Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

3 stars
LG Smith Blvd 2, Oranjestad,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
18 reviews
aruba getaway

after reading some of the reviews I was concerned about staying here but have to say I enjoyed it.... See full review

  • ocean dream
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great business traveler hotel

Great desk people from check-in throughout the stay. Anna and Dino in the bar are great as well.... See full review

  • Jeffchyk
  • Jul 21, 2013
Newly renovated hotel, and a great location in Aruba
With a location far from the touristy parts of Aruba, yet close to the airport and center of town, this colonial spot is a perfect choice for a low-key Caribbean vacation. Guests at the Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club are treated to complimentary breakfast every morning, and membership in the beach club across the road at Surfside Beach. The hotel has a partnership with PADI-certified S.E. Aruba Fly 'n Dive.
Highlights
  • Beach club across the road on Surfside Beach
  • Full-size swimming pool and sun patio
  • PADI-certified S.E. Aruba Fly 'n Dive on-site
  • Close to movies, shopping and restaurants in downtown Oranjestad
  • Recently renovated guest rooms at the Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
Rooms
All guest rooms at the Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club are decorated in minty green hues, have cool tile floors, and are equipped with air conditioning, in-room safe or safe deposit box, cable TV and telephone. "Superior" rooms and apartments offer free Wi-Fi.
Dining
Providing a casual atmosphere, the poolside Moonlight Patio Bar & Grill offers guests at the Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club breakfast, lunch and dinner options.
Recreation
A full-sized pool and patio laden with lush tropical plants are at the heart of the Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club. Guests are granted membership and deck chairs at the beach club across the road at Surfside Beach. The hotel has a partnership with PADI-certified S.E. Aruba Fly 'n Dive, which visits a number of different dive sites across the island each day. If more action is required, take a short walk to downtown Oranjestad for shopping dining, or to play some table games at a casino.
Transportation
  • Aruba Reina Beatrix International Airport (AUA) (1 mi/1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Rancho Daimari (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Mermaid Dive Centre (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Red Sail Sports Aruba (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • PC workstations with Internet access
  • Flexible meeting rooms can accommodate up to 50 people
  • Free high-speed Internet access in public areas

Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club Rooms

Superior
Mini fridge and microwave oven.The bedding option for this room includes 1 king and pullout sofa or 2 queen bed with mini fridge and microwave oven.
Standard
The bedding option for this room includes 1 king and pullout sofa or 2 queen bed with mini fridge and microwave oven.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

12.5232 -70.0436
Area served
Oranjestad.
Nearby airports
Aruba Reina Beatrix International Airport.(AUA)
Area description
Conveniently located close to downtown Oranjestad, airport, and cruise port, shopping areas, casinos, restaurants, bars, discos and cinema. Across the street from the beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • The Thode's residence: 0.6 mi
  • Bye Bye Nature: 1.4 mi
  • Surf Club: 3.9 mi

Dining

Dining
Informal indoor / outdoor dining, offering free breakfast daily and a small variety of home style dishes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna Mills
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 28, 2010

The hotel was Disgusting

we had a wonderful time in Aruba. Except the hotel was filthy, toilet didn't work, towels were disgusting, pillows had stain. They serve watery eggs for breakfast. [...] should have never referred their customer's to talk of the town hotel. For that reason I will never do business with [...] again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to visit the national bridge, light house and all that. Our tour guy from the DePalm Tour, Ray, was very informative and had a great sense of humor.

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sthella
Business
USA
May 10, 2009

Talk about Talk of the Town

Not very nice at all. By mistake I did not add an extra deay and was charged the full rate The hotel clerk refused to give me the [...] rate and charged me the full rate which was too expensive for the quality of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ms Island Lover
Business
Richmond, VA
May 30, 2012

SOUL BEACH

This hotel was perfect for the Soul Beach 2012. Nikky Beach was the concert location & it was directly across the street from this hotel. It had no curb appeal. Exterior paint was needed and lobby could have used a make-over. Upon, check-in, they had no record of my booking. I wasnt happy to hear this and they were booked full. I whipped out a copy of my reservation and waited 30 min for a room to magically appear. Breakfast was hearty with eggs, pasteries,bacon or sausage. Room could have been cleaner and floors could have used a scrub with bleach. Bar staff was wonderful ! ! Stay here if you have low expectations. 2 stars is the correct rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nikky Beach was the location of Soul Beach 2012 concerts. This hotel was directly across the street from the venue. I was able to walk >10 min to the market place which had lots of dining and attractions.

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EHR
Business
New York, NY
May 26, 2010

Talk of the Town Hotel, Aruba

We've stayed at other hotel in Aruba with cheaper rate that was more upscale, with better service than what we paid for at Talk of the Town. The "hot breakfast" left a lot to be desired, the closet in the room had an awful, musty odor that made clothes hung in the closet reek.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 11, 2008

Ok, for a cheap one night stay

I needed to stay at the talk of the town hotel for one night while waiting to check into another hotel. I was a little less than satisfied when I got into my actual room. It was clean (from what I could see), but everything was so dated. There were visible signs of mildew on various places in the room and some signs of water damage on the ceiling. There was a small kitchenette area, but I don?t think I would have wanted to cook anything there. There were gaps underneath the door that could have easily let small insects into the room. One plus is that the staff was friendly and accommodating. Since I only needed to have a place to stay for one night, it served its purpose, but in hindsight I would be willing to spend a little more money for slightly better conditions, even for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Renaissance shopping area is a short drive or 15 minute walk up the street.

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
marco island
Jan 14, 2010

love aruda

hotel friendly and helpful. Beds very comfortable but room not clean.Bathroom needs updating. t.v remote not working after several requests. Breakfast ALWAYS cold when supposed to be hot .2 mins walk from a beautiful friendly beach.Weloved Aruba and the people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angela beachcomber...
Business
Bedford, MA
Feb 17, 2013

Talk of the Town...well kept secret!

Pleasant staff, warm welcome... breakfast good value for money, get there early! Nice beach across the street & in proxinity to 3 good quality restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beachside restaurants across the steet! Good short term stay location!

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dfw
Feb 24, 2011

Talk of the Town Hotel

This is an older hotel, curb appeal is lacking but the facility is clean and bug free. Staff is excellent very freindly and helpful. Swimming pool updated and very nice. Food is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Red sail sports dive masters and captains very helpful and freindly lots of fun.

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
May 5, 2008

OK, but

Room was fine,property was fine, breakfast was fine. But, very noisy from street and no hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st. louis
Jan 26, 2010

Great location for getting to airport

We stayed there to be close to airport because of early flight out. Did not know they were having a party in the pool area just below our room. They partied hard until about 1:00 AM, I had to be at the airport at 5:30 AM, had a very hard time getting up and ready to leave. They should let you know and give you a room away from noise if you can not stay and enjoy the party with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Free Breakfast is very nice.

Back to menu Return to top