Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of JE Irausquin Blvd. 79, Oranjestad,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack and Jen
Business
New York, New York
Nov 19, 2013

Honeymoon with a few hiccups

So my wife and I went to Riu Palace for our honeymoon because we stayed at the Riu Guanacaste in Costa Rica and loved it. Unfortunately, not all the Riu's are made equal. The hotel was not really accommodating with special requests, and trying to get a reservation for the special dinner restaurants at the hotel is a complete nightmare. The last thing I want to do every morning is stand in the lobby from 7:30 to 8:30 just to make a reservation for dinner. The first room they put my wife and I in was not up to the standard I was expecting for a "palace." The AC vent was completely rusted and there was mold growing in parts of the room. The next room they gave us, though without rust and mold, was not much better. Another thing that really bothered me was that I used the hotel phone to make a local call to schedule an outing, and the hotel charged me $11 dollars for it !! Not only is this ridiculous, but they don't let you know that there will be a charge until you check out. That sort of charge should be noticed on the phone itself, and I didn't see it anywhere. Another example of staff issues was when my wife and I scheduled a couples massage. First, though I scheduled it for 5 p.m., when I arrived there I was told that it was for 4:30 and thus could not get the massage anymore. I was told the error was because the employee who made the appointment was only working there two days at the time. Then when I finally was able to get the massage, I was told one price and charged another. Also, I asked for deep tissue and that was definitely not what I got. At the end of the day, I still had a fantastic vacation, but I am going to chalk that up to Aruba being a beautiful island. I will give the hotel one thing though, the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go eat at the Flying Fishbone! The food was amazing and the ambiance is beautiful. The restaurant is literally on the water, and the price is well worth it.

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michele K.
Business
Long Branch, NJ
Nov 5, 2013

Duchi

The hotel staff was so accommodating . Breakfast and lunch was very good (we ate at the local resteraunts) Gianni's is a must for excellent Italian food and the infamous El Gaucho's for succulent steaks. We enjoyed ourselves very much. It's kinda hard not to on "the happy Island".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shops are only open until 8pm at the renaissance mall (which has all the high end stores). They are CLOSED on Sunday!!!

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackhawks rule
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 25, 2013

Diving trip

This is a high end hotel with excellent amenities. The staff were very friendly & courteous. Food at themed restaurants not as good as Iberostar in Playa Del Carmen. The same palapa savers, primarily European travelers were there holding chairs with towels & books before dawn and not showing up until sometimes as late as 3 p.m., if at all. It would be nice if the hotel staff at check in and beach would enforce the chair/space saving with say a one hour and any no shows simply have their belongings taken to the towel shack for pick up and permit space for other guests. This hasn't occurred in our 15 years of traveling to all inclusives so it's unlikely to change. Aside from that, the place is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take a few insulated travel cups for beach/pool drinks. The 8 oz plastic cups they use get warm quickly in sun & it's a hassle to order multiple drinks each visit to the bar.

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One happy vacationer
Business
Chicago
Aug 26, 2013

Fell in love with Aruba

FOOD: all inclusive, good food at the buffet. Good drinks at the pool bar; would be better if they had more waiters walking around & taking drink orders. Specialty restaurants require reservations to be made early in the morning, same day only, and have only two seating times; found this inconvenient and stuck with the buffet. HOTEL: beautiful view of pool and beach. Rooms spacious but humid. Reviews complained of beds being too hard... they were hard, but not uncomfortable. BEACH: amazing, beautiful white sand, turquoise water, no waves, ideal for relaxing and swimming. There is always wind due to geography and climate, but it was mostly a nice breeze. Went jet skiing on a slightly more windy day, would NOT recommend it as the salty water splashed back in our faces pretty violently and it was hard to enjoy while keeping our eyes closed half the time. SHOPPING: great, tax free, can get a Louis Vouitton or Gucci purse for around $100 less than in US due to difference in taxes, lots of jewelry stores and stands, lots of good souvenirs for good prices. Everyone accepts US dollars. ACTIVITIES: everything from restaurants to bars to shopping to casinos to water sports... highly recommend doing a jeep tour or renting a jeep to see the north-east side of the island. BOTTOM LINE: amazing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walked along the shore from the busy Palm Beach to the wider Eagle Beach. Both have beautiful white sand and turquoise water. Palm Beach is in front of lots of hotels so has many more people and water activities; good for lounging and water sports. Eagle Beach has less people and more swimming space, so is good for getting in the water and for pictures.

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dogdays
Business
Little Rock. Arkansas
Aug 23, 2013

Riu Palace in Aruba

This was a great vacation. The resort is very nice and the employee's are awesome. The food beat Cancun any day. You can't beat a better pool area and the wind blows so much you will never feel hot. The pool bar was Awesome too. They will make your drink anyway you want it. The rooms need a little up dating. Some of the rooms still have tube TV's and the beds are as hard as the tile floors. If your like very hard beds you will love the rooms. The local bars are with in walking distance from the resort. If you like diving there in a hut on the beach you can pay $210 for two people and they will pick you put on the beach in front of Riu.It's about a 40 min. dive to about 30 ft. on a sunken ship from WWII. Even though the beds suck for me I would love to come back one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sallooma
Business
Ashburn, VA
Jul 11, 2013

Splendid Vacation

This is not our (my wife and I) stay at RIU. 3 years ago we satyed at RIU Cancun. RIu is a great hotel. Staff is very friendly, food is gorgeous, room is very clean. Last year we went to Aruba also, stayed at Occidental Hotel. Let me tell you, You can NOT compare RIU to Occidental, RIU is much more luxurious! This time in Arub we stayed in a Junior suite ocean view room in Building A. View was fantastic. I'm sure this will not be the last time to stay at RIU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kkatiedenae
Business
Lookout Mtn, GA
Jun 11, 2013

Beautiful week of relaxation

This was our second visit to this resort and while it has aged a bit in the last six years the food, the staff and the cleanliness are impeccable. The beds are VERY firm but the rooms are always immaculate and nightly turn down service is a special touch. In room drinks are restocked daily and room service is included in your all inclusive package. View from your hotel room cannot be beat. We will definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JE Vacation
Business
Colombia
Apr 9, 2013

Good Time

Excelent Food, Excelent Location, Beautiful people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack the man
Business
Rochester, NY
Apr 8, 2013

unbelievably perfect for all ages

2nd time here...we . The serviceand food is loved it the first time and were extremely satisfied this time as well. Excellent service and the buffet is extraordinary! We'll be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

hit all the hotel gift shops

Review of Riu Palace Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach6
Business
New York
Mar 9, 2013

Great all inclusive

Pros-included fully stocked mini bar, room service, lots of daily activities, great staff(except the women that checked us in) , better drinks at the evening bar versus the pool bar, always could get a chair by the pool and beach, beach was wider than most high rise hotels, do the pelican afternoon snorkeling tour (3 piers down) they were wonderful! Cons-don't bother with the fusion resistant (the Krystal) food was horrible ...all other restaurants were great....also for breakfast you get better service when seated inside versus outside Get to the beach early for a hut if not many palm trees for shade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat at the fusion restaurant!

Back to menu Return to top