Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

4 stars
JE Irausquin Blvd 83, P.O. Box 218, Oranjestad,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
609 reviews
Awesome

So much fun pool was great drinks and food cant wait to go bavk See full review

  • Natalie4567
  • Jul 12, 2014
Amazing vacation

The hotel was beautiful. Employees were really nice ans food was great. It was so worth what we... See full review

  • All the single ladies
  • Jul 6, 2014
Luxury upgrade to VIP treatment at this Palm Beach all-inclusive resort
Awarded the TripAdvisor 2012 Certificate of Excellence, the Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive makes for a worthwhile and memorable vacation spot featuring white sandy beach and crystal clear water. Snorkeling, kayaking and sailing are among the many aquatic activities. Occidental Grand Aruba  offers a chance to upgrade to luxurious comforts at the Royal Club. The Royal Club, a boutique hotel found on the 7th, 8th, and 9th floors of the resort, boasts a club-like atmosphere and offers concierge level service and spacious rooms luxuriously equipped with Etro toiletries, fruit basket, plush bathrobes, and suites that feature hydro-massage bathtub. The club also offers two meeting spaces, in-room dining, private areas, preferred seating at the a la carte restaurant, and complimentary high-speed Internet access at the lounge and members-only area in the reception area.
Highlights
  • Palm Beach location offers excellent stretch of coastline with many water activities
  • Royal Club offers a VIP, five-star experience with private lounge and concierge services
  • Six restaurants and five cocktail bars in-house
Rooms
Rooms at the Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive are decorated in an elegant Spanish colonial style. Amenities include satellite TV, a telephone with data port, Wi-Fi access, in-room safe, hairdryer, private balcony/terrace, and a full bath with shower and hydro-massage tubs. Royal Club-level suites have marble floors, CD and DVD players, and a stocked mini-bar. Grand Concierge Deluxe Pool and Ocean View rooms have concierge and turndown services while Grand Romance Deluxe Pool and Ocean View rooms come with a bottle of champagne and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Dining
Six restaurants serve cuisine from around the globe, including Italian (L'Olio), Mexican (El Ovido) and eclectic fusion (Zen Pan and Desire Caribbean). Breakfast and lunch is served in grand buffet style at The Palm, and hearty snacks-to-order are available at The Beach Club. Expertly mixed cocktails are poured at five bars, which are scattered around the hotel pool, beachside or in elegant lounges.
Recreation
Snorkeling, kayaking, SCUBA or sailing lessons and trips are all house specialties, along with beach games. Little ones ages 4 to 10 can take part in supervised activities at the Kids Club. Additional babysitting is also available. Sound, the in-house nightclub, has dancing and DJs nightly. The casino, with its $2,000 nightly bingo prize, will resume play in February 2011. Live shows go on nightly in the casino's theater, and Cuban cigars are legal here.
Transportation
  • Queen Beatrix International Airport (8.25 mi/13.25 km)
Attractions
  • Pedernalis (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bubali Bird Sanctuary (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi available throughout the Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive
  • Business center with five PC stations, printers, copier, fax machine, courier and concierge service
  • Three ballrooms with 20,000 square-feet of flexible event space can accommodate up to 800
Policies and fees
  • Upon arrival, $3 per room/per night will be collected for the Aruba Environmental Fee.
  • Guests must be 21 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe rooms offer guests either one King bed or two double beds, marble floors, balcony or terrace, mini-bar, hair dryer, satellite TV, alarm clock/radio, telephone with data port, high speed Internet or Wi-Fi access, in-room safe and full bath with shower and tub.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe rooms offer guests either one King bed or two double beds, marble floors, balcony or terrace, mini-bar, hair dryer, satellite TV, alarm clock/radio, telephone with data port, high speed Internet or Wi-Fi access, in-room safe and full bath with shower and tub.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Ocean View
This category features the Deluxe room inclusions, as well as concierge service, turndown service, internet stations, a fruit basket, a bottle of wine, a 10% spa discount and plush bathrobes to wear during your stay
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
All Royal Club level rooms include the resort's all-inclusive features, and boast elegantly appointed furniture and amenities, including King beds, marble floors, balcony, CD and DVD players, mini-bar, hair dryer, satellite TV, alarm clock/radio, telephone with data port, high speed Internet or Wi-Fi access, in-room safe, full bath with shower and hydro-massage tubs and room service. Guests will enjoy private check-in at the Royal Club level floor, with a private lounge, restaurant and concierge services.
Grand Romance Deluxe Ocean View
This category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10% spa discounts, turndown service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Deluxe Pool and Ocean View
Deluxe rooms offer guests either one King bed or two double beds, marble floors, balcony or terrace, mini-bar, hair dryer, satellite TV, alarm clock/radio, telephone with data port, high speed Internet or Wi-Fi access, in-room safe and full bath with shower and tub.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Pool and Ocean View
This category features the Deluxe room inclusions, as well as concierge service, turndown service, internet stations, a fruit basket, a bottle of wine, a 10% spa discount and plush bathrobes to wear during your stay
Grand Romance Deluxe Pool and Ocean View
This category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10% spa discounts, turndown service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

12.5702 -70.0462
Area served
Oranjestad, Aruba
Nearby airports
Queen Beatrix Intl. Airport (AUA): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 8.25 miles (13.25 km). From airport, go west towards the downtown area, proceed to 'High Rise Hotels' sign. Follow sign to left, the resort is on the left.
Area description
Shopping, casinos, golf, sightseeing tours and water sports.

Nearby points of interest

  • Surf Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bye Bye Nature: 2 mi
  • The Thode's residence: 2.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Best Getaway for Business Events. Why not hold your next corporate function in paradise? At Occidental Grand Aruba you can count on our state of the art business center. Our meeting rooms are equipped with audio-visual equipment plus offer outstanding catering and impeccable service. All this combined with the most memorable location for your business event. Who says you can't combine business with pleasure? Conference facilities available for up to 800 people.

Dining

L'Olio
Italian Cuisine - a la carte dining. If you're in the mood for a taste of Italy, L'Olio is a must. Plus you'll enjoy a marvelous selection of wines from around the world. Dinner - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Desires Lounge
One flight up on the second floor, Desires has a romantic setting for getting close to the one you love the most! 6:00pm - 12:00 midnight
Desire Lounge
Caribbean Fusion Cuisine - la carte dining. With dishes like Garlic Octopus with Grilled Mushrooms or Rosemary Shrimp Kebab, you'll find Desire is a epic-urean adventure that will leave you wanting more! Dinner - 06:00pm - 11:00pm
Royal Club Restaurant
Private a la carte and buffet. Open Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily for for Royal Club guests.
The Palm
International Buffet - Located on the main floor, you'll love this buffet style eatery. Help yourself to an amazing array of delicious plates or watch as the chef prepares your order exactly to your taste. Breakfast - 7:00am - 11:00am Lunch - 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Cocktail Bar
Located in the lobby, it's a great place to relax between activities!11:00am - 11:00 pm
Zen
Pan-Asian Cuisine - la carte dining. Seat yourself at the Sushi Bar! Or, let one of our chefs show off their talent tableside. Zen offers private dining 'Tatami' style. No matter what you choose it's sure to be magical. Dinner - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Bikini Beach Bar
Located on the Beach, this is the perfect Hot Spot to sip your favorite tropical potion. 10:00am - 7:00pm
Sound Bar
More than just premium liquors, Sounds has live music and DJs rocking the night away. 07:00pm - 02:00am & closed Sunday
`
Mexican Cuisine - la carte dining. Set in a traditional Mexican dcor, the authentic and unique flavors this restaurant offers is an experience you'll want to repeat. Dinner - 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (609)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 609
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drea the traveler
Long Island, New York
Jul 21, 2014

Great for everyone

Hotel was mixed with all different people, couples, singles, families. Having everything included made it very convenient. Nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel offers a free sail boat ride. That takes you along the coast!

Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All the single ladies
Fontana California
Jul 6, 2014

Amazing vacation

The hotel was beautiful. Employees were really nice ans food was great. It was so worth what we paid for definetly will of back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment is across the street.

Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs Saffy
Valrico, florida
Dec 10, 2013

Accidental grand

From check- in to check-out this hotel was horrible. It's one saving grace was the pool area. We happened to travel with a large group of 50+ people. The rooms were NOT what we expected at all! When you pay that much money for an ocean view, you expect just that. Our room was in tower one facing a side road that cars parked on & had a lot of dumpsters. If I hung out my balcony and turned my head left I could indeed see the ocean. Luckily because there so many of us that complained we got moved on the 2nd day. There didn't seem to be enough staff at the hotel, bars, etc. I called housekeeping for a robe and after 2 hours called the front desk then finally got one. But the absolute worst thing was the uncaring management... On our last night a small group of us decided to head down to the pizza shop across from our hotel, walking down the hotel sidewalk I managed to step in a hole in the broken walkway and ended up falling on my face on a what seemed to be a decorative brick curbing that surrounded some plants. My friends managed to lug me back up to the bench out front of the hotel where I proceeded to bleed everywhere. Not only odd the manager never show his face, but we were told we could not have any more cloths to try to stop the bleeding. Eventually a security guard did appear and jot down my information on a pad of paper and a first aid person came to tell me that I didn't need to go to the hospital as my nose didn't look broken and the cut on my lip did not look like it needed stitches. As I sat there out front for over a half hour management never appeared!!!! After going to my room I told my husband and a few friends to go make sure an accident report was filled out, (in case I needed medical attention when arriving home) he went to the front desk and made them take a report, and then refused to give him a copy!!! My friend however was allowed to take a photo of it with her phone... Again no manager. My husband was told he would come up to our room when he got on duty at 11:00. Needless to say he never came. My husband did manage to catch him at 6:00 am when our group was checking out. He basically told us there is nothing they can do for me!!! All he wanted was my wristband back. Leaving the hotel we walked down and looked at what I fell in and there it was big as day, a hole in the sidewalk (my blood still all over). And nothing done about the hole!! Getting home I went to the emergency room and found I have a broken nose. Along with two black eyes, two large gashes on my nose, and a split lip. Never again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duke City Crew
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 24, 2013

All Girls Getaway 2013

Hotel was over booked, so they gave me a room with one King size bed for me and my friend to share for the whole duration of the trip. We booked well in advance so we should have been able to have a room with two beds in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping short walking distant as well as dining options.

Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex from Baltimore
Baltimore MD
Nov 15, 2013

Ok hotel, nothing to brag about.

My first time in Aruba, so I cannot compare to other hotels there. Nothing special, good food, perfect location. Free parking if you rent a car which I would definitely recommend if you planning to go places. Internet is $79 for week, but no reception on the beach, so you gotta be in your room or in a lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you planning to see things and not lay on the beach all the time, I recommend renting a car. We got one at the airport for a week. It was Toyota Yaris for 206$/week.

Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cello55
new jersey
Aug 2, 2013

Wil not return

Not at all what we expected. The hotel was completely overbooked and had to put people up in the Hyatt next door. Terrible check-in. Needs major updating. Should not be presented as a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oostephabieo0
staten island, ny
Jun 14, 2013

Fun with Friends

This hotel is in such a great location. Food was good especially the lamb chops at the italian restaurant. They did however have to change my rooms twice but the final room we ended up in was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie get your gun
New jersey
Jun 2, 2013

Occidental

Excellent. Please disregard all bad reviews. Best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelmax
Newport, NY
Apr 12, 2013

Awesome place to go

Had a wonderful visit. The only thing I didn't care for was the push to get you to buy into their time share program. We were asked every single day sometimes twice a day. Got old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
smashed
toronto, canada
Dec 6, 2012

RIU palace is better.

The trip was a great experience, lots of fun and sun. the hotel was old and outdated.the staff was great too, ,security, the maid lady friendly peoples .... did not like the front desk worker very unhelpful seems like they dont care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top