

Go only if you are stuck with Viva Wyndham timeshare and you have to use it;' else get ready for the third class treatment. Bottom line: Go only if you are stuck with Viva Wyndham timeshare and you have to use it;' else get ready for the third class treatment. In our 8 days of stay, not a single day the phones worked. Trapeze was good, but once we went they said they are closed due to some tournaments. Another time they were giving only to the Cruise ship, finally after few tries, my kids got chance to go on trapeze. Don't worry about the swimming pool, it is not heated at all and you won't find anyone there ever. We paid for 4 people, but we got 4 towels only on one day when I paid her tip on Dec 26th; every other day she gave us 3 towels and we had to go to guest services and beg for towels. They sent some times, else again we had to go to the front desk and ask for towels--- every day (except one). BTW, soap dispensers are just for a show, they are always empty. Buffet lunch is mostly left over dinner from previous night. Don't even bother to go restrooms on the property, every restroom is surely dirty. If you book from bookit, you don't get VIP treatment and hard to find table for breakfast, lunch etc. Bamboo and Viva restaurants are OK, just ask your friends what to order, since some dishes were worth directly to send to the trash. But midnight pizza was surprisingly good. Some night shows are good, but really poor lip singing. Do you have to give liquor as a gift to all (even teens?) Don't bother to send email to the hotel, they never ever reply. Zumba timings keep on changing, people over poolside desk have no idea ever. Main bar is OK, just ask for Bahama special cocktails since they don't make good mai tai or margarita etc. Bahama Mama was OK, Mango punch was good, coffee at the bar is really good. Never bother to order coffee @ Bamboo or Viva, it will spoil your mouth. Never to go for Viva Wyndham even if we get it for free. BTW, what deal bookit has with the airline? We cannot confirm it and get the worst possible seats after check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

We paid extra for ocean front, the room we got where we had to search for ocean view, so I asked for real ocean view room, the room they gave didn't have hot water, toilet kept on running, yellow sink, not working shower; so we asked for refund or to give us their member special room; finally we got one working room. Still not to the standard of Hilton, Sheraton but just working. We got fed up of changing room, so we stayed there.

Back to menu Return to top