Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Doubloon Rd. and Churchill Dr., PO BOX F-42398, Freeport,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
159 reviews
Simple, Sweet Escape.

I had a great time at the hotel. The staff was super sweet! The amenities were terrific, lots of... See full review

  • Puerto Rican Goddess
  • Mar 3, 2014
Effordable Vacation in paradise

We had an ocean view room and we were literally right on the beach. We had the most awesome view... See full review

  • Snorkeling Sue
  • Feb 21, 2014

We are Grand Bahamas premiere all-inclusive resort sitting on 26 acres of prime beachfront property with 1200 feet of white sandy beaches.

Welcome to Grand Bahama Island's only all-inclusive resort, Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach. Renowned for its ample white sand beach and warm tropical waters, this fine resort offers 276 ocean or garden view rooms.

Expanding its entertainment menu even further, the exhilarating Viva Circus makes its debut in Bahamas. This one of a kind show features amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling. Viva Circus colorfully animated show will satisfy guests craving for live, invigorating, action packed entertainment. The full line-up will include breathtaking flying trapeze by skilled experts, mind-boggling juggling, and engaging circus street performances. Furthermore, guests can join in the excitement with trapeze lessons and a hands-on juggling workshop.

Among the many amenities, the property offers a fresh water pool, cocktail and snack bar, beach bar, disco bar, three restaurants, a theater with capacity for 500 persons, discotheque, two tennis courts (lighted & hard surface), gymnasium & sauna, massage service available upon request at extra charge, VIVA Diving Center, Viva Kids Club, babysitting services available upon request at an extra charge, hospitality desk, tour desk, shops, first aid services and free parking. Often referred to as vacation paradise, Grand Bahama Island offers anything from snorkeling, diving, fishing, nature exploration, to sunset cruising and exciting nightlife. Surely sounds like an interesting place for a vacation, doesnt it?

The all-inclusive package features full breakfast/ lunch/ dinner, snacks, unlimited drinks, cocktails and wine, welcome cocktail, unlimited non-motorized sports, taxes and tips, daily activities program, international entertainment staff, live nightly entertainment, theme parties, discotheque, dance classes, gymnasium and sauna, children's program from 4 to 12 years old, chaise lounges and beach towels, free WiFi in the lobby and the main bar.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, introductory dive lessons, water polo, water aerobics, day and night tennis, archery, bicycling, gymnasium with instructor, aerobics, stretching, beach soccer, beach volleyball, bocce ball (on beach) and table tennis, soccer field, basketball, and billiards.

Sports vvailable at extra charge: Viva Diving Center (PADI certificate courses), fishing, snorkeling, water skiing, jet-skiing, horseback riding (7 miles from property), golf (2 miles from property), water and land excursions.

Optional Packages:

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge the following package: Upgrade to a higher category room, based on hotel availability, a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors d'oeuvres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all-inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.

Hotel Closure Notice: Please be advised that Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island will be closed from September 2nd, to October 14th, 2014, due to General Maintenance and improvements of our facilities. We will be re-opening on October 15th, 2014.

Spring Break 2014: Please be advised that we will welcome spring breakers at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach in Grand Bahama Island from March 1st to March 27th, 2014. We will not be responsible for any complaints or compensations in regards to this matter.

Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Vista Rooms
These rooms have a privileged ocean view location and modern decor with two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box in room (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Ocean View (Formerly named: Superior Ocean View Rooms)
Flora Rooms
These rooms are located in the central area of the resort, they have modern dcor and renovated bathrooms) and offer garden views with a Caribbean inspired decor. Two queen size beds or 1 king size bed, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request. View: Garden View (Formerly named: Superior Garden View Rooms)
Standard Rooms
These rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer, balcony and safe box (with extra charge). Connecting rooms and baby cribs are available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.5364 -78.5927
Area served
Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas
Nearby airports
Freeport, Bahamas (FPO), 13 miles.
Area description
On the south side of the Grand Bahama Island, directly on the beach, 4 miles from Port Lucaya Market Place, Casino at Grand Bahamia and International Bazaar (12 miles), Shops, Restaurants, 12 miles from Freeport downtown, 13 miles from Freeport International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lucaya: 4.6 mi

Dining

Viva Cafe
Italian Restaurant a la carte, open for dinner only and reservations required.
Junkanoo
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Bamboo
Oriental Restaurant, a la carte, open for dinner only, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
akoye
tulsa, ok
Dec 30, 2012

Please don't chance it

I read reviews on websites and thought this would be average. It was the worst resort we have ever stayed at. We even met with the manager, Claudia, and he did nothing to fix the problems. My kid got food poisoning, the glass door fell on our bed, the toilet leaked, then clogged the next day, the food was not great and we ended up watching cable in our room half the time. Please don't waste your money just to go somewhere inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Port Lacayan Marketplace

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Kat K
Pewaukee, WI
Dec 30, 2012

family fun

Great place for your entire family, lots of daily activities to involve any age. Best advise I got ahead of time.......bring your own cup with a lid! Being on the ocean, it is windy, and you don't want sand in your drink. Plus, the extra ounces meant less trips to the bar. The bartenders are awesome and will even wash your cup out if needed:# Only negative is the beds are not the most comfortable #quite firm)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
sliderule
ann arbor , michigan
Dec 8, 2012

quiet beach vacation

buildings being renovated, maintenance repairs are relatively quick, food is middle of the road and repetitive, shows are good, water sports are real good. Staff is friendly and helpful. close to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
otetote
florida
Sep 4, 2012

family weekend

3 pm check in hard on arriving guests on early flights.no facilities to help them.very good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

very good

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
vincenas
New Jersey, USA
Aug 28, 2012

Perhaps look somewhere else...

On arrival, the staff collected $10 for "towel crads" redeemable for towels for the beach & pool. I was told the $10 would be returned at checkout. I was told they do not collect towel deposits and had no record that I paid, so I guess I was taken for $10. Advertised was a "welcome cocktail", and "fruit service" on the beach. neither of which happened. Just a small thing, but noticeable. The food, although plentiful, was nothing better than average. If you had a bunch of kids, the hamburgers and hot dogs would do, but we didn't. The staff was mostly pleasant. During a rainstorm, our room leaked a lot of water under the slider to the balcony. We called housekeeping who eventually just gave us some towels to mop it up ourselves. The room was clean and tidy. The other two restaurants weren't open every day, but the food was a bit better than the buffet, but not a lot of choices. They advertised that a doctor was on call at the hotel, but when I asked to see a doctor, they said to get in a cab and ask him where the local hospital was. I didn't think that was a good idea, so I waited so see my own doctor when I got home. This wasn't a bad place, but not one that I rush back to. The beach was nice, but the ocean bottom was very sea-weedy and had a coral botton rather than a sandy bottom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

I would pay as I go, rather than this all-inclusive resort. The choices were limited, and if you wanted to splurge on a vacation meal like steak or lobster, there was nowhere to do so at the resort.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
William E. P.
IL.
Aug 5, 2012

Honeymoon Fail

The nicest part of the place is when you walk in the door to the front lobby which has the only wifi hot spot in the resort. Highly let down by a seaweed covered beach. All inclusive you would think you are going to have everything you need.... not true far from it. First day and we couldn't even find a water bottle. When we get to our room we are confronted with the reality that we didn't get what we thought we were going to get. From dirty pillows to dirty walls, think you can take a shower in a clean bath room? nope i'd adventure enough in my mind to what is on my (CLEAN)?? Towel.. or how about what the heck is on the wall?? poor patch work and tiled dirty floors. The staff is friendly but cant give a good answer for really anything. We were told we could upgrade when we got here and even though we were the first to arrive we couldn't. I picked what i thought would be an amazing trip for my new wife and I and I got stuck with focusing only on each other to remain happy. Please i beg dont waist your time or money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You get what you pay for.. and some times worse.

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
beach beauty
texas
Aug 4, 2012

hotel wyndham

the staff are very friendly. hotel beach is beautiful. very safe. many security people walking the property. Hotel was kept very clean. maintenance was performed daily. Food was average but plentiful. Overall I'd give it a 4 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Kaye e
Va
Aug 2, 2012

Mediocre

It was only okay, the beach was its saving grace.The rooms were clean an fairly well kept. It is good if you are on a budget though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
fat elvis
Philadelphia
Jul 28, 2012

price and entertainment staff push it above average

I felt the food and drinks are about what you can expect from a A/I but what pushed it to above average was the price and the entertainment staff they put forth an effort to keep us entertained especially when it rained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

count Basie square is a short drive away and had live entertainment and cheap drinks

Review of Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
The Brazilians
Nashua, New Hampshire
Jul 15, 2012

Family vacation

I book this hotel back in February 2012 and when we check in on July 4th they didn't have the reservation still. We have to go back to front the desk 3 times until the problem was solved. The entertainers were very good. They kipped everybody happy and moving. The food was much better since the last time we were there (2010). The new Chef is doing an outstanding job. We had to ask for towels every day. We enjoy the kayaking, snorkeling, windsurfing and relax on the beach while drinking a bahama mama.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They do an outstanding job to keep everybody laughing and busy a whole day. The Monkey boy, Coco, Laura and the others are a really good professionals. Thumbs up for everybody.

Back to menu Return to top